Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

East By Northeast Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

East By Northeast

East by Northeast reflects the Chinese-style food we serve with a focus on New England’s palette of local ingredients. Offering something both familiar and exciting, we look to the past with recipes rooted in tradition and to the future by giving those recipes a fresh perspective. Despite harsh northeast winters, we will strive to support local farms, above all committing to sourcing the best-quality ingredients. Respect for the products, culinary traditions, and the customer are our highest priorities.
36 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(36 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
(20)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(23)
  • neighborhood gem(21)
  • romantic(9)
  • special occasion(7)
  • hot spot(5)
  • good for groups(3)
East By Northeast Reviews List
Review 1 for East By Northeast
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2008
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for East By Northeast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of our favorites

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Easy By Northeast has been a favorite destination of my wife and mine for years, but even more so this winter. The revamped menu is excellent! Try the Crispy Chicken, Red Curry Lobster or any of the ramens. The small plates have kept some of the glory of the old menu intact, and we love the edamame salad and the roasted carrot in particular. Also, don't miss out on a pork bun!
The service is always friendly and personal, Blayne is awesome (as is the rest of the staff). Only one complaint, we miss your brunch!"
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for East By Northeast
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It was cozy and the staff and atmosphere were nice enough. Out of six things we ordered, only the Pork Belly Bun was delicious and worth having again. The Mezcal drink was also very good. Overall I couldn't recommend going here for anything but a drink and the Pork Bun. I don't like saying bad things about a restaurant that obviously tries, but the food was disappointing and only $14 of the $100 we paid was money well spent. Perhaps they had an off day, but I won't be back."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for East By Northeast
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Just different

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This place isn't much to look at, but the food is terrific. We went there on a busy Saturday night early with children and where accommodated. I felt badly bringing them. The food was exquisite. I specially liked the pork buns. The appetizers the other folks had at the table were terrific. For my main course I had the lobster curry which was superb. Skipped dessert because Christina's is is right down the street, but I kept wondering what I was missing."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for East By Northeast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Small plates=great variety

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Cocktails were awesome, mine with just a little spicy kick. The edamame salad was crunchy and flavorful. Carrot and squash small plates were scrumptious. Our multigenerational crew of 8 ordered different hot buns and ramen dishes and everyone was thrilled."
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for East By Northeast
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

excellent food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food at East by Northeast is innovative and excellent. The appetizers were especially good and we will definitely return. I was looking forward to the scallion pancakes and perhaps the tasting menu, but those were not available when we dined."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for East By Northeast
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

It may be tiny, but it is fierce.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We made a reservation, which turns out is very necessary on a Saturday night. Even on a cold, rainy night, the place was hopping. It's a tiny space, but the staff is very friendly and adept at maneuvering the waiting crowd with the dining patrons. We had one of those city dining cards, which finally pushed us to try this neighborhood gem.
The menu is a great size, which allows you to try many different things without being overwhelmed with options. We had the pork belly and braised lamb buns along with the edamame salad—all amazing. The sesame peppercorn sauce and sesame miso dressing are both drinkable. The cocktails didn't knock our socks off, though the sodas are all made in house (they weren't fizzy enough to my liking). However, the food made up for it. The ramen is filling and rich with a perfect poached egg floating in it. The crispy chicken is equally delicious.
Like I said, it was very busy the night we went, but we never felt rushed or cramped (a feat in a tiny, 25-seat restaurant). The staff was great at flipping tables for the next group, and we saw several groups of 5+ sit and have a great meal.
Also! The three truffles for $3 (the dessert that night) were a great deal."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for East By Northeast
Based on the average of (29) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
20 out of 23 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic