Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina Reviews List

Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina

We invite you to experience a touch of Mexico’s finest cuisine in our tropical atmosphere on the 16th Street Mall at Champa Street. Our award winning salsas and green chili will ignite your senses while our margaritas will transport you to the sandy beaches and tranquil sunsets on the water. Ask about our banquet and party facility. We are conveniently located within Performing Arts, Convention Center, and many hotels.
See more Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina details
45 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
(45 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(20)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(13)
  • great for lunch(12)
  • late-night find(4)
  • vibrant bar scene(4)
  • hot spot(3)
  • kid-friendly(3)
Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina Reviews List
Review 1 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

we liked it

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I wasn't sure what to expect after reading mixed reviews. We were greeted promptly by our server, Drinks came quickly, we really liked the salsa that came with the chips and both enjoyed our meals. We will come back again"
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

2016 NEW YEARS BASH

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"It was New Years Eve and we wanted to listen to live music. We found this place right on the mall. Very energetic friendly place. Our server was nervous on her first night but after talking with her she felt more at ease and took very good care of us. The food was good but the margaritas were better! We could view the fireworks outside of the restaurant on the curbside of the mall. We had a great time."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"There were three of us and no one got the right order."
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/10/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 10/17/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/19/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great lunch spot for a quick or leisurely lunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Never had a bad meal here. They have daily specials. The crispy chili rellano is excellent as are the Tacos Dorados with crispy flour tortillas. Try it out."
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food and friendly staff

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The shrimp fajita burrito is SO good! This is definitely one of my favorite Mexican food restaurants downtown."
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was a great place for our work lunch. There were about 12 of us and we all enjoyed our food a lot."
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We loved it

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a great experience. Even though there was a very large party at the restaurant we were very well taken care of. We had wonderful service, the staff was very attentive and friendly.
We have been looking for a good Mexican Restaurant, this will be our new favorite.
"
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2009
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/21/2014
 2013
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2006
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

poor service bad food

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The only thing i can say positive about this place is that the Watermelon Margarita was good. The Queso was so thick you couldnt even taste it. We added salsa to try and make it edible. It still wasnt. It stuck to your mouth. The Fajita Nachos were burnt.
We waited for a bit before someone came and said sorry the waiter is dealing with something else. What?! So he took our drink orders. Our waiter eventually showed up with water and immediately walked away not asking for our orders. Once we finally got our food the only time the waiter came back was to give us our bill.
I was really looking forward to eating here but the whole experience was horrible."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Not up to its usual standard

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It appears we had a waiter and a waiter-in-training. We had a group of nine and everyone was given the incorrect meal when we were served. Some items were not brought out until we reminded them. I was given the incorrect credit card and receipt when I went to pay. I ordered a pork and avocado burrito. The pork was very well done. I had to pull some out of the burrito as it was crunchy. The rest of my meal was good. Our theater group normally has a very good experience at Diego's."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Mexian fair

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Diegos is fairly consistent as to food and service. The taco salad was just fair this time, very little beef.
Service pretty consistent.
"
Dined on 3/19/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

HORRIBLE!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I won't be back. From the service to the food, this place stinks. Not work the $30.00 we paid for lunch. I could have gotten better service AND food at Taco Bell. I will never be back."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2009
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

It was Okay

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was disappointed at the service. It was super slow and it took forever to get our food and drinks. Sorry I don’t think I will be back."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Why change a good thing?

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I had the shrimp fajita burrito. It was good but not as good as it used to be. Previously, they grilled and seasoned the shrimp and it was flavorful and done perfectly. Apprently, they now broil the shrimp and it's bland; it reminded me of boiled shrimp without any seasoning. The rest of the food was good, but they need to go back to how they made their food when they first opened."
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Passable food, pathetic service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I brought a party of 10 to Diego's for an early (7:00) New Year's Eve dinner. The food was fairly standard... No one raved about it, but no one complained, either. The problem was the quality of service was very poor. The restaurant appeared to have sufficient wait staff, but our server couldn't seem to get to our table more than 1x/30 min. One of our guests ordered fajitas and only received 3 small corn tortillas for a substantial amount of fajita fillings. After he ran out of tortillas, he waited >15 min to see the server and ask for more. After he put in the request, he waited another 15+ minutes and still hadn't received them. So, I went to the front podium and asked for more from the staff stationed there. The manager said "just tortillas? The kitchen isn't even that busy right now..." and promised to bring some post haste. Fortunately, he brought them fairly quickly. Of course, my friend's food was cold by this point.
Enough about tortillas.
When the server reappeared, we asked for the checks. At the start of dinner, we requested she put each couple on their own check. She said "as long as you don't switch seats or get too crazy (?!), it should be fine. All couples sat together and no one changed seats. However, it still told her four tries to get all the checks somewhat correct (we gave up and figured out the differences between ourselves). As a result, we missed the fireworks - the only reason we decided to come downtown at all!!!
We were very disappointed and I do not recommend this restaurant for large parties.
"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Diegos Mexican Food & Cantina
Based on the average of (10) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
6 out of 9 recommend this product
Food 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic