Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Las Bugambilias Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Las Bugambilias

Welcome to Las Bugambilias, a traditional Mexican restaurant located on South Street in Philadelphia. As chef and owner of this center city Philadelphia restaurant, Carlos Molina offers high quality, freshly prepared, Mexican food from three different regions in Mexico. The desserts at Bugambilias' are homemade on the premises, and we offer a full service bar, with an imaginative array of margaritas for your pleasure. When you come inside you will enjoy the warm ambiance found in our traditional decor, and welcoming staff.
20 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(20 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(12)
  • great for lunch(8)
  • fit for foodies(7)
  • great for brunch(5)
  • special occasion(4)
  • hot spot(3)
Las Bugambilias Reviews List
Review 1 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/13/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

little gem on south street

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The menu had a lot of interesting and tempting choices. Our selection (lobster enchilada and steak in chile morita). The menu was good value
The drinks were nice.
The service was friendly.
Our table was not ready when we arrived but that was fine as we sat at the bar. We visited on a weeknight and the place was very busy so reservations are a must.
"
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is, hands down, the most authentic Mexican food I've had outside of Mexico. The portions are generous and the staff is friendly. I will be back- many times."
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Not your everyday Tex-Mex food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have eaten here quite a few times and keep going back. The food is much more sophisticated, fresh and flavorful than standard Tex-Mex. The Queso Fundido al Chipotle and Ceviche de Camaron Sinaloa was delightful, The Filet was fantastic, perfectly cooked to our liking and so tender my wife cut hers with a fork. Go there and expand your pallet beyond the chimichanga."
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"absolutely great. We love eating there. The food and the service is always great. Wish that we lived closer and could eat there more often."
Dined on 7/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/17/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/17/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love This Mexican Food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Bugambilias is a nice small spot to take a date and enjoy good mexican food. I've been here 3-4 times and have had no problems with the service or food."
Dined on 11/13/2014
 2014
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"delicious food, wonderful atmosphere, but very loud and service needs improvement, only one wait person to serve and bar tend."
Dined on 2/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice meal

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Went for a New Years Eve dining option with the family. Food was between good to great depending on which family member you asked. I would suggest the restaurant should look into having a simplistic kids menu."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Las Bugambilias
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Homemade nachos

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were about to order appertisers but a basket of homemade nachos and salsa was delivered to our table so we quickly changed our minds. They were really fresh and tasty. We then had the enchiladas, both plates were full and we couldn't eat it all , it was just as well that we hadn't ordered those appetisers! The food was delicious but we could have done with a little more spice."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Las Bugambilias
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product
Food 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic