Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Rasoi Indian Kitchen Reviews List

Rasoi Indian Kitchen

Eclectic Indian fare in an elegant dining-room. Indra, the God of rain, graces the entrance. Our North Indian dishes are made using special blend of spices by Chef Poonam. A full bar including four tap beers and Indian Wines to enhance your dining experience. Reservations accepted for a la carte only.
See more Rasoi Indian Kitchen details
56 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(56 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
5 stars
(16)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(12)
  • great for lunch(10)
  • fit for foodies(9)
  • special occasion(6)
  • neighborhood gem(5)
  • romantic(4)
Rasoi Indian Kitchen Reviews List
Review 1 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Attentive service. Good variety in the menu."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/29/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Compared to other Indian restaurants, food was not special. Note to self- don't Oder a Manhattan at an Indian restaurant. Terrible!!"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good eats, but pressure to choose the buffet

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"There seemed to be some hesitation for ogre serve on allowing us to order off of the menu. We really just wanted to share an appetizer and entree while we chatted. The buffet didn't offer done of the items my husband was craving, so it wasn't "worth it" for us to hit the buffet."
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was excellent. Really nice and helpful staff. Food was delicious. I am not a big fan of Indian food, but I really liked the food here. I would totally go back. I am surprised that this restaurant is so empty and has so few people, it is one the best I've been to in DC."
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect for all Occassions

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Rasoi's elegant design, laid back atmosphere and subtle ambience make it a great option for any events. The bar provides a great place to meet friends for drinks, while the tables and booths provide a nice setting for a quiet business dinner or an intimate date. The food is also superb! Picking anything from the wide array of selections offered by Rasoi and you will be delighted by the authentically delicious meal you receive. Even better Rasoi has great Gluten Free and Vegetarian options! I would not hesitate to visit again, and plan to in the very near future."
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was sub par

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food was not good, but service was good staff was friendly."
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place to eat in Washington, D.C.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have been to Rasoi Indian Restaurant located on K Street - downtown Washington, D.C. On both occasions the staff were friendly and courteous and the service has always been great. The food is very good (very spicy) which is what I really like. However, clients have a choice and can order mild or very spicy depending on his or her taste. I would strongly recommend to those who are trying to explore different cuisines in D.C. Thank you!"
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Lunch Buffet

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I love the lunch buffet at Rasoi! I made my reservation through Open Table, but for some reason the server said they cancel the reservations if you order the buffet. Open Table took care of the problem. Other than that, we enjoyed our lunch at Rasoi as usual.. If you work in the neighborhood, you must try the lunch buffet at Rasoi."
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Loved the food. Kinda dark place though, needs better ambiance;"
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/15/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/15/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/15/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Never ceases to amaze you ..

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was my fourth or fifth visit in the last few weeks. We were just 3 of us and were really having fun. The manager thought it was a special occasion. We said no, just that we hadn't had lunch together in a while. He asked us to wait after we had paid the bill, and served us with a complimentary mango kulfi/cheesecake. It was wonderful!"
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

dissapointing buffet

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Came in for the lunch buffet. The options were ok. A lot of vegetarian options and only 2 meat (chicken) dishes. The staff was slow to refill buffet line with food and restocking plates. We had a coupon for the lunch buffet, however they wouldn't take it saying it's only good on weekends. There is absolutely nothing stated on the coupon! The lady was so rude. Our office is never coming back here."
Dined on 5/19/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Terrible service. Very slow. Ordered 2 allies, but given only one. When I asked the owner says she thinks her servers made a mistake by giving it to another party. They apparently couldn't make another one. Dismal apology. Then she has the gall to say that she didn't even charge the other party. Made it sound like it was a loss to her business. That is not my problem. A small token of accepting your mistake will go a long way. Clearly this owner did not care about the customer. I would not go back."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Spices that you can savor

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Of all the Indian restaurants in the DC area, Rasoi has stood out in terms of delivering Indian food that actually tastes Indian. I had lamb biryani and Hyderabadi Baingan that were amazing. They have Palak Chaat that comes close to Rasika's. Even Spicy calamari for an appetizer was great!!!"
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very tasty.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very good menu with a nice diversity of options. Dishes were well prepared, flavorful and well portioned. Service was great - I felt like they really cared about our experience. A great place to get an authentic Indian meal. We will be back."
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2002
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food service concerns

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was really good. I wish they were slightly more flexible with changing items on the King's feast even after we offered to pay differential in price cost. It was a late dinner so perhaps the restaurant has a better ambiance earlier but for a Saturday night it was extremely quite.
Also the wait staff didn't do a good job at explaining the menu when asked. Went with colleagues from India and they too were not impressed."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Waitstaff was very kind and knowledgeable, explaining dishes we were unfamiliar with, offering recommendations. Food was nice and fresh, not greasy like you sometimes come across."
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Total waste of money

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had lunch buffet there and it was horrible. The food taste was not good and most of the curries were almost finished and they didnt refill them."
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mediocre

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My dish was fine but my friend's tandoori chicken was swapped for tandoori cheese instead. Staff did not offer to re do the order or take it off the check. The cocktails were overpriced and tasted rather bad. We were one of only two tables on a Friday night."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent food, clean and quiet

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I like going to Indian restaurant and will definitely go back to Rasoi. All the dishes we had were absolutely perfect. Service was very friendly and fast. Also, we were looking for a quiet place, so this place was perfect."
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not worth it with better options nearby

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"On a Friday night at prime dinner time, there were only about two other tables full. The service was very friendly and pleasant but the speed was still hit or miss. The bar was the most off in terms of pacing. However, I feel like they deserve a bit of slack because they generally did well in terms of creating tasty beverages. In particular, the tamarind margarita was delicious...and huge!
Naturally, at a restaurant, the food is kind of the most important part. Everything else matters, but if the food is off, there's really no reason to go back. Well, unfortunately, this is where Rasoi fell furthest short, in my opinion. We started with the assorted appetizers, and while the vegetable fritters had good flavor, everything on the plate was overwhelmingly greasy. It seemed like they were pulled from the fryer and thrown directly on the plate rather than allowed to rest and drain some of the oil, and that would make sense because they arrived even more quickly than our drinks. The samosa and potato cake--of which there were only one each--tasted so strongly of pepper that I couldn't really even tease out any other flavor to them.
For entrees, I ordered the Tava Baingan Masala and my fiance had his old standby, the Lamb Vindaloo. He was more satisfied with his, but still felt disappointed by the lack of spice to the dish. Mine was very mixed. The eggplant is supposed to be stuffed with the masala, but in reality they were just whole, bland eggplant--though admittedly cooked well--in the masala sauce. The masala was good but none of that flavor made it into the eggplant themselves. The portions were also relatively small, though at least they served enough rice to cover the dish. The best part of our dinner was the garlic naan, which was extremely flavorful and well-prepared.
Overall, there was nothing atrocious about this place, but the "meh, I've experienced better" just described everything so well."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was mediocre .Dal served was absolutely bland without any love in cooking .aloo gobhi mattar was too tangy and oily . Complimentary basmati rice seems to be seating in joy box for long hence few grains were dry and chewy. I asked for a masala tea and tea served was very pale and tasteless .waitress and another lady who was running the show was gracious and attentive(I can go back for the service)"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Option for lunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food and service was good. I would just recommend having the wines that are listed on the menu in stock especially for Valentine's weekend. I had a glass of wine and then decided to order a bottle but there was not enough. The 2nd and 3rd choices were not as good so I paid more to order by the glass. The waitress was very patient with me but I think we should have been given a discount rather than being charged per glass because the bottle we wanted to order only had 1 glass left in it. This was disappointing."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"They do not accept Restaurant.com certificates. Why is this my problem? They should not have a post on the web site if they are not part of the program. If you have a rstauarant.com certificate for this place, exchange it."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Last time I go to Rasoi Indian Kitchen!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I normally go on weekends and typically there's a lovely Indian lady running the business. I decided to try out the weekday buffet, Friday, Dec 26. Outside the restaurant there is a sign for $11.95 weekday buffet. Great I thought. The lovely lady wasn't there that day and we got an older Indian man. Service was slow as refills of water took way too long. The various dishes were barely luke warm and my garlic naan that I always look forward to and pay $4 extra for-as it is not included in the buffet-was toasted crisp and brittle and just short of burnt! No one cared to check in about the meal experience. The last insult was being charged $15.99 for the buffet on a weekday! The older man said it was a holiday so they were charging holiday prices and that they base that on the DC government and federal govt and Indian holiday schedule. Seriously, I didn't know Dec 26 was an American holiday! It was the worst Rasoi experience ever that it put me off. Food not hot, crisped dried out garlic naan,
poor service, deceptive pricing for weekday lunch buffet..... Sadly disappointed as this was a favorite of mine.
"
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We thought the food and service was fabulous. A great place to come if you like spicy food!"
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mediocore

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was average indian buffet cuisine, nothing to rave about, the server charged us for bread basket without telling us the difference between the bread basket and Naan that comes with the buffet, which was uncalled for."
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Rasoi Indian Kitchen
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
4 out of 6 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate