Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Herbs and Rye Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Herbs and Rye

Herbs and Rye is a step back into time, offering some of the worlds greatest classic cocktails prepared in their original state and method of preparation. Elegant lighting, educated staff, excellent happy hours, and an excellent kitchen are all what makes Herbs and Rye the place to be. The kitchen offers a full menu at all time ( 5pm - and serves everything from excellent steaks, flatbreads, and pastas, to a unique appetizer menu - all which are excellent compliments to classic cocktails. Herbs and Rye is a trailblazer when it comes to its Beverage Program, receiving some of the cities "Best in Las Vegas" awards one year out the gate . Come on down to Herbs and Rye and get your classic cocktail fix and an excellent dinner!!
109 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(109 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
5 stars
(54)
4 stars
(35)
3 stars
(12)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(6)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(49)
  • fit for foodies(40)
  • vibrant bar scene(40)
  • late-night find(37)
  • special occasion(35)
  • hot spot(27)
Herbs and Rye Reviews List
Review 1 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/22/2014
 2007
Dined on 2/22/2014
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I love this place!! Especially the cocktails and their happy hour on steak!!"
Dined on 2/22/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The Mob (Scene) Still Lives

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Okay, so it's not a mob bar, but it still has that ambiance with the red velvet wall paper an half-round leather booths. Quiet and extremely dark, it is romantic and the drink list is substantial. Cocktails will take you back to the 20's. Happy Hour includes food and makes this place one of the best values in Las Vegas. We come back often."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food & drinks for a reasonable price!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Happy hour from 5-8, half of steaks, select dishes, and well drinks. Great locals only find."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Unique Cocktails

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Happy Hour menu is fabulous, Cocktails are very delicious!"
Dined on 5/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Need to make reservations

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was pretty good. A bit on the upper scale in price and portions aren't that big either! Over all we had a great time with friends and the drinks were delish!"
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2000
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2000
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2000
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Mixed feelings

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Amazing deal on steaks during happy hour - until 8p! Calamari was delicious, but the house chop salad was swimming in ranch. Some drinks were great while we had to send others back. Creamed corn was really runny and truffle mac & cheese didn't taste like truffle at all."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Steaks are great!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"2nd time there and again fantastic food! You can not go wrong here. Appetizers and main dish were just right."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent steaks and love the happy hour for half

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Happy hour does not include any cocktails. lame.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a well balanced aviation. server was a little odd. place is so loud with music he had to hover over our table to hear us. good clam linguini was half off for happy hour. super disappointed that happy hour was only specials for food and well drinks. for a cocktail bar u would expect to have at least one of the cocktails on special. geez. that was lame. A place known for its cocktails should have them on a happy hour program. duh."
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2012
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2005
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A hit this time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Been here several times and it is our go-to steak house. The food is always great, but service has been hit or miss. It was great this time. Maybe just because it was early and not too busy. Wine and water never ran dry (a common problem anywhere). Attentive, but not overbearing."
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A rare gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was great! The happy hour prices included entrees as well as drinks and appetizers. It reminds me of the dinner houses of the past."
Dined on 4/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A exceptional steak dinner!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The entire experience was wondertul! We were seated by the bar which provided great people watching. Our vintage drinks were awesome! Our waiter, Ron, was attentive and had answers to our quesitons about the food. He did not steer us wrong! The spicy tomato mussel starter could be a meal in itself with a bit more bread (do not waste the delicous broth) All of the steaks we ordered were cooked perfectly...varying from medium rare to medium well. Sides were all good with one exception...the brussel sprouts were not cooked well enough so too hard to eat but the bacon in the dish was delectable. Asparagus and truffle mac/cheese were perfect. All in all it was a great dinner that started off a great evening! Will go again and bring more friends next time."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Value

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was our second time to dine here. The food was once again great, steaks are awesome, service was very efficient and you can't beat the value for the price! The only downfall is how dark it is. You need a flashlight to read the menu. A bit more light would make the restaurant more enjoyable."
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best cocktails in Vegas

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Herbs & Rye is a hidden gem off the strip you don't want to miss. The food is excellent, but the cocktails are the real hit. Incredibly helpful and knowledgeable bartenders guide you through the myriad of libation options and ensure your drink is absolutely perfect. This will be a spot we hit on every future Las Vegas trip in the future. Well done Herbs & Rye team!!"
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2013
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Always a great experience at this place! Best bartenders in Las Vegas! :)"
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a pleasure!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I love it here, don't get to come often as I'd like but the food is delicious, the drinks are even better, and the bartenders are awesome! Great place to catch a drink with an old friend or celebrate an occasion with friends."
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Half price steaks

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I love that open table provides 1,000 point credit for this restaurant ..we have been a couple of times even getting regular points.the best part next to getting 1k points is the half price happy hour menu .steaks half price,drinks half price,..love it ,same quality food just a few hours sooner .it is very dark most patrons use their cell phone to see the menu.the bar fills up very fast so does the bar seating in the booths so make that reservation ..thanks open table ..happy eats"
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Don't judge the book by its cover

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"If you need a break from the lights and noise of the strip, Herbs and Rye is just the place. Situated just a few miles off of the main drag, this dark and delightful speakeasy offers good food, great drinks, and attentive service. We came by after a show and grabbed a cozy booth in the bar. The next fifteen minutes were spent perusing the substantial drink menu. It is arranged by eras, from the Gothic Age to the Revival Age, with great drink names like the Corpse Reviver and the Scofflaw. I had to resist the urge to time travel through every era and settled for the highly recommended Last Word, a mix of gin, green chartreuse, maraschino, and lime. It didn't knock my socks off, but the alcohol content was more than adequate. My husband opted for the stronger Brown Derby and gave it two thumbs up. We ordered the margarita flatbread as an accompaniment and it was crisp and tasty.
On to round two: I decided to be bold and ordered the bartender's choice. Mark, our bartender, asked a couple of questions about my preferences, then went to work. His pear-infused creation was absolutely fabulous. So much so that I ordered another. It's a good thing they keep your water glasses topped off.
Herbs and Rye was just what we were looking for - off the beaten path, with great cocktails and a friendly, comfortable vibe. If you are looking for a quiet place for a nightcap, consider a visit. This is on our Vegas must-do list."
Dined on 3/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great spot

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2010
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Fifth time there... always great food and great drinks. Fun spot."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

The service was the worse I have ever experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Hire new help in the entire place. Teach staff how to check on tables and apologize , spoke to management and they were aware of the situation. Three out of four dishes arrived correctly. The fourth fish was returned and corrected. It took an hour for main course to come out after our salads. The free dessert offered took another half hour to come out after it was offered. The chick came and it was incorrect. It was for five entrees. Just a total disaster The owner should be concerned that this happens nightly."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Angela

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We weren't too sure what to expect after the mixed reviews about the service, but we went in with open minds. We arrived about 15 minutes early for our reservation and were seated immediately. A couple of minutes later the waiter came and introduced himself and asked if we ate there before. After hearing we hadn't he explained the happy hour items and gave us time to go through the drink menu. He then came by and took our drink orders and dinner orders. Excellent meal, drinks, atmosphere, and waiter. All were excellent. We will definitely go back. and when friends from out of town are visiting Herbs & Rye is where we will be taking them out. My only regret is that we were too full after our meal to try dessert."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a very nice experience. The steak was really good. I would ask for light salad dressing. Trendy spot in an unexpected place. It felt like we weren't in Las Vegas which is always fun."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great reading about all the background on the drinks. Enjoyed adding my own twist with the various toppings for the steaks. Loved the hot donuts with the dipping sauces."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Poor service, food arrived b4 our drinks.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I had to order our second round of drinks from the bar. Server must have gotten lost. Would never go back, nor recommend this place."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

steak!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The steaks here are amazing! Try the chimichurri sauce. We also had the sweet Thai wings, truffle Mac, smashed potatoes and truffle fries. All were exceptional. Service is slow though."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tucked Away GEM of a Steak House

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We recently took a trip to Vegas and wanted to have a nice dinner out without paying Las Vegas Stip prices. After checking Trip Advisor we ran across Herbs & Rye and decided to give it a try. We were a little skeptical because the catch for getting a deal on dinner was to go during Happy Hour (4-8pm) where all the steaks were listed for half-price. Getting a steak at half-price seemed almost too good to be true, but we booked a table for four at 5:45 pm and took a shot. WOW! Were we glad we did!! We had a wonderful experience at Herbs & Rye and would definately recommend it to friends and family and to anyone traveling to Vegas. The restaurant IS a bit of a drive off the strip, but so worth it. The outside of the restaurant is very non-descript but once inside all that changes as you enter a pretty dark, 1930's speak easy joint. It was fun and entertaining, but you might need your cell phone to see your menu if you are a little older and seated in the bar area as were. Our waiter was FANTASTIC and walked us through the menu and food selections. We are not drinkers, so we did not view the wine list or try the bar, but being seated in the bar area gave us an indication that the drinks and wine were a hit with the patrons inbibing and the specialty drinks list in the menu was extensive.The bar area was a little noisy, but very high energy. My husband and I both had the 9 oz. filet mingnon, and they were superb. I had mine with blue cheese and bacon and it was absolutely delicious. Our friends had theirs with a charrusco dipping sauce that was equally delicious. The steaks were processed and hand cut and they were tender and wonderful to eat. Side dishes were varied and unique and our choices included roasted brussel sprouts with ham & parmesan as well as Jalepeno Creamed Corn. We would truly recommend you trying Herbs & Rye the next time you are in Vegas. Dinner for 4 without alcohol ran about $100.00."
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Happy hour no so happy

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wife and I went with two other couples. Service was slow and they kept getting drink orders wrong. When we finally got our food it was good. We went specifically for happy hour because of how it is advertised but We died when we received our bill. They bill you at full prices and tax to that. They also take an automatic gratuity for groups of 6 or more which is also based on the full price. Needless to say we paid a 30% tip and charged double on the tax. We paid more for the happy hour than if we would have just paid full price. Well thought out on their part but I know six people who won't be back."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dinner!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went here on a recommend from someone else. Food was amazing and the drink menu as well. They have happy hour pricing for food and drink which made ordering a $58 steak an easy choice.
Highly recommend this place and the great staff! Make sure you reserve a table though. It's not a big place and seating goes quick."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Really enjoyed the happy hour 5-8 pm where all steaks are 50% off. For example 24oz Rib eye for $30 and regularly $60."
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

"I love this place, this was my third time there."

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Every time I have come to Herbs and Rye the staff is attentive and professional, the steaks are perfectly cooked to order and with little to no fat on the steak. This place is perfect for a monthly date night on a budget, if you make reservations during they're happy hour times. I will be returning!!!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I Dine her frequently and I can say we have never had a bad experience. I work on the strip and recommend this place to many guests. Excellent food and inexpensive during happy hour."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Sat us in a very dark corner under a speaker

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I had a hard time reading the menu and hearing my husband. The bus boy topped off my Perrier with tap water. I ordered a filet mignon medium it came rare and semi warm. Waitress was un-engaging."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Old Vegas for Hipsters

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2010
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"When in Las Vegas get off the Strip for at least one meal. The Happy Hour here (5-8 p.m.) includes both half priced drinks and steaks. Our party of four had drinks and steaks for $200. The bill would have been double in a casino steak house. The only draw back for this place was the very laid back service."
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Steaks

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The steaks are very good; however, don't be taken by the 1/2 price happy hour special on the steaks. The "special" really gets the steaks to a price you would expect to pay for a good steak.
Be sure and try the donuts for dessert."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2005
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our Service, and meal was amazing!! Highly!!
Recommend .. Happy Hour @12a fabulous! As was our waitress, waiter & runner!!!
"
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was fabulous. Services was anything but.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our waiter was the pits. It was over 15 minutes after our drink order, that our food order was taken. Then another 5 before our drinks finally arrived. The gentleman who delivered our salads took better care of us than our waiter. The waiter never came to get us refills or see if we were enjoying our meal. At one point I had to ask the hostess for another beverage because He was nowhere to be found. Food was very good. Brussels sprouts were phenomenal. Filet and ribeye had great flavor and were cooked to perfection. Next I'd make sure not to get the same waiter."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Is it a Steakhouse? A bar? You decide!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is either a steakhouse that serves classic cocktails or a cocktail bar that also serves steaks. Either way, the steaks are honest and well-prepared, the sides are tasty, and the cocktails are excellent. Only real complaints are that the music is rather loud (bar-like) and the light level is low enough that many diners resort to their phone flashlight function to read the menu. Overall we really enjoyed our visits - we ate here twice in a five-day trip to Las Vegas!"
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Herbs and Rye
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

late opening, but good as ever

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We made 5PM reservations (as retires we try to get in ahead of the crowd) and waited almost 15 minutes in the parking loot after their posted opening time before they unlocked their door. That being said, the food was delicious as ever - steaks tender, cooked just right. I have not yet found a side dish I didn't think was tasty and enjoyable, plus the service was excellent. Must have been an off night as they did not have any bread pudding - darn."
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>