Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Fifth Grill & Terrace Reviews List

The Fifth Grill & Terrace



Located on the rooftop of an old warehouse within Toronto's Entertainment District and accessible by a private elevator, The Fifth Grill & Terrace is an experience you should not miss. The press has called us 'a glamorous hideaway' and our terrace 'the best patio in Toronto'. Our award winning cuisine headed by renowned French chef JP Challet is often described as 'lavish', 'heavenly' and 'creative'.
See more The Fifth Grill & Terrace details
222 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(222 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 222 reviews
5 stars
(103)
4 stars
(82)
3 stars
(28)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(6)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(138)
  • special occasion(127)
  • fit for foodies(87)
  • good for groups(60)
  • great for outdoor dining(56)
  • notable wine list(45)
The Fifth Grill & Terrace Reviews List
Review 1 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

winterlicious

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We booked a table for 3 on a weekday for Winterlicious, the entry to get in always is tricky but once you're in, you're in for a treat. Riding the lift elevator is kinda fun, it has the ambiance of something mysterious but it's a short ride. We sat on the terrace, ordered our items and enjoyed the rest of our night. The food was delicious as everyone was quite satisfied with their portions and the terrace was warm even in winter with the tarps covering the windows. Drink menu is a bit pricey at $15 for a cocktail though."
Dined on 03/02/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great experience until the end

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 03/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 03/02/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I went to this restaurant with a friend for Winterlicious. Everything about the restaurant is great for a special occasion, or a romantic night out with a significant other. The old school elevator adds a nice touch to the restaurant.
The shrimp cakes and salmon were delicious. However, the presentation of the apple tart was most certainly lacking in taste and presentation, in comparison to the former courses. The service was very good, until the end of the meal. The waitress was incredibly attentive and polite- she would frequently refill our glasses of water, or ask us how our food was.
However, it took forever to receive our bill. There was only 3 tables of people left by the time we were finished our meal, so 'busy' is not a viable excuse to me. The waitress who was initially attentive, became incredibly negligent of us. The only somewhat valid reason I can think of is that she didn't want to interfere with our conversation, but I don't see the validity in that, considering she would interrupt to ask how our meal was. We asked for the bill to be split, and it took around 10-15 minutes to receive the bill... which was not split. We asked again, and it took another 20 minutes to get the bill. By the time we received our bill, we were the only people left in the restaurant. 'Busy' is not excusable, because it doesn't take that long to print a receipt.
I felt like the time waiting for the bill ruined the whole experience for me."
Dined on 03/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 03/02/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent choice!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Needs a clearer instruction re: front entrance.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2008
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2013
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2013
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

First class al the way

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"IF you are cool with spending close to $200 all in per couple, drinks, tip tax and great dinner, this is about the best you are going to find in Toronto. Impeccable service, inventive but classic dinners, all prepared to perfection. Bravo, it's nice to see the fifth where it once belong...GET BACK Loretta, your mamma's waitin for ya!"
Dined on 22/01/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"What a fantastic dining experience in such a unique space. The experience riding up to the top floor was like taking you back in time. The food was great and my braised beef with gnocchi and potatoe his the spot on a cold tdot evening. Service was TOP notch, attentive and sync. Very professional . I can't wait to go back. Thanks for a fantastic meal before a night to the Toronto Symphony. ;)"
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 22/01/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 15/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 15/01/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 15/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 31/12/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Delicious food, but felt the draft

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My girlfriend and I had a very lovely evening, and the food was delicious. But it was the winter, and I could feel a draft, which made the evening slightly uncomfortable for me."
Dined on 13/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice restaurant with some unique feature

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was pretty cool to take an old elevator up to the restaurant on the Terrace. The crab cake was really good and also the pork loin. The Trio steak was over cooked and the taste was mediocre. Dessert with the snow volcano was pretty neat."
Dined on 26/07/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great evening out

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/12/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is the second time I have eaten at the Fifth Grill, and I was just as pleased as the first time. The food is excellent, the staff is attentive, but not intrusive, and the ambiance is wonderful. We were looking for a great steak place for a small office holiday dinner, and wanted something outside of the usual chain restaurants. The Fifth Grill was exactly what we were looking for.
During my last visit in nicer weather, the terrace is also a great feature instead of a patio - no traffic noise or car fumes to worry about!
"
Dined on 10/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Steak - not sufficient salt. Bearnaise - insufficient reduction and thin. No time to cook the egg yolk sufficiently to bind the butter.
Braised beef was braised with a weak stock so you can imagine the flavour. None.
Lobster bisque was lack of dimension. They forgot to deglaze with cognac?
Wine is good.
Overall, another French restaurant wannabe."
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was great, the service was impeccable and the overall experience was well worth the price tag."
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Experience was good; food was not over the top which I did expect but it wasn't bad just didn't meet quality in relation to price."
Dined on 04/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 28/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 28/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Beautiful Evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We always have such a nice time here. The terrace is so inviting and cozy. The venison was delicious as was the filet. The service was perfect. Looking forward to coming back soon."
Dined on 28/11/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best food in the city!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Wow, came in for dinner tonight with a friend and opted for chef JPs tasting menu. Our amuse Bouche started with his signature steak tartare which you could tell was freshly cut. I normally am not a fan but this was absolutely delicious. The lobster bisque came next and I can assure you it is easily the best in the city, silky smooth texture, complex flavour, just to die for. The next course we received a pasta which is made in house daily from scratch! Today it was a locally sourced duck egg tagliolini, served with Shaved fresh white truffles and boschetto cheese (which has become my new favourite cheese). This pasta in my opinion is even better than Buca's pasta. Next we had a baked organic salmon with red beet farfalle where you can actually taste the beets in it! The salmon was cooked perfectly and was served with a warm cucumber salad with edamame, coriander, and radishes, very light and refreshing. Last course we had was the braised beef dish which I cannot stop raving about to my friends. It's a boneless shortrib which is so tender you don't even need a fork as it can be easily done with a spoon. The dish is served with a lovely potato purée, foie gras pâté and these ravioli which are so unique in shape, I've never seen anything like it before! Finally dessert , we had a mini platter sent out from the kitchen consisting of a wonderfully poached pear, a delicious apple Tatin and a stuffed chocolate ganache with pear and homemade hazelnut Icecream all of which was just so good! The service was excellent as well, top notch. And the kitchen really knows what they are doing back there! Definitely best restaurant in the city in my own opinion and we will be returning! Great job guys!"
Dined on 20/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Something different

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A most unusual dining room with an eclectic decor and quiet music playing in the background - perfect for a romantic evening. It would also make a nice venue for a small wedding reception. We opted for the small plate portions which gave a nice overview of what is featured on the menu but I think the next time we would opt for the a main course each, possibly sharing a small plate as an appetizer. The lobster risotto was very good with generous chunks of lobster."
Dined on 20/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 14/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 14/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food was amazing.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Andre, the head maître and his team are the epitome of attentive professional and friendly service."
Dined on 13/11/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 13/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 13/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 05/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"excellent food and ambiance"
Dined on 05/11/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 05/11/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 05/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A true gem!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The room is warm and romantic, the service seamless, and the food exceptional. Our group of 4 had a number of items from the JP Challet menu, including the steak tartare, shrimp cakes, duck magret, and rack of venison. Each dish had wonderful depth and complexity of flavour and was beautifully plated.
The music playlist curated around Sinatra standards was an added bonus!
"
Dined on 31/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Simply blown away...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I wouldn't normally write another review for a restaurant after just reviewing them on Open Table a few weeks ago but after our experience on Saturday night I just had to!
We took our friends Michael and Janet in to celebrate Janet's birthday (Happy Birthday Janet!) with some trepidation from Michael. Michael hadn't been to the Fifth in some time and said he would prefer to go somewhere else. I said he needed to trust me after we had the opportunity a few weeks ago to have a tasting menu from Chef JP Challet which was remarkable. I am very happy to say that Michael & Janet were so impressed they are going to make the drive back as soon as possible from Waterloo to bring friends :)
I knew I would be receiving my email to review so I took the time when we were done to record all the dishes so could list the items we all had as every single dish was delicious - we all gave each other a taste even though I do not like to share but in the interest of being a good sport conceded to the wishes of the birthday girl.
My husband: Decided to have three items from The Five Elements menu as they give you the choice of having them as an entree or an appetizer portion. 1) Bisque & Lobster Salad, potato fondant, ginger oil & micro greens, 2) Shrimp Cake with mozzarella agnolotti, tomato, ginger & mayo, 3) Braised Beef with foie gras, black trumpets, morels and yukon mash
Michael: Seafood Platter followed by 6oz Filet Mignon
Janet: Steak Tartare with potato pancake, harissa sauce, gherkins & toast followed by Organic Salmon with farfalle, edamame, cucumber & radish
Me: Lobster Risotto (blew my mind away) and as always a 6oz Filet Mignon for me Medium which was absolutely cooked to perfection and the best filet I have had in my life.
We asked for a recommendation on wine and it was reasonably priced at $90 and was so good we enjoyed a second :)
I cannot wait to go back and try Chef JP's next creation."
Dined on 31/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 14/08/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 14/08/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great cozy restaurant with great food and service.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 22/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for The Fifth Grill & Terrace
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/10/2015
 2012
Dined on 22/10/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 22/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>