Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Czehoski Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Czehoski

Czehoski is a restaurant / bar located in the trendy Queen West neighborhood. The food focus is on classic comfort cuisine with a contemporary twist. Known for our extensive cocktail list.
58 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(58 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(24)
3 stars
(14)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(23)
  • neighborhood gem(23)
  • good for groups(15)
  • late-night find(13)
  • romantic(11)
  • hot spot(8)
Czehoski Reviews List
Review 1 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/02/2012
 2011
Dined on 11/02/2012
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/02/2012
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 04/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 04/02/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 04/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 21/03/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Medicrity

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The menu was unimaginative with very little choice. Their website indicated food items that the restaurant did not have " we are soon changing our menu. Sorry, we don't have the items on the website, " said our beautiful polite waitress.
Our party ordered hamburgers ( default food, as none of us found anything else appealing)
We ordered them well done. They came underdone with a mushy inside. The replacement burgers were only marginally better done, also with a mushiness ( as if the mixture had not been blended enough) but lacking in any taste. I heaped on salt and pepper . The fries were delicious, the salad, a mesclun mix straight from the packet with an okay dressing.
Coffee came warm the first time and hot, when we requested "may be have some hot coffee" .
Lots of apologies from our lovely waitress.
And generally, none in our party are complainers , just for the record.
"
Dined on 21/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were not impressed with the menu offerings, so we left without ordering."
Dined on 20/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Awesome food, atmosphere and location. Would definitely recommend."
Dined on 18/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Winterlicious Winner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our group of 4 came for a Winterlicious dinner. We were seated by the kitchen, but it wasn't too loud and it was nice to see the dishes coming out. I had the Roasted Beet Salad, Bacon Wrapped Filet Mignon, and the Chocolate Fudge cake, all of which were fantastic. The filet mignon in particular was a stand-out dish - very generous portions and perfectly cooked. Others had the Borscht, Pan Seared Salmon, and Blueberry Perogies and also gave positive reviews. For $25pp, this was an amazing meal value. Great service and ambiance, will definitely return again!"
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

I left hungry...

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went for Winterlicious. We really felt like we were rushed. We got there at 7 and our dessert was served before 8. I had a salad to start, it had beets and goat cheese. It was tasty but small. My main was pierogi - 4 small sweet potato and cheese pierogi on a small pile of cabbage and onion and a small smear of creme fraiche (sour cream). For dessert I had the dessert pierogi.. 4 even smaller bite sized cherry filled pierogi. Thank god my husband shared some of his meal. He ordered the beef tenderloin, which came with TWO good sized bacon wrapped tenderloins (5 oz each) with smashed potatoes and rapini. It was good steak. Can somebody please explain how both meals are valued at the same amount of money?? Like seriously the pierogi were nothing special. I expected them to be lovely fluffy tender delicious pierogi based on the fact that it's their "specialty". They were pan fried and tough and tasted basically the same at the no name brand I can get at the grocery store for $3 for a bag of 24. And to bring our mains before we are even done our appetizers?? Come on. And then to tell us our desserts will be out in a few minutes when one person at the table is still eating his main course?? It's not like they were even super busy and trying to turn over the tables...there were plenty of empty tables around us. I'll never go back."
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

I didn't like this place

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went here for Winterliscous and I felt the server resented that. My partner ordered the filet mignon wasn't asked how she wanted it cooked, after it was clear she wouldn't be asked she said that she would like it Medium Well (I know, not the way to have it but its the way she likes it), the server responded by saying it was very busy because of winterliscous (we were the only people on the third floor at this time with at least 12-16 empty seats surrounding us) and they usually cook it to Med-rare or Med. She said okay and switched her order to the perogies (pretty good perogies). I was shocked that he was unwilling to leave the steak on the grill for an extra 3-4 minutes. I then ordered the steak and said do your best to cook it Med Well (with the intent to split the steak with my partner). It arrived at our tables blood red with a cool center the rarest steak I have had and I like mine Med-Rare. Needless to say the service we received from our server was very poor."
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The atmosphere is so great and my girl friend really enjoy~ the server really patient and nicely~ one thing I want to mention is the main course has just a little amount of meat and vegetables not similar as the other steak house, although they offer large size of desert~ taste is normal. Not so yunny, just so so."
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love love love

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very groovy little place. Super quick service even though they were busy. Loved the due lighting and the overall interior design was gorgeous. Unique menu-not a lot of places in TO you can get home made perogi. The servers were total sweethearts and I can't wait to go back again."
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

slow service but good food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was really good but the service was soooo slow. Ever dish we got was cold probably because it was waiting to be brought out to us for a while. From when we finished our apps to when we got our food, it took an hour, and then they forgot to bring us the dessert and had us pay first. Anyways by the time the whole
Meal was finished I was already hungry again!
"
Dined on 09/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Just so so for Winterlicious

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Blueberry perogies we're not available as listed on the Winterlicious menu. Had the chocolate cake which tasted store bought. Dinner plate had 4 medium perogies. Not quite enough for an entree."
Dined on 09/02/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Winterlicious selection was good, quality and quantity was good value. Service was not the most attentive but overall enjoyed the dinner."
Dined on 09/02/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Get to know your wine list

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was good, but it wasn't until after we ordered wine that we learned the restaurant had run out of the selections. Wouldn't hurt for the waiters to be up-to-date with the wine inventory."
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A little disappointed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I came for Winterlicious looking forward to eating here. The dessert perogies were calling my name. I was really disappointed to find that on the fourth day of the festival, they'd run out of the dessert perogies and another dessert the night before and it was no long available. That's really poor planning although I will say the Creme Brule was good, but you can get that at most of the restaurants. I started with the soup which I really enjoyed (I love beets) and had their signature perogies for dinner. They were light and airy, but I wish that'd I'd gotten more than 5 for a main dish."
Dined on 03/02/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Winterlicious delicious

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 03/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 03/02/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great spot! Wonderful food, everyone was happy. Romantic candlelit dining. Service was quick. Desert couldve been better, creme brûlée not overly brûlée'd.. Didn't have the crunch I look forward to. Also out of blueberry pierogies so variety of pies. Tasty but would've been better warmed. Overall, great little restaurant."
Dined on 03/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointing - Never Going Back

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to Czehoski for Winterlicious and found the entire experience disappointing. When we first arrived, our waitress Erin, came to the table to take only one drink order and walked away. After 10 minutes, we had to call her back to order the other two guests' drinks. When it came time to order dinner, we were informed that they did not have two of the items (one main, one dessert) on their 9 item menu. After choosing our meals, we had the wrong appetizers delivered. We were brought another table's salads. This should have been a warning for the entree, especially when 7 of the guests received their meals and the remaining guest was left waiting. After a few minutes, we saw the other table receive their meals and called over Erin and asked her about the missing meal. Once she checked, she came back and said that the were out of steak. It was clear that they had given away our steak dinner to the other table.
The restaurant was not busy, so the lack of attention by the waitress was even more insulting and lack of menu items was not understandable. While the perogies were good, there are better places to find them in the city. We will not be going back.
"
Dined on 02/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Sammy

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Smaller portions then expected and not traditonal Uranian cuisine."
Dined on 16/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great find from blog to

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The whole experience was great. The only thing that was a bit disappointing was that it took our server quite a long time to come and offer us drinks. She also didn't introduce herself or let us know the specials or what they were out of. Also we were unsure of our server because shortly into the meal another woman approached our table. She however was super friendly and helpful. Overall great time. Would definitely return :)"
Dined on 27/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Czehoski
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Never disappoints!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Each trip to Toronto usually includes a trip to Czehoski. It's been in the neighbourhood awhile but still manages to remain fresh and appealing. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Don't bypass the cocktail menu, this place mixes some of them best we've ever had. The appetizers and main courses are comfort food, but with a flair, well executed and leave you full not stuffed. The wine list is limited, but there's enough variety even for a serious wine lover. Of note, that evening wine bottles were 50% off, how can one say no?"
Dined on 26/11/2014
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Czehoski
Based on the average of (34) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
24 out of 29 recommend this product
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate