Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Ceia Kitchen and Bar Reviews List

Ceia Kitchen and Bar

Characteristic of Caswell Restaurant Group and its founder, Nancy Batista-Caswell, Newburyport’s Ceia Kitchen + Bar operates with a profound appreciation of food, wine, and the stories told around them. Ceia—Portuguese for supper (pronounced “SAY-ah”)—embodies the culture’s Old World culinary dedication, inspired by historic coastal European wine land.

Executive Chef Jeremy Glover executes the restaurant’s “chef to farm” philosophy in the form of classic yet intrepid cuisine. Marrying Old World technique with New England flair, Glover creates comfort dining by creating artisanal breads, pastas, braises, and entrées with ingredients sourced exclusively from local purveyors. Armed with bicoastal cooking experience, Glover creates the seasonal menu as if he was serving it in his own home, and he often improvises new dishes based on the daily haul.
See more Ceia Kitchen and Bar details
295 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(295 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 295 reviews
5 stars
(137)
4 stars
(93)
3 stars
(41)
2 stars
(17)
1 star
(7)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(174)
  • notable wine list(116)
  • neighborhood gem(97)
  • romantic(96)
  • special occasion(93)
  • hot spot(39)
Ceia Kitchen and Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Food was excellent the server was courteous and knowledgeable but service was slow all n all it was a good take an I would recommend this restaurant my friends"
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Romantic Anniversary Date

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My husband and I are a young adult couple and were looking for a place to celebrate our 3rd anniversary and this was perfect. We were leaving our 2 little ones at home to go out on a date for the first time in months and wanted something really special and out of the ordinary. The ambiance was perfect with it's European "bistro" decor and the food was wonderful. All around a very romantic spot for our date and though expensive, you definitely get what you pay for."
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/21/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Ceia is our favorite restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We discover so many great dishes there, it's always a wonderful adventure. The wait staff is very friendly and knowledgeable as well."
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Savory & Sparkling

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My husband and went here recently and had a memorable dinner out. Great ambience, rustic and shiny. The rabbit (sorry mr. bunny) was savory and served with just barely cooked bright green peas and a delicious rabbit broth. Lovely to look at and so tasty. My husband had the planked salmon which was perfectly fresh and also very flavorful. Friendly and attentive server. Perfect for that special night out when you want to have something you wouldn't think, or have time, to make at home. A bit expensive, but worth it."
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

This was out 1st time here - small portions

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"This was our 1st time and overall the food and service were very good. Our waitress was excellent. 3 of the 4 people at our table felt the entree portions was small particularly given the price.I had tuna and the portion was appropriate. Wines were reasonable prices and appetizers were creative."
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A wonderful experience

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We loved our experience at Ceia, from the beautiful space to the warm staff and the delicious food. We will definitely return."
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

dissapointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Waitress was disinterested- Poor pacing of food. Drinks took forever to receive. The apps came very late and were the main course for the women. The guys rec'd apps right away. The artichoke apps were a joke for the money. One stringy stem artfully displayed with less than a 1/2 bite of heart. My Salmon was good. The dinner overall was a disappointment and bad service always compounds the experience. We have been there 3 times and have given friends a gift certificate will not return as you never know whether the good experience is coming or the bad. Yes it was that bad."
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Ceia-a great find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Loved it. Probably the best burger I've ever had. Wine list was eclectic enough for an enthusiast. Downtown Newburyport is special."
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2007
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2010
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2010
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/01/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food options for a foodie!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Loved the creativity of the dishes, everything was uniquely prepared compared to other restaurants. Food was delicious and would recommend it for those who like to trust the chef with their menu and try different combinations of flavors."
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2009
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2004
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2004
Special Features: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Easter brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My husband and I went to Ceia (say-ahh) before noon for Sunday brunch. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. We sat by the front windows which were a bit drafty, but the view was nice. Our server was knowledgable about the menu and drink options. The appetizer board was awesome. My husbands lobster and hanger steak holindaise was excellent. We had a lovely brunch and will return again!"
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2010
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/19/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/06/2016
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2013
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The cheeses, octopus and bass dish were spectacular. Such a great experience - server Alana was great, drinks were great, wine list reasonable and the flan was killer"
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Innovative preparations; unique martini list;

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"3 level, old, brick building; nicely designed/decorated. Lunch offered some unique food options with generous portions. Friendly staff. Would definitely go back for lunch, if not dinner too."
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2006
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Date night with my wife. We had a couple of cheeses, the roasted dates (unusual and wonderful), the duck entree (outstanding), and the apple presse for dessert. We will come back!"
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Beautiful location but needs some work

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The space and location are lovely, and there were a lot of bright spots in the meal. Our waitress was friendly and chatty, and the bread was amazing. Where it was lacking - at least the weekend night we went - is with the snootiness of other staff - people who brought out the food, and the hostesses - please train people that this attitude detracts A LOT from any dining experience..they need to really work on this! The other issue was the length of time in b/w courses - we waited super long for our entrees, and, once they came, my husband's was perfect in flavor and taste, and mine was so salty that it was almost inedible. I told the waitress, and she informed me that she'd tell the kitchen, but this should have been handled differently."
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2005
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We joined our friends for a nice dinner at Ceia. The experience from the very beginning was excellent. The attention to details by all the service staff and the chef was amazing. I would highly recommend this restaurant to my friends."
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2006
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food and service are both crafted with excellence!"
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I dined on new year eve night. The food was delicious- I had the duck. I ordered a cocktail and it tasted as much as gasoline.."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful Valentine's Day Brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Even though we live 150 miles away, we chose to have Valentine's Day (also our wedding anniversary) brunch at Ceia, a favorite restaurant we try to visit on every trip through the North Shore of Mass. Based on our prior visits, our expectations were high, but they were even exceeded by the delicious lobster eggs benedict and homemade chocolate-glazed doughnuts we devoured. We were seated at a cozy corner table (as requested), and our server exhibited the perfect combination of professional and friendly service. As if this weren't enough for a memorable anniversary, when we left to drive home, we discovered that our car battery was dead. Ceia's owner, Nancy Batista-Caswell, and her friendly staff went "above & beyond" in jump-starting our car on this record-breaking frigid day. Despite managing the busy holiday & Sunday brunch business at Ceia and its sister oyster-bar restaurant across the street, Brine, when Nancy & her staff overheard us learning of a 5-hour wait for AAA service, they leaped to our aid & got us on our way in minutes. This is not only a great restaurant -- these are great people."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Usually Ceia is pretty good, a little different menu but good. This time I went out of my norm and ordered the duck filet special....came out very well done and inedible...waitress didn't even ask how it was or why I gave 80% of it back to her when she cleaned the plate up. Just couldn't wait to get us out of there I guess. I can say though, the cheese plate selection is really good, and my wife enjoyed the soup."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food was great! Server was very pleasant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing Brunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"My fiancé and I ate here for Valentine's Day brunch. I was so looking forward to it. I'm a foodie and I follow the restaurant on social media so I was very excited to experience this place. On Valentine's Day, I am a firm believer that the service industry should impress.
We were not impressed by the brunch at Ceia. To start, we had 11:30 reservations and when we arrived at 11:3, we had to wait as tables were not set up. There were approximately 3 other couples waiting. I was disappointed that there were no signature Vday Brunch drinks. Throw some passion fruit in champagne and put it on a specials menu, boom.
We started with two mimosas. We spilt their house made daily donut, which was two chocolate glazed doughnuts. The presentation was definitely cute with Vday appropriate Be Mine. The donuts however, were very, very chewy and lacked flavor. The chocolate glaze was on point, rich but not too heavy. Overall, the donut was not calorie worthy.
I ordered the frittata and my fiancé ordered the Eggs Benedict. Both entrees were adequate. The frittata was a tad overdone, but they can be tricky. Our biggest disappointment were the homefries. They were so over cooked, some could not be penetrated by our forks. The seasoning flavor was nonexistent. Homefries are so easy and so good when seasoned appropriately. They reminded me of college campus homefries. We were shocked. Breakfast is an easy meal, with their complex dinner menu, I was so sure that brunch here would've been extraordinary.
$60 later, we left Ceia disappointed. I am willing to give lunch or dinner a chance, but I'll be going with one of my girlfriends. My fiancé will be hard pressed to give Ceia his business again.
Also in the winter, avoid window seats, pretty view of downtown Newburyport, but drafty windows."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2005
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Ceia Kitchen and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>