Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Old Bay Restaurant Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The Old Bay Restaurant

The Old Bay Restaurant is a unique blend of Cajun Creole and American Cuisine, that boasts to enjoy the food as one will the vibrant atmosphere. For over 20 years, The Old Bay has presented an extremely pleasurable dining experience and an actively entertaining night life, where surely everyday is Mardis Gras.
56 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(56 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
5 stars
(25)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(26)
  • fit for foodies(23)
  • vibrant bar scene(20)
  • neighborhood gem(17)
  • late-night find(15)
  • special occasion(15)
The Old Bay Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/03/2014
 2012
Dined on 4/03/2014
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/03/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/12/2014
 2012
Dined on 5/12/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/12/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2014
 2011
Dined on 5/09/2014
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2011
 2010
Dined on 3/18/2011
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/18/2011
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Stay away

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Ordered "fresh fish" obviously frozen. Huge group of twenty somethings came in and took over place. Extremely loud!! Could not hear at all. Waitress was wonderful! Would definitely not return."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

N'awlins

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great experience with exceptional service and his food. Never rushed us out!"
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

YUM!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2006
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We came here before we went to Stress Factory. Drinks were mixed just right. I had a Hurricane and my friend had a swamp water. Good stuff!
Loved the shrimp over grits and I had a burger. I very filling and satisfying one!"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delish but noisy

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were taken to our table as soon as we arrived,Olivia,our waitress was pleasant and we didn't feel rushed at all.by the time our entrees were served the noise level was really loud. We were upstairs and there were several large tables around us.
Other than that,the portions were ample ,hot & spicy!!
"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Cajun Cuisine

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our Cajun favorites - Gumbo, Chicken & Sausage Jambalaya, and Shrimp Creole - were all excellent choices; flavorful, good-sized portions, just spicy enough.
Gabby's attentive, professional service was friendly and prompt without being over-bearing.
A great night out in New Brunswick!"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Pre-Show Meal

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were heading to the State Theater and the Old Bay was a nice stop along the way....and an easy walk to the Theater (with a public parking lot right up the street). We were seated right away; upstairs looking down on the patrons and bar below. The noise level was moderate. We're sure there are times where it must get louder but being upstairs makes the sound level moderate. Our waitress was very attentive without being intrusive. While the specialty drinks are expensive; one Hurricane is more than enough for a night. We enjoyed the food in kind....a calamari poboy appetizer was just spicy enough with its spicy slaw. My wife enjoyed her blackened mahi mahi with root veggies and my 50/50 burger was cooked as requested and very filling. We'll be back."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Cajun food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our meals were extremely well-prepared. I'm very picky about gumbo, having grown up eating it, but Old Bay got it right. The shrimp and grits were phenomenal. The shrimp wasn't overcooked. The chicken and sausage jambalaya was perfectly prepared. The beignets were delicate and light. Our server was attentive without being annoying. I'm eager to return and try other dishes."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic Dining Experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"From start to finish, can't say enough wonderful things about the dining experience. Staff was wonderful, dinner delicious, atmosphere energetic and contagious. The executive chef made rounds and spoke to diners to obtain feedback on meals; he was an absolute delight to speak to. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and pairings. Can't say enough wonderful things about our experience."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Authentic Cajun food and a must have Bloody Mary!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a great time both time that I've dined at OB. Their seafood jambalaya , duck, crab cakes, and bread pudding is a must. They make one of a kind Bloody Mary that was delicious and had an awesome presentation. Friendly staff and lively dining area. Great for chatting it up and not worry about disturbing the next table."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great place for pre or post theatre drinks & meal.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We go to Old Bay nearly everytime we go to an event, show or theatre in New Brunswick. Its a great place for pre or post theatre drinks & meal."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Too Expensive!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My drink, a Spirited Gimlet, was good but definitely not worth $12. We had a free dinner coupon, which was nice, but the bill still came to over $72 with an 18% tip for only 1 drink, 1 house wine, 1 dinner & 2 desserts. Don't go here if you're concerned about $$. Dinners were just so so - Crab & Shrimp cake, very mushy and "Dreamboat" Sole with a lobster sauce. Had succotash type veggies and lima beans were on the hard side. Rice was just OK. The French Quarter Beignets were terrible and not worth trying. There were supposed to be six, we got four. Tasted like cardboard, definitely not what you get in New Orleans. My dessert, Warm Chocolate Praline Tart, had an overpowering amount of molasses which I did not even see in the description. Totally different than what I expected. Waitress was very pleasant and helpful. It was a Thursday night and lots of tables open. Noise level was not an issue and we were seated right by the bar area. Street parking was a bit difficult but you can use the hotel lot across the street. Will not be going back."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful Valentine's Day

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The hubby and I had a fantastic Valentine's meal here...delicious and authentic food, great selection, and wonderful drinks from the bar. I loved the cheerful decor and the jazz music, too. Definitely a fun, lively, welcoming place."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Overall the food and waitress service was great. However the hostess seemed confused when I mentioned my reservation. The hostess then said to me that "They were clearing off my table and it would be ready in a minute or two". Fifteen minutes later, as I saw others being seated, the hostess asked me if I would mind sitting in the bar area. which I accepted."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food. Awesome service.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Celebrated a birthday here with family. Great quality food. Jambalaya was excellent. Waitress Caroline was awesome. Would definitely come back to try other dishes."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

GREAT SELECTION OF BEERS

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"FOOD AND SERVICE HADS BEEN CONSISTENTLY GGOD EVERY TIME WE GO."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice inside and food was very good.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"nice inside and food was very good. Service was also good."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Service was very slow - when we arrived we waited about 15 minutes to be seated - perhaps the normal host was not because the person at the desk did not seem able to find any of the reservations - 3 people ahead of me were having the same issue; food was good"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for The Old Bay Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A bit too spicy

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We've been to Old Bay a number of times. The food this time was good but spicier than normal. All of us (party of 4) felt that there was too much spice in the food."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Old Bay Restaurant
Based on the average of (34) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
32 out of 33 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic