Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar Reviews List

Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar

My name is Rodolfo (Rudy) Amadio and, as new owner/manager, I hope to be welcoming you soon; I will be delighted to meet you in person if you visit. Maybe some of you already know me. My wife and I have been in the restaurant business in the Charlotte area for over 20 years, initially with the first wood fired brick pizza oven in the Charlotte area (Luisa's Pizzeria), currently with "Dolce Ristorante Italiano" (Dilworth area) and now with the brand new "Rudy's". The concept at Rudy's will be that of a neighborhood Italian restaurant, with a casual atmosphere, friendly prices for food and bar and very, very good food. For now is "arrivederci" and I sincerely hope you will come visit us soon and become a delighted patron.
See more Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar details
48 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(48 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
(24)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(33)
  • fit for foodies(19)
  • good for groups(14)
  • special occasion(11)
  • kid-friendly(6)
  • notable wine list(6)
Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/28/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A great little out of the way resturant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We love Rudy's. One of our favorite. Italian at it's best. No frills, no pretense, just good food."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of the best Bolognese sauces ever.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"OUTSTANDING! Our server was very knowledgable & attentive. Everything we ordered tasted AMAZING! The calamari was crispy, the caprese salad was fresh & delicious. I ordered the ravioli--it was so good I honestly considered ordering seconds! The sauce was so light & the pasta was full of flavor. My husband ordered the sausage & peppers dish & said it was "perfect"! We also ordered the lemon cake for dessert--so refreshing! And the foam on my cappuccino was thick & fluffy like a dream...seriously, I cannot say anything bad about our experience! We will definitely be adding Rudy's to our faves list!"
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

fabulous food with unique appetizers.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very Tasty Food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"First time visit and we really enjoyed our dinner. Menu is a bit limited but kitchen will go off menu if they are able. This was a nice surprise. Portions are just right. Filling but not over whelming. We'll be back"
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We love this place!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We love this place! Perfect for a moderate priced dinner out with truly delightful food."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Spring evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Sat night offered the opportunity to eat great food on the patio at Rudys. Small but so welcoming after winter. Wait staff was fabulous and food delicious!"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

ok

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was our first trip to Rudys. We will give it a second try as many friends have given it higher reviews. It's within walking distance from home so that's a bonus. The Bronzino (special that night) was fabulous. The server wasn't too proficient at tableside filet service however. My husband's lasagna had very little meat and pasty noodles. We ate outdoors . They do the best they can on ambiance given the small area. The music was too loud."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always good!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've never had a bad experience at Rudy's. It's a TRUE italian experience - even for Italian New Yorkers."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service is outstanding from the time you enter the door until you leave. Service staff is very verse with the menu and explains the specials with a touch of class. Food arrives promptly and is extreemly tastfull. Best value for your dollar in all of Charlotte"
Dined on 3/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Disappointment turned to Pleasurable!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Upon our arrival my friend and I were unfortunately a party of two..as in two women and more often than not, two women get the lousy seating...and it happened that we were seated right at the entrance across from the traffic pattern from the kitchen...not the best seat in the house. However, our host (Rudy) was aware of our displeasure due to the cold air from the entrance landing right on my
friends backside and feet. ..and very nicely found a wrap to put behind her chair blocking the air. Very nice touch. Also our server, Carlos, promised he would make it very pleasurable in spite of the undesirable table...and he did! It appears that Saturday night may possibly be the hot night for regulars and locals as we were told all the other two tops were reserved , we did not know to specify a table. The food was wonderful, as were the drinks and a great tiramisu! Carlos did indeed make the
dining evening very pleasurable. Will have to remember to take our husbands next time and
ask for a more desirable table.
"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always just right!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Delicious, creative good. Pleasant service. A go to restaurant!"
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Food and Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Seafood entrees were among the best we have had in Charlotte area
in quite some time. Also, our Server Brianna, was most friendly and helpful
"
Dined on 2/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Total comfort and great servers

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Felt as though we stepped into our regular neighborhood spot, even though it was our first visit. Very nice selection of salads, appetizers and first and second plates. I thoroughly enjoyed the spinach salad and my friend loved the champagne chicken. Will definitely go back."
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Consistency counts

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Rudy's is very consistent both in food quality and service. I ate at the sister restaurant, Dolce, once - and I'll take Rudy's any time. It's never overly crowded or too noisy, and from the bread to the complimentary beans, I think the food is better - and very consistent. Service is prompt but not cloying. The hardest thing about it is the parking in the little shopping center, which the restaurant does not control. The parking spaces right across from the restaurant seemed sized for mini Coopers just to fit in more of them - but go a row or two over and you're okay. I usually always see people seated in the bar area, although I never have done that. I don't really live so close by, so it wouldn't be my "drop in" place - but I can see how, if you did live in the neighborhood - it might be."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A favorite

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have been to Rudy's 5 or 6 times over the last few years. We've never had a bad experience. The food and service are terrific and very consistent. Love the bread and the food is always top notch. Go with the Veal Masala or any fish dish. My husband had the Osso Bucco and it was terrific."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Took the family for a pre-Christmas Dinner.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Excellent service, flexibility with menu ingredients, super food and a great ambience. The family enjoyed all. Definitely a place we'll return."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistently Good

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have been to Rudy's many times (I would say at least 10-12 times) this past year. Every time the food is consistently great ! We went a few nights ago w/ family (that were visitin). We all loved our food.
My one complaint has always been that they don't serve pasta with the entrees -- it is a $3 up-charge if you want it. I find this funny as pasta, in general, is fairly inexpensive and being from NY and being Italian - it just doesn't make sense. The potatoes that come with the meal are ok .. just plain oven baked potatoes... nothing spectacular. I was pleasantly surprise the other night when our dinner came with a Parmesan cheese potato. Totally brought the meal up a notch ! They were amazing to say the least. I hope they stay as a staple w/ the meals.
We started off with the calamari -- which I don't eat however my family loves it. I order it because it comes with lightly bread zucchini sticks which are to die for ! I think they should have a breaded zucchini appetizer w/o calamari.
For dinner - I had one of my favorites-- Pollo valdstana - which was chicken stuffed w/ prosciutto, mushrooms, and ? in a madiera sauce. It was delicious. 2 people had the tilapia francese and my husband had the special which was some kind of chicken dish with asparagus and cheese ? All delicious. My daughter always has the same thing -- Chicken Francese w/ pasta with the lemon sauce on it. It is not on the menu however they always make it for us.
We have never had a problem with the service in fact we think they are great. They are always friendly and attentive. We drink water and they are constantly refilling our glasses. We are always impressed that they remember us and our children and what they like to eat. At times it gets a little busy and you need to make a reservation however we love going there and recommended it all the time to our friends and on social media."
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Rudy's Italian Italian Restaurant & Bar
Based on the average of (26) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
22 out of 23 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic