Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

DOSA on Valencia Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

DOSA on Valencia

DOSA is not just about dosas but about offering the broad selection of South Indian fare to San Francisco diners using fresh ingredients that are primarily local, organic, natural & sustainable.

2015-2012, 2009, 2008 & 2007 Best Indian, The Eat + Drink Awards - 7x7 Magazine
2015-2009 & 2007 Michelin Guide Bib Gourmand & Recommended
2014-2008 Best Indian, Bay Readers Poll - SF Bay Guardian
2012-2006 Top 100 Bay Area Restaurants - SF Chronicle
2012 Top 100 Bay Area Bars - SF Chronicle
2012 The 38 Essential San Francisco Restaurants - Eater SF
2011, 2009 Best Indian Readers Poll Winner - SF Weekly
2010, 2008 Best Eats in San Francisco - SF Examiner
2009, 2007 Best Indian & Worth the Wait, Reader's Poll Winners - SF Mag
The Top 10 (New) Restaurants of 2006 -Michael Bauer - SF Chronicle
315 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(315 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 315 reviews
5 stars
(136)
4 stars
(128)
3 stars
(33)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(8)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(160)
  • neighborhood gem(99)
  • hot spot(51)
  • good for groups(49)
  • special occasion(49)
  • romantic(40)
DOSA on Valencia Reviews List
Review 1 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 11/27/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/08/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/23/2013
 2004
Dined on 7/23/2013
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/23/2013
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent cuisine, first rate service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I enjoyed my birthday dinner at Dosa with my boyfriend. The experience could not have been better. It was my first time to the restaurant. I ate from the prefix menu. It was able to try a variety of dishes from the menu. I'm a vegetarian and although the restaurant is not vegetarian, there are numerous and delicious vegetarian options. One aspect I really appreciated was the knowledge our server had about each dish and wine paired with it. He informed us why the wine was selected, where it originated and what to expect in terms of taste when pairing it with the cuisine. Since it was my first time to Dosa I appreciated the care our server took in explaining how each dish was prepared. I should note that the restaurant is small and the tables are close together, so it doesn't feel terribly intimate or romantic. But, that wasn't an issue to me. I will certainly be returning to this city gem - I don't think I'd call it a neighborhood gem but rather a city gem."
Dined on 12/09/2015
 2008
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Best service I have received at a restaurant in a long time. The server was extremely friendly and took time to explain dishes and even helped pick out a couple we might like based on our tastes.
We ordered 4 dishes for two people) and it was more than enough food. The server staggered the order so that there were essentially two courses! The food was excellent; very flavorful and cooked perfectly.
"
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/29/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/28/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good dosa place

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Dosa was good, very accomodating to my reservation change. I would go again, its loud though ."
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2009
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/29/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/12/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Always enjoy the meal at Dosa on Valencia and on Fillmore. Prefer the atmosphere on Fillmore. Valencia is a bit crowded. The large Dosa was crispy and delicious. We also had a chicken dish and the lamb chops. Both were well prepared and nicely served. Especially enjoyed the coconut rice. The lemon rice was good too."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everyone loved the food here and we had a large group. I think the service kept the right pace for food and drinks."
Dined on 11/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good time

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a good time. Good choice of food items. Great, tasty food."
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2005
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Incredible food, space is a little small.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/17/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/17/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The host was slow to seat us. Also screaming kids!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

november visit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food is absolutely delicious. Policy doesn't allow you to sit until your full party is there, which was inconvenient for my group last week since one person was running late. A couple of us were starving so ended up finally getting a seat at the bar and ordering there. When the last of our party arrived we didn't feel like transferring everything to our table, so we ended up having the full meal at the bar, which wasn't ideal, although bartender was great."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Impeccable food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I will be dining here again sooner than later. The food was outstanding and the drinks looked great. We aren't drinking this month so we didn't try anything but some mocktails which were great but I'm excited to try the wine list and the pairings with the dishes. Everything for our 6 month anniversary went exceptional. Thanks!"
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/11/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 11/11/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2006
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2006
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food here is a bit too oily"
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 11/08/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Way overrated

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"a friend recommended we try DOSA while in San Fran. Love dosas and Indian food. Have to say both my partner and I left very underwhelmed. The pani puri was just ok (the ones at AMBER by the Marriott were amazing). Ordered a spicy dosa and have to say it was just ok. Nothing special. Partner said the same thing about his. Best part was kingfisher beer on tap."
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, expensive

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/03/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good food, a bit expensive on the price. Portions could be a bit larger as well."
Dined on 11/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The nontraditional menu was light on explanations of these dishes, and despite our conspicuous confusion about what we were ordering, the waiter did little to clarify or explain the details of these dishes, let alone recommend anything. We felt that we ordered duplicatively, which prevented us from tasting as many foods as we wanted to sample. For a restaurant with these prices, I expected more help from the staff than we got. A previous dining experience several years ago at the Fillmore Street location went much better, as I remember, because the server was tremendously friendly and helpful with advice on what to order. I guess this is what happens when a restaurant gets successful, expands, and loses touch with the needs of its customers."
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delightful South Indian Brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everyone trying Indian needs to get past ordering the standard Butter Chicken and Tikka Masala dishes, and try out South Indian Food. This is the standard for brunch in Southern India and forms the cornerstone of the vegetarian diets that are commonly found in this region of India.
The dosa, uttapam and idli-vada combinations with chutneys and sambar are an excellent, tasty and filling way to start the day. You could go for eggs, yum-cha or branch out and try DOSA.
The restaurant has some great selection of food! I tried the 'keema' dosa - a flat, thin, rice crepe with lamb mince, served with chutneys and sambar. The spice balance was great, and DOSA's waiters looked after my friend who had a nut allergy. They were informed and had good information on what ingredients went into the making of the food, letting my friend enjoy the food without concern.
I highly recommend checking out this little gem of an Indian restaurant - it has a good cocktail bar and could just be the way to start the weekend, or any night for that matter!"
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for DOSA on Valencia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>