Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Bijoux Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Bijoux

Named one of the "10 Hottest New Restaurants in America" by Bon Appetit, Chef Scott Gottlich impresses with a luxe a la carte menu that changes to reflect the season. Wife, sommelier Gina Gottlich serves as the wine director, expertly pairing every course with distinctive wine selections. Chef Gottlich"s commitment to excellence is evident in every bite of his seasonal, contemporary French fare.
47 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(47 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
5 stars
(26)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(31)
  • fit for foodies(26)
  • special occasion(24)
  • notable wine list(14)
  • neighborhood gem(11)
  • good for groups(4)
Bijoux Reviews List
Review 1 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

RIP, Bijoux. We'll miss you!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Bijoux has long been my favorite elegant dining destination. I'm so sad that Gina and Scott Gottlich have decided to close, but I understand the desire to try something new. I'm looking forward to trying Second Floor by Scott Gottlich at the Galleria. Scott, please put your pork belly on the menu at Second Floor!!!"
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome but closing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We really enjoyed this new find. Sadly, they are closing down before the end of Feb 2015."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was once one of husband's favorite restaurants, but we didn't have a good experience on v day. I had requested for veg menu on open table and they didn't have it. My husband had asked for scotch and they ran out. They usually have an assortment of bread to choose from and come around throughout the evening replenishing...none of that happened.
I think that was our last time there.
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Small Portions of Average Food = No Repeat Visit.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was not terrible, however the portion sizes were much smaller then I have seen at other fine dinning restaurants. We will not be returning."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great dining experience, sad that it's closing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was a great dining experience, just not such a mind-blowing one that I had to give it 5 stars. In my book, 4 stars means that everything was above my expectations and I'd put it on my list of places to go back to regularly. Unfortunately, for Bijoux, they are closing at the end of February and I won't be able to do that. However, the owners are focusing their efforts on The 2nd Floor at the Galleria, so I plan on visiting that with hopes that the experience matches what I had at Bijoux.
The service was great and our server gave us some great recommendations. The amuse-bouche was a great start, followed by the agnolotti and arugula salad. For the mains we had the branzino and the braised wagyu beef cheek - both were also outstanding. To finish it off, we had the apple tart which I would gladly go back just for that."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Gottlicious!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Always a pleasure. Can't wait to try the 2nd Floor!"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

So long, Bijoux.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant is slated to close but we had a special occasion and wanted to have a nice memory. Bijoux had been a good restaurant. The food was excellent but some of the wait staff had an attitude and it started out very uncomfortable . Our last dinner at Bijoux wasn't the one we want to keep as a great memory of the restaurant. Sadly, perhaps it is time to close."
Dined on 2/11/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellet for a special occasion!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This restaurant is a bit on the pricey side, but it's perfect for a special occasion. The food is some of the best food I've ever eaten, and I'm definitely not exaggerating. I would recommend this place to absolutely everyone. but you have to make sure you have the money for it."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had hoped they would have maintained their high standards to the end. Unfortunately that was not the case the evening we went. It seemed like our wait person did not want to be there. She was very perfunctory and short with her answers. She just wanted to take our order and deliver our check. Period.
We wish them all the best with Second Floor. Just wish they would have upheld their fine service standards at Bijoux to the end."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved it

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The restaurant was fairly empty which surprised me on a Friday night but the food was EXCELLENT , our servers were attentive but never overbearing . Had an amazing overall experience ."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Impeccable

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service was attentive and warm. The food was exquisite."
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good French & Fit for Foodies

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Positives: The food quality was very good to excellent; and the Foie gras was brilliant (albeit a smaller portion than we’re accustomed to ala the late Charlie Palmer and the current Adolphus/French Room). The sommelier was well-versed and suggested a superb red wine to go with dinner. A couple of amuse-bouche came from the kitchen; both were nice. We started with split pea soup and an arugula salad, both were cold (...the pea soup shouldn’t have been). We had rack of lamb and braised Wagyu beef cheek (both excellently done). The dessert soufflés were good (Grand Mariner and chocolate). Dissents: the service was somewhat on the slow-side, despite what seemed to be more-than-adequate staffing; and, the bar is limited to 3 seats - kind of a challenge when the waiting area is almost full. The interior is a little worn / dated. But, overall; it was an excellent experience. We’ll likely go back."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Overpriced for what they serve .

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I was expecting a better french menu ...You should not call your restaurant a french with the type of menu that you serve ."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2014
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very nice place, but food is NOT superb

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I read a review saying that the food here is superb; it isn't. I order fresh oysters, which came awash in vinegar to the extent that all oyster flavor was swamped. My risotto was okay and made that grade only because of generous slices of truffle (the rice itself was a bit too al dente; my dining partner wouldn't even eat his). The fish was good.
I liked the restaurant ambiance very much. Our experience suffered only from the all-too-prevalent loud music that restaurants seem to think we'd rather hear than our dining partners. When we asked that it be turned down, the diminution was imperceptible.
Service was outstanding. A young fellow named Austin, whom I don't know and have no relation to, was attentive without hovering."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Christmas Eve Dinner was Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The pea soup was too thick and had the consistency of baby food. The lobster dinner was below average. The souffle was lovely.
The meal was below average for the price.
We dine out frequently and were very disappointed.
"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2011
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Neighborhood treasure

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife & I (new to Dallas just 2y) have now been to Bjouix for our third meal. Great service & attention to detail without being intrusive. Wonderful food-- love the foie gras & pork cheeks, wine list spacious with many fine choices & ambiance quiet, unhurried & relaxing
It is becoming a real favorite of ours, despite many other great choices in our neighborhood which serve as their competition
"
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Second visit not so good

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Last Valentine's Day we had a great meal at Bijoux. Unfortunately this time, not so much . Only three couples in the whole restaurant made for a muted atmosphere. The wine was good as aways though the waiter, who also was the matridi and the bartender was less then helpful on selections. The appetizers were ok, though the pork belly is cut way too large for such a rich piece of meat.
The squab main was too messy and not flavorful. The beef cheeks were just ok, and in our opinion the shrimp served with them were a waste. The pineapple upside down cake was just dry.
Oh well,,,,I am sure we will give it one more try, but proceed with caution!"
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bijoux
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great beginning to an evening!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were looking for a place to set the mood for a romantic, but also fun place to eat! Bijoux did not disappoint! Both romantic, fun, and let's not forget DELICOUS!
We could have order 17 more of the Pork Belly appetizers! Noo...make that 20! Our dishes were fantastic taking food to a level that neither of is could have envisioned! One could even argue that this experience was life changing for our food palettes!
The service was spectacular and our server was extremely friendly and knowledgable! He answered any questions we had and also suggested the tasting portions so we could try more dishes!
This is definitely not the last time Bijoux will see us, and I will most certainly be letting folks know about this one of a kind restaurant!
Thank you! It was a great start to a great night!"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bijoux
Based on the average of (29) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
24 out of 27 recommend this product
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic