Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Verses Restaurant Reviews List

Verses Restaurant

À la conquête des saveurs contemporaines sur la vieille rue Saint-Paul : Découvrez des plats raffinés, inspirés de la cuisine française et préparés avec des produits frais du marché. Venez pour déguster les créations du chef Anthony Joyce, comme le filet de bœuf en croûte de truffes, ou pour goûter les mets typiques de la région, y compris le foie gras de qualité.
L’ambiance intime, rehaussée d’un foyer incandescent et d’un cellier en verre impressionnant, est emblématique de l’Hôtel Nelligan, votre hébergement le plus chic pour une escapade à Montréal.

Contemporary flavours on old St. Paul Street—it’s refined, French-inspired and market-fresh. Discover Chef Anthony Joyce's signature dishes, like the truffle-crusted beef tenderloin or sample some regional favourites including quality foie gras. The intimate ambiance, accented by a working fireplace and impressive glass wine cellar, is a fixture in Hôtel Nelligan, Montreal’s most chic getaway.
See more Verses Restaurant details
166 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(166 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 166 reviews
5 stars
(76)
4 stars
(66)
3 stars
(15)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(79)
  • romantic(77)
  • special occasion(68)
  • notable wine list(36)
  • good for groups(24)
  • neighborhood gem(23)
Verses Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 06/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 06/02/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 06/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/02/2016
 2014
Dined on 05/02/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 05/02/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Beau, bon, pas cher!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Menu spécial pendant "Montréal Gourmand" comprenait entrée plat et dessert, le tout pour 29$ ou 39$, nous avons choisi le 39$. Entrée de pétoncles, carré d'agneau, délicieux!
Avec apéros, vins, espressivo, le tout pour $150 pour deux!!! Absolument merveilleux!
"
Dined on 04/02/2016
 2009
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 03/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 03/02/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 03/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Un petit bijou dans le Vieux-Montréal.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2013
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Une cuisine raffinée, une ambiance chaleureuse, un service impeccable (Merci Patrice!). Un endroit merveilleux en couple ou pour marquer une évènement. L'accueil est chaleureux sans être invasif et les conseils concernant le menu et la carte des vins très pertinents. On aimerait que tous les restaurants soient comme celui-ci."
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 01/02/2016
 2013
Dined on 01/02/2016
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 01/02/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing evening

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I went there with my mom and it was truly a sensationnal experience. They offered us a better table. The staff was the best I had had in a very long time. The wine advices were incredible. The food was delicious. I definitely waited too long to try this restaurant. I will be back!"
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Très bien manger

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Serveurs très chaleureux et attentionné, néanmoins il a fallu attendre longuement pour commander et recevoir l'addition"
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Une adresse à ne pas manquer !

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Une très bonne cuisine de qualité dans un joli cadre, un service parfait.
Juste une attente un peu longue pour nous placer malgré notre réservation.
"
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Surprise agréable dans le vieux Montréal

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Nous avions déjà fréquenté ce restaurant il y a quelques temps et nous avions été déçu, donc nous avons profité du happening gourmand pour y retourner et ce fut une deuxième tentative pour voir si l'expérience serait plus agréable, car lors d'un autre passage, le service n'avait pas été à la hauteur.
Ce fut une belle et bonne expérience, car le service et la nourriture était des plus agréable."
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Vraiment dommage puisque malgré la nourriture excellente, le service n'était franchement pas à la hauteur ( et je sais de quoi je parle puisque je suis moi-même serveuse!). Il y avait à peu près 5 tables dans le restaurant et chaque fois que nous avions terminé un plat, cela prenait un minimum de 15 minutes pour qu'on vienne nous desservir. Le serveur doit être passé une dizaine de fois devant notre table sans avoir l'air occupé et en nous ignorant totalement. L'endroit est vraiment charmant et la nourriture y est très bonne mais, avec un service aussi peu attentionné, ça ne donne pas envie d'y retourner. Dommage!"
Dined on 25/01/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

souper d'amis

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Excellent restaurant pour un souper d'amies. Happening Gourmand fait en sorte que c'est très abordable."
Dined on 15/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great service and fantastic food. Intimate setting"
Dined on 24/01/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2010
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We visites Verses Restaurant as part of the Happening Gourmet promotion. The sommelier-maitre d'hotel David Goirand provided outstanding service. He was attentive, informative and congenial. The lighting had failed in the area over our table to the point where we could not see the menu. He apologized for the inconvenience, explained that there was an issue that they were working on resolving and brought a small flashlight to assist us. Our food was delicious. I had mushroom ravioli as a starter and both my husband and I had the veal as a main course. It absolutely melted in our mouths. For dessert we had the chestnut pastry with apple and demi-glace ice cream. The ice cream was a great creamy, almost buttery contrast to the sweetness of the pastry and the apple. A very unique preparation. This was a very enjoyable meal!"
Dined on 20/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 22/01/2016
 2013
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Went during Happening Gourmand

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I went for Happening Gourmand and found the food to be mediocre. It lacked taste.
I would suggest trying it when their is not an event going on.
Atmosphere was quiet so you can actually hear each other which was nice.
"
Dined on 21/01/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 22/01/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not as it used to be

