Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Charlie B's Reviews List

Charlie B's

This fun, vibrant restaurant is a Stowe tradition with a festive atmosphere. Celebrate the trendy side of Vermont in our friendly cozy bar abundant with your favorite wines by the glass, martinis, and local beers. Cozy full size high-back booths and fireside tables are perfect for couples night out and lively family excursions. Share a slice of Vermont with delicious, mouthwatering American and Spa Cuisine created with many locally grown and produced foods. Choices include Angus Beef Steaks, delicious and filling entree size salads, mouthwatering seafood and Cabot Mac & Cheese on a Kid-approved menu. Summer brings deck dining and winter, après ski and live music on select weekends.
See more Charlie B's details
36 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(36 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(9)
  • kid-friendly(9)
  • vibrant bar scene(6)
  • fit for foodies(5)
  • neighborhood gem(5)
  • great for lunch(4)
Charlie B's Reviews List
Review 1 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

food was decent bar food. Not great but good.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We didn't have reservations and wanted to go watch the game. We were in Stowe for a conference and this bar was perfect for what we were looking for. Very friendly waitress staff and the food was good as was the beer. Nothing exceptional but very solid."
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We enjoyed our dinner here. We were seated not far from the bar and there was a large group of very loud people there but the hostess apologized and we didn't mind that much. Just know that if there's a happy hour or special or something you may find lots of bar patrons. Obviously the restaurant can't control people who happen to be loud! The food was very good and we enjoyed our dinner. Our server was really great."
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We Really Enjoyed This Restaraunt!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was great, service was very good, views were nice, very friendly staff! This is a surprisingly good dining experience!"
Dined on 10/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2012
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I like it.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The NY strip steak was cooked perfect (Medium)!!!!. Service was attentive to our needs. The place was hopping after 6pm."
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Okay

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"As soon as we entered there was a smell. Old food? Fish? We could not identify. Thought about walking out but we were tired and hungry. I had the Turkey dinner and my very easy going husband had the grissel loaded Prime Rib. He couldn't even cut with the knife. They were out of the first two wines we tried to order. But they did give us a nice wine for the cheaper price. And the host we a very nice friendly man. We shared laughter with him."
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Pub style

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2006
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Nothing Impressive!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was not impressive. Everything tasted like it was pre-made by Sysco and heated up. Not the home style food you'd expect from VT.
The service was slow. Our server forgot our order and came back to ask questions. She appeared to only have one other table, so it wasn't because she was busy.
The restaurant had a moldy scent.
There are so many great restaurants in Stowe. This is not one of them.
"
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Awesome service and great food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Stayed at Stoweflake attached to Charlie B's. Pleasantly surprised at the service and quality of food which was a casual walk around the corner after long day skiing. Completely causual and kid friendly. Prices comparable ,if not better than surrounding areas without a drive. "In room dining" room service excellent as well and delivered within 30 minutes.Request microwave in your room to heat it up a bit."
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a delightful light dinner at the bar at Charlie B's . We will definitely return."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not recommended on any kind of a busy night.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were told as we were seated that a number of parties had just been seated at the same time and it might take our server a few minutes to get to us but that she would take good care of us. It was Valentine's Day so we had made a reservation and were not surprised it was busy. That said, it took 15 minutes to see our server. It then took OVER AN HOUR to be served. During that time, our drinks were refreshed. But there was never an update, an offer of an appetizer for our wait, or an acknowledgement. We were finally told, "Your food will be right out. Sorry for the delay." One in my party loved her meal. Mine was adequate, but not very warm. The third did not much care for his steak. I understand kitchens get busy. That's one issue. The other is how you treat your customers while they have to wait and just letting them hand for over an hour is not good business. It could have been handled so much better so that we would not only want to come back, we would give them a good review."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Terrible - long wait, cold food

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Please do not go here.
On a busy MLK weekend, we were able to get a reservation for 6 at 6:30pm on Sat night with little notice (should have been our first sign to stay away).
We arrived and were seated promptly. Our waiter asked for our order, and brought our drinks (and said he would bring some bread/butter). 20 minutes later he arrived with some stale bread, and said they had ran out of bread (?). Over one hour after we ordered our food, it arrived cold (this was after numerous times we asked our waiter to get our food). I suspect they only have 1 cook, for a large restaurant, and only 2-3 servers (never saw any busboys), so the under-resourced eatery was a waste.
I never write reviews, but I wanted to make sure no one else has to endure this (or at least chooses to do so in full knowledge)."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Basic food

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was basic. I had fish and chips which could have been hotter. Either the waitress or cook made a mistake with my husbands order so his entree arrived approximately 7 minutes after everyone else's. It is kid friendly so the dining room was loud with kid noise. There are many better restaurants in Stowe so I won't be inclined to return."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2012
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Pub Fare

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Found Charlie B's to have a pleasant tavern atmosphere and menu."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Charlie B's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food was very good, service from Bre was awesome!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had a variety of dinners and they were each very good but the service from Breel was incredible. She made the experience memorable and wonderful. What an extraordinary person Charlie B's is lucky to have!"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Charlie B's
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
6 out of 10 recommend this product
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic