Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk

Share in a one-of-a-kind celebration of music and culture as BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk takes you on a musical journey through the life of the "King of Reggae." Bob Marley’s songs of faith, hope, rebellion, and determination have brought inspiration and joy to audiences everywhere. Working closely with Rita Marley and the Bob Marley Foundation, we have created a replica of Bob's home on 56 Hope Road in Kingston, Jamaica. Inside, artifacts, photos, and video clips from his legendary career surround visitors in the open-air veranda and courtyard.
The cuisine features Jamaican-influenced appetizers, entrees and desserts. Some of the most popular items are the Oxtail Stew, the Sun is Shining grilled chicken breast marinated in Jamaican curry sauce, and the Taste of Jamaica appetizer platter featuring veggie & beef patties, mango wings and yucca fries.
35 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(35 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(12)
  • great for outdoor dining(11)
  • late-night find(9)
  • vibrant bar scene(8)
  • hot spot(6)
  • special occasion(6)
BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk Reviews List
Review 1 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/13/2014
 2014
Dined on 4/13/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/13/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/04/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2013
 2009
Dined on 11/07/2013
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/07/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2013
 2010
Dined on 5/09/2013
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/09/2013
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/27/2013
 2013
Dined on 8/27/2013
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/27/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, open air dining.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We loved the Smoky White Cheddar fondue appetizer and warm Coco bread. I had the ackee and saltfish dish and really liked it, though I was tempted to try the Oxtail Stew instead. Maybe next time. Really enjoyed the Warm & Breezy cocktail as well. Didn't realize it was open-air/outdoor dining. if it's cold, bring a jacket."
Dined on 1/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious food, but a little loud

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My party and I had an excellent server, and most of us enjoyed our food very much. My chicken curry was amazing, and I loved everything on the appetizer sampler! However, one member of our party was unhappy with the fried fish. I loved the decor, and the singer/steel drummer was a very good musician. However, the music was a little too loud for the early dinner hour. I thought it was completely reasonable (especially since this restaurant is named after a musician!), but some members of my party were bothered by the volume. Unless you are sensitive to loud noises, I definitely recommend this restaurant. I plan to go back the next time we're at Universal!"
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Good food, lovely courtyard. We weren't there during a live performance. Great, strong drinks!"
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

an experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Listen to Marley's music while eating really good authentic Jamaican food. Fun, friendly, upbeat history reminder."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Geeat Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our first time here and we loved it. Food is great. We had to wait a little but well worth the wait. My wife had the Oxtail and it was tasty. Our server was (can't remember her name) was great. We will be back next time we are Universal Studios."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

It was ok.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Experience started well, welcome was good. Food was average, service became rushed and bill arrived immediately after finishing main when we said we did not want dessert right now as we had only just finished our mains. Still had a full drink left and felt under pressure to leave.
Was really looking forward to the experience and felt let down. A real shame.
"
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Taste of Jamaica

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"First the restaurant is located away from the main walking traffic which is great. The restaurant is full of Bob Marley memorabilia which is great for taking pictures. The food was great to, we had beef patties, vegetable patties, oxtail, and ackee and saltfish. All taste great and seasoned very well. Last the drinks was amazing. Just remember you pay for what you get and we had a really good birthday experience with a free slice of cheese cake. ."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Was disappointed in the quality of the food.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Look else where. Ambiance was good, the food; not so much!"
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2007
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food was pretty good, not huge size portions

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food was good, I was with 12 people and they accommodated us with our reservation with no wait. Service was a little on the slow side but overall I would go back."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Come for the food, not the experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was fantastic. Hot & tasty. Never saw the drink menu until after we ordered. The lighting was dimmed and it lay flat on the table. Noticed another waiter going over the menu and the drink menu at the other tables. He really made their experience fun and made them feel as though they were on the island of Jamaica. Our waitress did her job, but not much else. For a theme restaurant, at a theme park, we expected a bit more."
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and scenery

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Terrific food, great drinks and awesome music! Will definitely go back"
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Simple, yet special.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/05/2014
 2012
Dined on 11/05/2014
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Decor created to resemble Bob Marley's birth place - rooms of home where he grew up, and his back yard. Cozy atmosphere, videos of Bob Marley on several screens, rustic food served in wooden bowls, friendly place. Our kids loved the place. This was the least greasy meal I had during my one- week stay at Universal Studios, so my stomach really enjoyed it."
Dined on 11/05/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unique food, surprisingly good!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I travel to Jamaica for vacation now and again. I didn't expect much when my husband suggested going to Bob Marley's. I was pleasantly surprised at our excellent experience at this City Walk Orlando restaurant! Their Jamaician sampler appetizer was very good as well as their Ackee and Saltfish! I loved the callaloo as the side dish. Our waitress was outstanding. Very attentive and smooth service. I was very pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed our meal at this restaurant. I would definitely go back again!"
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food Needs an Upgrade

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The atmosphere is okay in this restaurant, and service was average. However, a restaurant should have good to great food that people want to eat, and this was not present at Bob Marley. No one in my party including the children liked his/her food. The food lacked taste, presentation, was very dry, and not worth the money paid. This restaurant also has a very small selection. I would not recommend this restaurant if you want good food or even a snack."
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Great for Music and Dancing if you like Reggae!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I would only recommend this spot for the live band and the DJ. The food was horrible! It lacked in taste and authenticity. We sent back every entree that we ordered except the wings. I guess it takes a lot of effort to mess up wings. The great Robert Nesta Marley would turn over in his grave at this poor excuse of Caribbean cuisine. Get it together people, it's not that hard."
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2011
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"A fun restaurant! Food was good and so was the service!! Only wished live music started before 9, seven o'clock would have been great!!"
Dined on 11/25/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for BOB MARLEY - A TRIBUTE TO FREEDOM at Universal CityWalk
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
10 out of 14 recommend this product
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic