Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Diamond Café Reviews List

The Diamond Café

The Diamond Café at Desert Diamond Tucson is the ideal spot for gamers on the go. Located just steps away from the casino floor, it’s the perfect spot to stop in and grab a meal in a comfortable, casual setting where the vibes are cool and the food is great. Or kick things up a notch with fantastic Happy Hour specials before getting back to doing what you do best – having fun!
See more The Diamond Café details
32 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
(32 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(7)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(6)
Food 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Service 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for lunch(6)
  • fit for foodies(5)
  • special occasion(5)
  • good for groups(3)
  • great for brunch(2)
  • late-night find(2)
The Diamond Café Reviews List
Review 1 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We had eaten at the restaurant that was in that location before and it was very good. After it closed we started going to Agaves. No comparison. The diamond cafe was excellent food and excellent service. You should be advertising it. We hope that it will prosper and we will be able to continue eating there. Again, it was excellent."
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2016
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I was pleased with the quality of food .

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/15/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

WORST

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Absolutely my worst dining experience ever. I ordered the Christmas dinner special of Prime Rib . I expected my salad to be delivered first with a decent interval between that and the entrée for me to enjoy the salad. But, when my waitress delivered my salad, she arrived within seconds later with the prime rib. This didn't allow me to even get a bite of the salad . I ordered "Medium" and when I cut into it, it was totally well done and was so tough and dried out that it was totally inedible. I asked if I could have something in its place. The waitress obliged and I ordered a medium Ribeye, . It was so thin that I'm sure that it was impossible to serve as medium. Again it was well done and very dry. By this time, I was so disappointed, I ate what I could and paid the bill and left.
Also, when I asked for a baked potato with my entrée, I was informed that they didn't serve baked potatoes and only mashed potatoes. How can you not serve baked potatoes, which every decent restaurant that serves steaks always has on their menu with steaks? So, I had them bring the mashed potatoes , and lo and behold the mashed potatoes were almost as dried out as my steak. When I asked if they had any gravy for those dried out mashed potatoes, I was informed they had run out of gravy. With so few patrons, how could they have run out of gravy? Especially since everyone is forced to eat mashed potatoes with their steak instead of a traditional baked potato.
It's evident why there were so very few patrons at the tables, which on a Christmas day virtually every restaurant in town is totally filled. Evidently, others like myself have experienced such an awful dining experience in the past that they'll never come back.
I'm sorry to have to submit such a review, since I am truly not a very "PICKY" diner and can only remember once in my life that I have ever sent a dinner back. But, hopefully you will read this and realize why there are so few tables filled in your restaurant."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Older casino

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We found the food surprisingly good, great turkey,but the old casino with the old casino look and smell and general clientele was not too inviting. The food we had was good, but since it was advertised as a "Thanksgiving dinner" the lack of dressing, cranberries and rolls & butter, left us missing the holiday flavors."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Thanksgiving meal was a feast for the eyes (presentation included) and simply delicious. The salad was my favorite. I definitely would dine at The Diamond Cafe. Festive ambience and the staff was so attentive."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Expected more

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I honestly can't give a reason why I would recommend the Cafe."
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Terrible Service & Mediocre food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Dropped by this place at about 9ish pm on a Saturday. Service was extremely poor. The host did not smile, greet us or offer any sort of welcoming gesture. Her line was, "how many?" then she led us to our booth and the server came nearly 5 minutes after we were seated. There was only one table consisting of 2 people in there & they were wrapping up so there was no reason for that delay.
We were craving something sweet so we ordered cheescake and hot chocolate. We had to wait a while, again for an unknown reason. Ive had better store-bought cheescake but eh, I wasn't expecting much. The hot chocolate though... I could barely taste it as it was mostly just hot water. The server was nowhere to be found so we just decided to finish our cheescake and head out. Luckily Im a member of their player's club & had a dining credit so I didnt have to pay for this. I will not be returning as the service was terrible and the food wasn't much further behind."
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

No reservations

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Open table leads you to believe that you can make reservations. Ain't none. it is a cafeteria line you get on. Food was ok for an indian casino."
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Great for lunch, careful when ordering for dinner

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"too bad this restaurant is not the great stakhouse it used to be. If you order off the diner style menu you will not be disappointed by the mac and cheese, brussel sprouts, soup and sandwiches.If you order off the high price dinner add on menu you will be VERY disappointed.
Service is friendly but obviously VERY inexperienced. Steaks were all cooked poorly and served to the wrong guest. $43 entrees were not even close to described.
"
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

I miss the steakhouse

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2013
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I dined on 7/12/15 and we were very disappointed on the change of management and staff. It no longer had that class and sophistication. We were the only one dining in that restaurant and the waiter lacked in customer service. He did not greet us, he was not engaging, and his attitude was bad.
We will not be going back."
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant overall was quite nice. The hostess and server were very friendly and pleasant as well as attentive. I ordered the hot turkey dinner. The vegetables were delicious. The mashed potatoes and gravy somewhat average. The turkey, however was sliced luncheon meat. That was disappointing."
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

website vs staff knowledge of website

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/02/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I went to the diamond cafe, they never knew of the 2 for $20 deal the website advertized. Also advised was a buffet that didnt exist. the staff told us they never even visited their own website. The meal was about $35 and the service was great. More money was spent and no buffet was available as thought."
Dined on 3/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not a Diamond

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Open Table List did not make it clear that Diamind Cafe was in a smoke filled casino. Menu was comfort food which we wanted, but service was very poor. Large, but disfunctional staff. Long wait for menu, set ups, initial service. Long wait for food. Long wait for check. Long wait for return of bill and credit card. Food was OK, but not great. Smoke from casino penetrates everything. Unless one is going to casino, I would not recommend Diamond Cafe."
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Worst prime rib ever

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had dined here many times and been generally happy with the food. Went on Valentines Day for dinner and did not have the special, however, ordered prime rib, while my wife had the Valentine special dinner. My steak was a quarter inch thick over cooked and terriblle, the special advertised as tenderloin was a glorified chuck steak, never again."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

2nd Timer

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Agave was busy so booked at Diamond Café,,,Service was fine food was served hot.
Menu was limited but less expensive than the Steakhouse.
They took the Coconut Shrimp off the menu which was their best entrée.
Miss that one.
For dessert ordered the apple pie, brownie and carrot cake they were not as good as I remember when they were baked offsite and brought in. My steak was over cooked as usual...both Agave d the Café are known for that. Some things don't change.
"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was very disappointed in the whole experience at the "new" Diamond Cafe. The previous restaurant at this location, The Diamond Steakhouse has, unfortunately been going downhill from my previous Excellent rating for a while and I had hoped that the new format would turn things around. The menu is extremely limited. The restaurant was shut down for a couple of months and when we arrived last Saturday evening, I could not see where anything has been changed. The meal was OK, not delivered hot (though the plate was). The other Desert Diamond restaurant (Agave) at the casino in Sahuarita is head and shoulders above the Diamond Cafe. I would class the Agave as Excellent while the Diamond Cafe would only get a Fair at best. I do not plan on giving this restaurant another try."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Experience was okay, was better a few years ago

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I used to come here when it was known as the Diamond Grill (or Steakhouse) so it has been awhile. When we arrived - the most notable change was the mood lighting was gone and the lights were very bright - like a diner. They layout and decor of the restaurant are very nice, but this place is not what it used to be. The food was decent - good, but nothing special... and they do not give you anything extra (no bread on the table, no side salad with dinner, etc.) As a matter of fact, my friend ordered the Prime Rib and had to ask for au jus and horseradish... a bit surprising.
So my main beef is with the service. The server (very nice, but obviously incredibly inexperienced) came right over and we ordered a bottle of Domaine Ste Michelle - as we (3 of us) were celebrating a bachelorette. The kid/server - brought over 3 big wine glasses and a bottle of Chateau Ste. Michelle... tried to tell us that is what we ordered, even though we specifically said champagne after rattling off the name. Thank goodness they had not opened it and we asked him if we could have champagne glasses when he brought the correct bottle back. TWENTY minutes later, I literally had to get up to see where our bottle was (mind you the place was not busy while we were there) as I stood by the front area/bar I could see the manager FINALLY going in and coming out with the bottle. It was all very annoying, particularly given the restaurant was not busy. He came back and told us they had no champagne glasses (not his fault)... so don't serve champagne if you can't provide the proper glass for it. Our food literally came out two minutes later despite our wanting to have a cocktail beforehand (thanks for taking so long to bring the bottle out) and we never saw the server again until we were completely finished and waiting on our check.
I won't return."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for The Diamond Café
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Table not ready when promised

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was ok, but the presentation was a bit over board for the type of "comfort" food that was offered.
We had a birthday party of 14 guests, only 1 server provided to this group. The food was served staggered so we did not all eat at the same time.
We were overcharged for the wine by $3 per glass....don't buy a glass of wine there, wine list was $7 but we were charged $10. Just outside the door you can get wine for $5 per glass (house wine of course).
We called ahead to see if we could bring in a birthday cake and were told "no", not allowed. Even though we brought in 14 people, we had drinks, appetizers and entrees, the server offered dessert but not a complimentary piece of cake for the birthday girl....this is just kind of poor public relations.
Our young server was completely overwhelmed and got the tickets confused.
Overall I would suggest they re-look at things......we won't return.
"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Diamond Café
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
3 out of 4 recommend this product
Food 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate