Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Ned Ludd Reviews List

Ned Ludd

Ned Ludd is an American Craft Kitchen located in the Historic NE King Neighborhood. Chef/Owner Jason French offers foods cooked exclusively in a wood fired oven. We are committed to products sourced from local and regional purveyors. Our food is simple, rustic and meant to satisfy those who seek an authentic Northwest meal. The food, service and ambiance work together in an effort to offer a unique and casual Portland culinary experience. We are fortunate to live within an amazing network of passionate and committed farmers, foragers and craft producers. We hope you will join us to celebrate the bounty of the Greater Portland food community!
See more Ned Ludd details
215 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(215 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 215 reviews
5 stars
(114)
4 stars
(62)
3 stars
(24)
2 stars
(12)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(144)
  • neighborhood gem(99)
  • special occasion(76)
  • romantic(70)
  • great for outdoor dining(60)
  • hot spot(30)
Ned Ludd Reviews List
Review 1 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/05/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Service, atmosphere, food quality, and just overall amazing! We would go back here in a minute..... found our new hangout! Chef was incredible and right in the middle of everything going on. Rare to find anymore!
Thank you for an unforgettable evening."
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Unpleasant experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We'd awful waiter who didn't know the menu and made mistake taking order. Our food was mediocre, too expensive for quality."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Mediocre at Best

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We heard great things about Ned Ludd so decided to try it with friends to celebrate a birthday last Saturday night. We made a reservation for the first seating at 5. The service was slow and all but a few dishes were mediocre at best. The waiter, after pausing noticeably after a wine question to decide between two bottles, recommended a young, not great bottle of Gamay Noir over a Pinot Noir. The nuts appetizer and squash dish were excellent but the brussel sprout larger plate had charred vegetables and small quantity, the flatbread was significantly undercooked, the cod dish was overpowered by the smoked trout and had too many beans compared to cod and the trout main course was unoriginal. We ordered desserts as well -- the cookie was overly salty with average flavor and the spice cake was unoriginal-- the panna cotta was very good. We had waited between each course and for our drinks at the start -- the wait seemed quite long at times. We paid the bill immediately after finishing dessert and the waiter came over to say that the next table had been waiting for approximately 30 minutes (he was clear he needed us to leave ASAP). We had not been dawdling at the table but rather waiting for each course. I honestly expected that he was coming over to apologize for the slow service and some of the mistakes on the dishes (some visibly noticeable) thus his statement to us was incredibly surprising and simply the proverbial "icing on the cake". I would not recommend Ned Ludd after this experience and was actually shocked that it made it to the top winter 2016 list for PDX eatery."
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Funky place that could be better

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"There was a private party in a tent outside in front of the restaurant and I don't think Ned Ludd prepared for how that would interrupt their kitchen and service. We weren't greeted for 15 minutes after we sat down. We asked for the fixed menu with wine pairings, but wanted to start with a cocktail. The cocktail was brought with the drink paired with the appetizer, but no appetizer so we had two drinks and no food. There was something yummy on the board, but the three people we asked had no idea what it was and didn't bother to ask the kitchen to let us know. We were brought a main course and side, and when the second main course came out it was the same as the first. We noticed everyone was getting very slow service and not happy about it. One table hadn't been done with their dessert for 10 minutes and they were asked to leave so the next party could be seated b/c they had been waiting for their table a long time! The reason they had been waiting was b/c the service from the kitchen was so slow! People were so hungry they were wolfing down their food once it finally arrived. The food is very earthy and rustic so be sure to look at the menu before going."
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We were disappointed at Ned Ludd. The food was tasty but serving sizes were very small. The cookie dessert should not have salt on it and should be thicker with ice cream on top for the asking price. If ice cream is not preferred by the chef, perhaps sweetened whipped cream could be considered. We will not be returning to Ned Ludd."
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for a special night out

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We were told by friends we had to try the place out and we are really glad we did. We went for the "family feast" which gave us a great sampling of the menu and showed their skill with wine pairings. We laughed about how impressed we were with the smokey flavor of the roasted potatoes and the kale salad's spiciness. Who gushes about roast potatoes and kale?!?!
Everything was amazing. If the "oven-kissed" cookie is on the menu for dessert- order it!"
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/23/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Cozy spot for dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"It's like eating in grandma's kitchen, kitsch and all. And the food is good! Had the pappardelle ragu which was delish! So were the spicy potatoes. Best part of meal was desserts - maple panna cotta and spiced cake with cinnamon and apple hit the spot."
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2001
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2001
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We loved this place. Our first time in.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Small portions with high price.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Service could not have been better
however I was broke and hungry when I left.
"
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious Experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We went here when it was snowing and the streets were impassable. We actually already had reservations and luckily, they opened and we could walk from where we stayed. They offered a wool blanket as we entered, which was great. The hen liver mousse dish was a favorite, with great texture and flavor. The trout was really delicious, as well as the tagiolini. Nice wine by the glass also."
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good food, good people, good music

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I took my friend here for her birthday. We stayed for four hours ordering multiple cocktails and plates. We never felt rushed, and on a Saturday night that is saying something. Our server was personable, fun, and good with recommendations. The food was all very well conceptualized and prepared. The pickled vegetables were a stand-out, as were the greens au gratin. We ordered the chocolate chip cookie with cold milk as a dessert and were delighted to find the milk is given a touch of fresh vanilla bean. They acknowledged my friend's birthday without being over the top. We had a great time!"
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A favorite spot now

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"First off, I loved the ambiance, it really was a testament to the Portland culture. I loved the bar and very creative cocktail menu. And dont forget the food, so much variety and options to choose from. Definitely a gem in Portland, and a staple for foodies to go try."
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Holiday Tradition

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We returned to Ned Ludd for our second Christmas. Popular demand led to that decision.
Once again we had an outstanding meal accomodating our vegetarian contingent,
and all others including a child. We tried about all of the entrees and all of the sides as share plates.
Our resolution is to return next year.
"
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Why the rush?

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We took two visiting friends to Ned Ludd for a special occasion. The experience was disappointing primarily because we were made to feel rushed when ordering and eating. For the premium price tag being charged, we should have felt welcomed to enjoy the experience rather than hurried through it. Our friends, who had been looking forward excitedly to the event, looked at us with confusion at the not so subtle timeline.
Further, when the Ludd Board was delivered to the table, the server just dropped it off without identifying the cheeses and charcuterie in front of us. The rest of the food was sub-par compared to expectation.
Instead of digestifs, coffee, and a leisurely desserts at the end of dinner, we surrendered to the demands of turnover and decided to spend the rest of our evening elsewhere; at places that felt more inviting and pleased with out patronage. As we stood up to leave, we saw numerous empty chairs and tables. So seriously...why the rush? We probably won't be in any rush to go back."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Ned Ludd

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Has been in my list of Portland restaurants for a while. Was everything I thought it would be but a little short of fantastic. Good apps although sweet potatoes under done. Waitress noticed and it was cool that they removed from the bill. I had the sea bass with trout garnish which was quite good. Wine list was unique and interesting. Had a nice Spanish Grenache. I'd go again."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/01/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Ned Ludd
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>