Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Ceia Kitchen and Bar Reviews List

Ceia Kitchen and Bar

Characteristic of Caswell Restaurant Group and its founder, Nancy Batista-Caswell, Newburyport’s Ceia Kitchen + Bar operates with a profound appreciation of food, wine, and the stories told around them. Ceia—Portuguese for supper (pronounced “SAY-ah”)—embodies the culture’s Old World culinary dedication, inspired by historic coastal European wine land.

Executive Chef Jeremy Glover executes the restaurant’s “chef to farm” philosophy in the form of classic yet intrepid cuisine. Marrying Old World technique with New England flair, Glover creates comfort dining by creating artisanal breads, pastas, braises, and entrées with ingredients sourced exclusively from local purveyors. Armed with bicoastal cooking experience, Glover creates the seasonal menu as if he was serving it in his own home, and he often improvises new dishes based on the daily haul.
See more Ceia Kitchen and Bar details
247 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(247 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 247 reviews
5 stars
(114)
4 stars
(76)
3 stars
(34)
2 stars
(16)
1 star
(7)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(153)
  • notable wine list(104)
  • neighborhood gem(84)
  • romantic(83)
  • special occasion(77)
  • hot spot(38)
Ceia Kitchen and Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Poor lobster bisque

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Disappointed with bisque, very bland taste, would not recommend to anyone, poor choice on my part to start an otherwise good meal"
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

gourmet food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Food is wonderful and unusual. Great selection of cheeses"
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fabulous Food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Everything was great except that we waited a half hour to be seated even with a reservation.
Food is delicious and service at the table was excellant. Lots of fresh foods and great wine and cocktail menu.
"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great meeting spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Met friends from Maine here. Nice atmosphere and food was very good. Second time here. Did a cousins lunch several years ago which everyone enjoyed.
glad to see restaurant is still just as good."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Octopus appetizer was superb

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Cheese pasta and Apples

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Pastas were delicious. Had a Portuguese red wine that was really great. Enjoyed Service. Overall a win win."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I have not written a review for a while. The restaurant was good enough for me to attempt to write one. The food was good, we can taste the work, but it was very hard to see the work; meaning too dark. I really do not understand why restaurants want to make the room so dark that you can hardly see the food. I do not mind for those places where the food is not the main theme, but here..it should be. I wish the lights were adjustable per table so that those who wants romance more than food, can have it while those like us who enjoy the food with our eyes and our tongues can see it. The food was good. We hardly go twice to the same place but this is on our list. To this date there are less than 5 places in 6 years in Boston."
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"we have been to Ceia may times but Saturday night was spectacular. Everything from soup, appetizer pasta and desert was exceptional. Our server, Jeremy was great, attentive, very knowledgeable, a true professional"
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Ceia pairs foods to excite the taste buds

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Having been nominated for the James Beard Award the Owner and staff at Ceia are not stopping there. They continue to bring fresh tasting menus and seasonal dishes to the restaurant allowing each visit to be unique if desired."
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My friend and I met here for lunch.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I drove up from the Boston area, he down from Portsmouth. The restaurant was excellent as was the service. Very delightful spot, will definitely return."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food/environs. Service was outstanding!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food excellent, waitress and host needed help

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"we were seated by the host so close to the next table that it was good that I am small because my husband would never have had any room.The food was innovative and delicious, but the waitress wasn't very attentive. She failed to refill our water so I ran out halfway through my meal. Too bad because the food was great."
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always better than everyone else in NBPT.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The service is always so slow friendly - helpful but slow. We went for the New a years day brunch. The food is always good, but it was slightly over seasoned this time. The eggs Benedict in all their forms were wonderful. Ordered a large meat and cheese tray only to find they didn't have the Bread that's usually served with it - I found that bothersome being that the tray was 30 alone. The wine and alcohol is always good but I find it slightly over priced, 14-16 dollars a glass for just about anything is off the price point for the area. The only other very good spot is their sister restaurant Brine address the street. Great food and better then their competition but measuring them against themselves they still have room to improve."
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Slow start to a new year

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We always enjoy Ceia, one of our favorite spots. However, service on New Year's Eve was disappointing. Our server was pleasant but once we asked her to 'give us a few minutes' to make our food choices, she didn't return for over 15 minutes. Once we ordered, food was very slow coming out of the kitchen, which dragged our meal out for over 2 hours. The food was delicious as always, but there was no need for the extended wait for the plates to make it to our table."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner Out for NYE

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We visited Ceia Kitchen and Bar for NYE, and the food was excellent. The food and kitchen seemed to be a bit backed up, however. Granted it was NYE, but we had two bowls of soup and a side of brussel sprouts as our first course, and it took quite a while to get to our table. Our first course and entrees were also spaced out by less than 5 minutes, so the timing wasn't ideal.
All and all, however, we had a wonderful dinner. We will definitely go back!"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Overpriced, limited menu

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We went with high expectations and were very disappointed. The menu was pricey and limited, and though we arrived early and the restaurant nearly empty, were told (after three of us ordered it) that the single fish entree was unavailable. While the waitress was very nice, she was very slow, and kept forgetting our requests for more water, utensils, a glass of wine, etc. Our meal was made complete by a significant error on our bill. We won't be going back."
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The quality of the food here is outstanding. I was impressed overall with this place."
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/19/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Beef Cheek and the Flan are a must. Better than I expected."
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/05/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Meh

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I would recommend Ceia kitchen for a great place to have a drink and really good app's. The location is beautiful and the dining area pleasant. We had the special prosciutto app and pea soup which were good. My entrée was the special steak with brussell sprouts...not a fan. steak was cut up in chunks and no matter how you order temp it will come out overcooked. Best meal in the group was the menu filet...stick with drinks and app"
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food and menu was underwhelming. Every meal showed up and we instantly had questions; a smearing of cheese and apple butter on a piece of slate, no crackers or bread. Olives in a ramekin, no description. Main course with sides of garnish or vegetables, don't know. Desert, three different flavor profiles with no combination; dry, cold, hard, salty...ah you get the picture.
The place is quaint, historic, and the setting is great. Overall it was meh n"
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/30/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/30/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We've eaten at CEIA many times before and found the menu to be interesting and invariably the food was good. This time however the food was served tepid, the fish (fluke) undercooked and was in general very disappointing. I'm hoping that CEIA will pick up it's game now that there's much stiffer competition in Newburyport."
Dined on 11/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2006
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Terrific food and terrific service. When I mentioned that the my entrée was "good" while the other two entrees were spectacular, the waitress immediately offered to replace my meal (which was not necessary but lovely that she offered this)."
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2009
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I enjoy "small plate" offerings, so the Pinchos portion of Ceia's menu was perfect for us. The mushroom offering was superb!!"
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/12/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2003
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2003
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

specials were delicious

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"never fails to be absolutely delicious and very accommodating- sat us on the the third foor. we enjoyed the pasta special with leeks and the beef duo with cabbage and apple to start the mussels and the octopus. they were offering an award winning Spanish wine that was delightful. service was everything we needed. Had great conversation with the table beside us that recommended our meals as well. continues to be the best. thanks for never changing."
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Place

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very good food and service. Interesting cocktail selection. Good wine selection, even by the glass and the waiter and bar tender collaborated for an excellent wine recommendation for my wife's main. The atmosphere was pleasant (we sat upstairs) and not too noisy. It was a very enjoyable evening."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Unexpectedly disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were seated immediately at 5:45. Waiter was helpful and friendly. Tables wer squeezed together and it was very tight. Also, it was very noisy but we had opted to sit downstairs -- upstairs may have been quieter. We ordered appetizers -- the foie gras was not as I expected (a piece of cooker liver not a pate) but okay. My husband's smoked oysters were excellent. Our friends ordered soup and a salad. We drank our water and our wine while we waited for dinner to arrive -- and we waited...and waited. Our waiter came by and said dinner would be there in "10 minutes". About a half hour later the dinner arrived. My husband's pasta was about the size of a cup -- and this was an entree, and not inexpensive. He said it was good and it was warm. One friend's steak was too rare for her, but she did not complain. Our other friend had a pork duo -- and two of the four pieces of pork loin were mostly fat and grizzle, rendering the dish almost uneatable. I ordered the duck. It was barely warm. The skin, instead of being crisp, was about 1/4 inch of fat. Three little pieces and a tiny leg (about the size of a chicken wing)-- and this was supposed to be a "half duck". By this time the place was hopping, and no one came to check up on us until about 30 minutes later at which time we registered our concern about the quality of the meals. The manager subsequently arrived and asked if she could get us another dish, but by this time about 2 and a half hours had passed since our arrival and we said we just wanted her to know. She said she would pass it onto the chef. The manager did take the price of the pork duro and the duck off the check. We appreciated that, but really, didn't the cook and waiter LOOK at the dishes and see how fatty they were prior to delivering them to our table? And why were some of our meals cool while the others were warm. Very disappointing given the previous reviews and the prices."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>