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Verse was the first "Haut de Gamme" restaurant I've tried many years ago! It's always been a favorite to me, cant stop spreading the word! I still remembrer the lobster risotto made with whisky and lavender I had maybe 10 years ago! Since then, I went to Verse about 6-7 Times but was disappointed lately ...2015 Mtl a table the I had to go there with my love to show him what I love so much about Verse but what we got un terms of food was nothing compared to previous experiences . We still enjoyed very much the sitting place which are perfect! Those half-moon bench really add a nice touch make a dinner that must romantic! Even though it was overall ordinary for the food I had to give it an other shot, but didnt want to pay full price to ne disappointed like that again...so I went again to Verse 2016 happening gourmand event with 5 friends! I hoped last time was just an exception but it wasnt...the service was very long, my vetetarian friend didnt have many option of all since there was veal glaze in pretty much everything including the fish plate and the desert! I had veal which was well cooked but very bland. No carbs whatsoever of you remove the tablespoon size mashed potato hidding under the veal. Dont get me wrong, i know those types of restaurants bet on quality ratter then quantité which is the way i want my food to be but quality wasnt there ta all as for the taste. I even gave half of my Plate to my boyfriend felling bad I brought him there for the second Time and still having to explain its not like that usually... We Also never got the coffre we ordered, maybe we should have waited an other 30 min to get those...but they were very quick to give us the bill. i dont know if id go back again."
Dined on 15/01/2016
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Special Menu

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We dined while there was a special $29/$39 menu in place. Three courses, all quite imaginative and interesting (other than the ever-present hanger steak and frites). Plenty of choices and everything that we had was really first-rate. Definitely a place to return to."
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 13/01/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Ce fût une superbe soirée. Le service était excellent, et notre serveur Christopher nous a offert un service impeccable."
Dined on 13/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/01/2016
 2010
Dined on 14/01/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 14/01/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 10/01/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/01/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 11/01/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/01/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I had high expectations for this restaurant and despite a cosy start with a nice wine and excellent entrées, my overall experience was disappointing. There is a huge problem when the diner is vegetarian and seemingly all the dishes include jus de veau- even a glace de demi-glace. This was coupled with uneven service in which after returning the veal soaked mushroom and basil gnocchi, the waiter still wanted to drizzle jus de veau on the cod. The descriptions for the food need to be expanded and the wait staff should certainly be better informed about the food being served."
Dined on 07/01/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Old Montreal gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Always a delight to dine at an excellent restaurant with great service.
The restaurant with its windows gives a beautiful atmosphere of Old Montreal, not to be missed when visiting the city.
"
Dined on 01/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

New Years Eve Dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Verses is a very quaint restaurant located in Old Montreal. My husband and I had dinner here on New Years Eve before heading to the ports for the fireworks display. As with most fine dining restaurants in Montreal on the eve of Dec 31, this was a set menu. The set menu was 7 courses including, antipasto, main course, and desert. For an extra cost, we also had the wine pairing which was very good. For the main course, my husband chose the Squab and I chose the crab. All the portions were "sampler" size and tasty. Great if you want to experience unique flavours and interesting combinations of foods. I would like to try this restaurant again, but with their regular menu. Overall, a nice experience. Great ambiance."
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Un festin pour le palais

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Nous avons souper au Verses le 31 décembre ma femme et moi, il y avait un menu spécial 7 services. Ce fût tout simplement magique, un service sans reproche, distingué et très courtois. La nourriture...rien de comparable pour nous! L'ambiance feutré dans un magnifique décor."
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We had the Christmas brunch which overall was enjoyable, however the service was average for the level of restaurant."
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 24/12/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Decevant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/12/2015
 2013
Dined on 24/12/2015
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Le chef tente d etre original et ne reussi qu a faire des assemblages ininteressant. C est en dessous du niveau attendu d un hotel boutique. Le plus mauvais repas du 24 decembre depuis les 10 dernieres annees."
Dined on 24/12/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Thoughtful presentations of creative dishes. Fresh ingredients with innovative pairing. A serious kitchen which well rewards its diners."
Dined on 24/12/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/12/2015
 2013
Dined on 24/12/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 24/12/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice surprise!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Surprisingly pleased with the quality-price ratio. I was expecting an overpriced basic brunch, and instead, was offered a great tasting brunch, nicely presented, and very good service... for a very reasonable price! Only small comment, would have enjoyed a little more table visits for coffee refills. I will be going back in the future!"
Dined on 29/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The staff were friendly and responsive suggesting amazing menu selections. loved it!"
Dined on 19/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 20/12/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 17/12/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Brilliant conception, technique, & execution"
Dined on 17/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/12/2015
 2013
Dined on 13/12/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was awesomely delicious, we had an exceptional magnificent service from Martin.
I recommend Verses Restaurant, two thumbs up :)
"
Dined on 13/12/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 05/12/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great location in old Montreal

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant is in the trendy Nelligan Hotel. It has a great ambiance as well as excellent food and wine list. Definitely a special occasion place."
Dined on 04/12/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 28/11/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Verses Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food is excellent, service very friendly, great place to stop before going to Centaur Theatre, have special menu for you so you can make the show on time."
Dined on 27/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>