Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Chicago Chophouse Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Chicago Chophouse


The Chicago Chophouse is excited to announce our new location!
237-8th Ave SE 403.265.3000
The historical Burns building, backing onto Olympic plaza.

Mr. Burns was Calgary's first millionaire, his success came from providing great cuts of beef through his butchery, and keeping in that tradition The Chicago Chophouse offers only the highest quality steak cuts available.
Please join us for lunch, dinner or after work for a palate tingling splash of wine

38 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
(38 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
5 stars
(2)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(9)
  • great for lunch(8)
  • notable wine list(6)
  • special occasion(6)
  • romantic(3)
  • scenic view(3)
Chicago Chophouse Reviews List
Review 1 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/05/2009
 2011
Dined on 29/05/2009
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 29/05/2009
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Ok but not Special

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We decided upon this place because of its proximity to the theatre and that remains its most notable attraction especially on a cold winter's night. Aside from a few changes in the decor, it is practically identical to what was there before and was, therefore, quite tastefully done. Our booth was both quiet and comfortable although some may find their seats a bit on the firm side.
I ordered the 10 oz. rib eye steak while my wife ordered the mac and cheese with a truffled mushroom side. The waiter said it was a white tiger mushroom dish but we couldn't tell the difference in appearance from regular Money's mushrooms. Nonetheless, it was our favourite dish that night and serves to illustrates our mild disappointment with the rest of the dishes.
Firstly, the mac and cheese, while flavourably passable, didn't arrive hot enough to warrant a $22 price tag. As a chophouse, I was expecting more from my steak too and what arrived was a rather bland and overly done item I felt would have been better done on my own grill. Although the waiter took pains to show us the various cuts before ordering making a special note of the marbling, what I got was certainly leaner than presented and left me feeling disappointed.
That's probably my biggest "beef"; this is a restaurant that seems to disappoint not because the food is inherently poor but because the price and expectation of quality isn't met by their delivery."
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Expected more!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The decor and ambience is wonderful. We choose this location due to its proximity to the theatre. The staff were very attentive and we were seated immediately. We shared the calamari appetizer which was very good - fresh and cooked to perfection. Two of us had the French onion soup which was a disappointment as it was very bland. The gentlemen had the house salad which they enjoyed - it was fresh and the dressing very tasteful. We all had steak which was medicore at best. They were tender and cooked to our satisfaction but serving temp was lukewarm - a good steak needs to be served hot not lukewarm. For a restaurant of this stature we did expect more. We will try again as maybe they were having an off night."
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Pretty average for the price

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was disappointed by this place as I thought e food and ambiance would be much better The service was very good (only 2 tables were full) but the steak was average. I would try somewhere next time."
Dined on 24/04/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Chiphouse

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Not like the old chophouse. Food was good, service was ok. New Year Eve live band was good but at times too loud. Old chophouse was darker more private seating, service was better. Old was a 9 out of 10. New is about a 6.5 out of 10."
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not all change is good..

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had frequented the previous Chicago Chop House location before their relocation and were looking forward to seeing what the new and improved version had to offer, unfortunately we have crossed this restaurant off of our list of favorites and will not be going back. The new spot is beautiful, however, the menu is a disaster and nothing compared to what it was previously (which is why we wanted to go back). If you're going to pay $50.00 for a steak you would like it to be cooked properly and have semi decent sides served with it and not have children running rampage through the restaurant. The only saving grace was the service we received, but even that will not bring us back. If you were a fan of their previous work in the kitchen it has not followed them to the new location, we will be looking for a new steakhouse!"
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lunch Meeting

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"There where 5 of us, they called in advance to confirm the reservation and made sure our group was aware of the new location. We where seated promptly, The service was fantastic, our server was well informed of the menu and selections, a member of our group was Gluten intolerant and they where able to meet his needs as well. Service was quick, food came within in 20 min of ordering, which considering the restaurant was full, i thought it was impressive. I ordered Steak and it was cook to my liking, and everyone seemed to enjoy their meals, the ambiance was a little loud but we where able to speak comfortably enough and still have a "private" conversation.
Overall a great experience."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was good, could use more vegetarian choices, but over all service and food were very good"
Dined on 16/12/2014
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

great service, nice restaurant, steak not so good

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"steak came a bit warm to cold... other than that all was good and price was fair. Would go back but will enfasize on the temperature of the steak."
Dined on 19/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Maybe, minus the service

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/12/2014
 2009
Dined on 20/12/2014
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Overall it was good, would I recommend it to a friend, maybe, minus the service. Our waitress was busy flirting with a booth behind us, which is whatever, except for that we had to hear all the conversations. Our table was for four, and we were only two. It was a bit awkard as we felt like we were in a spot where a table shouldn't have been. We felt as though we were at Montana's. The steaks were great, the truffle butter is a nice touch, and so was the Pinot. Cheers."
Dined on 20/12/2014
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner with Theatre

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was pressed for time to pick up my date, drive downtown to dine and enjoy Theatre Calgary.
Chicago chophouse is a good solution as you can leave your coats in the car and stroll on in.
Our waitress checked on us constantly which for me is a good thing. We both ordered the special of the day which was lamb, mashed potatoes and seasoned vegetable. I misunderstood and thought it was going to be mixed vegetables... something I would have preferred over an oven baked piece of tomato. The wine bottle was presented and decanted and our glasses were always filled by the waitress. What more can you ask for?
"
Dined on 17/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Chophouse Xmas Lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Overall the food was good , service was Ok , took quite awhile to get the main noting that it was busy that day . Music was too loud for a xmas lunch , more like a nightclub... Classic rock though :)"
Dined on 11/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not that great

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I might have just gone in with higher expectations than I should have, but I felt that for the price I was paying the food should have been more than "alright". I can't say that all the food we ordered was bad, the appetizer was amazing, and the desserts were above average. But the main course, we all had steaks, were average."
Dined on 13/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 01/12/2014
 2014
Dined on 01/12/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I had been given gift certificates to this restaurant some time ago, and this was my first visit. I had great expectations from what I had heard about the place. Although the food was good, I wouldn't consider it outstanding. The 3 in my party all ordered steaks, and all felt the steaks were not cooked exactly as ordered. When you have good cuts of meat, this isn't a real problem in my mind, but as a high end steak house with high end prices, the beef should be exactly as ordered. Overall, it was a good experience, and good food, just not anything to jump up and down about."
Dined on 01/12/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chicago Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"love the new location, as it is by the Epcor Centre, with underground parking.
Could be nice to have a few more choices for vegetarian, as there are more increasing numbers of non-meat eaters nowadays.
"
Dined on 27/11/2014
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Chicago Chophouse
Based on the average of (22) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
11 out of 20 recommend this product
Food 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic