Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Back Country Brewery + Restaurant Reviews List

Back Country Brewery + Restaurant

Great Brews, Great Food, Great Views.

Tucked between Summit County’s most majestic mountain peaks and beautiful Lake Dillon, in the rustic mountain town of Frisco, Colorado, is the Backcountry Brewery. We offer great pizza and burgers as well as traditional pub grub.
See more Back Country Brewery + Restaurant details
44 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
(44 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(5)
Food 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(14)
  • great for lunch(9)
  • kid-friendly(9)
  • great for outdoor dining(6)
  • scenic view(6)
  • late-night find(5)
Back Country Brewery + Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bad food, decent beer

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The place is nice in the bar area, I would come here for a beer but the food was a huge let down, I ordered Mac and Cheese and the sauce pretty much was like a soup on the bottom of the plate, and the rest of the family's food was nothing you would want to go out to eat and pay for. They need to step up their game on the food and the menu, if in the area sort of try and go to Dillion Dam Brewery and they will do it right, the way I expected this place to be."
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/18/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 3/14/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dined on 2/27/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mediocre Food Overall

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The good news - the wheat beer and the pizza were good. The bad news - the artichoke dip was HORRIBLE and the bacon on their signature burger was so fatty that I tossed it. Our waiter screwed up our bill and our order - I ordered onion rings and received an up charged baked potato and he didn't correct our bill after I brought the mistake to his attention prior to presenting the bill. That cost him 10 percentage points off my standard 20-25% tip. So, in the future, we'll stop for a beer after the slopes and pass on the food altogether."
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/16/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/13/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Good food, Staple beers, but poor service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We went with a 6:30 reservation, when we got there it was busy. We waited for them to "bus" our table so we could sit for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes we asked and they said yes it is ready. They were very rude! The hostess was more worried about getting a better table for the boys she was flirting with. We got our beers, which were not anything impressive. We got our food which was good. For the price is was not worth dealing with the snoty hostess. Next time we plan to hit Breckenridge Brewing which is always packed, but they have better beers and alot better service!"
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2011
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/29/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Decent beer. Decent food.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic atmosphere!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Great service...fun and comfortable atmosphere! Great selection of food and appetizers! Spinach and artichoke dip is delicious! Our waitress was very friendly and accommodating! Not overly expensive... We will be going back!"
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 12/25/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was busy and loud! Great beer... Ok food. Service was very slow and we had to keep asking for refills, our food took forever.... But it was also busy..."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Sat down and waited 10 minutes only to be told boiler was out and they only had two types of beer left. The person who seated us should have informed us, but she was pretty apathetic. Don't know about the food. We didn't stick around."
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, good beer, great service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went there with some family as two of us wanted microbrews. Made a reservation for a Sunday night and glad I did as there were a lot of people. Seated very promptly. Had not been recently. Menu better than I remembered. All of group liked their meals. I had fish tacos and would like to have had corn tortillas instead of flour but they were otherwise very good. Beer excellent. Sasha was the hostess and she did fine. Explained a brief delay in getting the beers as the bar was backed up a little. Very attentive."
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2010
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

LovinFrisco

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We come here to Frisco every March and never miss Backcountry Brewery. Energetic atmosphere and great beers!! Food and service is also good, Would recommend to anyone in the area!"
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Poor Service - Worse Food

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"While they seated our group of 8 promptly at our resevered time, it all went down hill from there. Very slow service almost 3 hours to get in and out, waited for basic water refills, and order taking. Food was of subpar quality. Only good thing about the place was the good selection and taste of craft beers, food service and food quality is not there wheel house."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Beer was OK, food awful, service overwhelmed

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2009
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Service was bad, orders were wrong and good quality was not good. Nothing was cooked to order."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food was slow and terrible

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went there on New Year's Eve. Should have been suspicious about being able to get a reservation on late notice. We arrived at 6:15 and were presented with the four New Year's Eve 3 Course Specials. My wife ordered the New York Strip. 20 minutes later they came back and informed us they were out of it. Let me repeat that, at 6:15 they were already out of the first thing on their special list. She ordered the lobster and shrimp scampi over pasta which was shrimp (she replaced the lobster with additional shrimp) in a puddle of butter with pasta.
I ordered the trout. It was a decent piece of fish but overdone. The vegetables that came with it were either boiled for hours or, more likely, out of a bag from the freezer. They were textureless and tasteless.
The waiter was professional but overworked. The maitre d' looked overwhelmed.
I do not recommend this restaurant."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Back Country Brewery + Restaurant
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
7 out of 9 recommend this product
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic