Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek

Mi Casa is a family owned restaurant located in the heart of Walnut Creek. Spanish for "My Home," Mi Casa combines the authenticity of traditional Mexican and Central American dishes with the comfortable ambiance of home. Dishes at Mi Casa are made from scratch with the freshest and highest quality ingredients, following old family recipes that have been passed down from generation to generation. In 2007 the Maldonado family decided it was time to share their family recipes with the public, thus opening Mi Casa. Since then our dishes have been well received by our guests. Whether meeting friends for some of our famous sangria, celebrating a special event, or simply enjoying a casual lunch on the patio, we look forward to welcoming you to our home- "Mi Casa Es Su Casa"
23 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(23 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
(5)
4 stars
(7)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(10)
  • kid-friendly(8)
  • great for lunch(5)
  • good for groups(3)
  • fit for foodies(2)
  • great for outdoor dining(2)
Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek Reviews List
Review 1 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had mixed feelings about our dining experience at Mi Casa. The chips and salsa were not very good. I feel that Mexican restaurants should excel with their chips and salsa. Our waitress forgot to put our food order in so we waited a very long time for it to come. I was fine with the fact she forgot until she blamed the kitchen for the mistake. (She came over to ask what we had ordered and couldn't find it on her order pad. She had clearly forgotten.) The restaurant was not busy at all even though it was a Saturday night. No accomodations were made for our lengthy wait. (We didn't ask for any and none were offered.)
So at this point, my review would have been quite negative. However, when we got our food it was quite delicious. We ordered from the Central American section of the menu. The food was definitely the saving grace here. My son devoured my leftovers the next day!
Be aware that this restaurant does not have a hard liquor license, so their "margaritas" are not what you might be expecting.
Overall, I felt that Mi Casa is a bit overpriced for what it is."
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2006
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

1st time

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We decided to try Mia Casa for lunch because of all the good reviews. we were not impressed with the food. it was average at best."
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

a cozy neighborhood gem.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"great variety of foods. Lovely service. Kind with caring staff. Very tasty foods. Xcellent tortilla soup. A nice evening."
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Just a wonderful, authentic experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This family owned and run restaurant is a true gem. The food was fresh, quick, authentic and served by the family. We felt like we had discovered a place we will go back to for years. There is a central american part of the menu we loved, and the blend of selections was broad. The selections of beer and drink was also great and I would highly recommend this for lunch and dinner. They have a lovely outdoor covered patio as well. This was a wonderful authentic experience."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2005
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2005
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Mi Casa is a nice neighborhood restaurant. Food is fresh and good. Staff is knowledgeable and friendly. We lik e their food a lot."
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It isn't in the busy downtown area but it is an excellent restaurant with available parking as well. Loved the papusas and the homemade salsa. Friendly staff. We will definitely visit again soon."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Find!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"First time at Mi Casa to celebrate my Mom's 85th birthday. Wonderful menu and attentive servers. Will definitely be back."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Worst marguerita ever!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I almost never send anything back in a restaurant. I'm just not that picky. However, I had no choice with the marguerita at this place. My friend could not drink hers either. They didn't even taste like a marguerita. Watered down with a weird kind of chemical taste. We both had the same reaction. My enchiladas were fair at best. When we sat down they gave us half a basket of broken chips and the container that the salsa came in was not full either. Which made me think they reused it from a previous diner. Service was lackluster. We asked a girl that works there to put the entire bill on the credit card and bring back change for the cash. Surprised that she spoke absolutely NO English. Um, ok--I guess. There are MUCH better Mexican restaurants in the area. Don't waste your time or money here."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was very good but the service was poor by some of the staff."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mi Casa Refused to Acknowledge Open Table Reserv

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Staff at Mi Casa claimed that their restaurant did not use Open Table and would not acknowledge my reservation. Fortunately, there were tables available at the time."
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mi Casa Restaurant - Walnut Creek
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
4 out of 5 recommend this product
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate