Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Chedi Thai Bistro Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Chedi Thai Bistro

We invite you to savor a distinctive home cooked meal. From traditional Thai favorites, to unique vegetarian creations, every dish is conscientiously prepared with healthy balance in mind. We shop at various produce and specialty markets daily in order to serve you the freshest and highest quality ingredients. Your meals are cooked in olive and canola oils, and the only flavor enhancers we add are love and creativity.

Our menu was inspired by the favorites of the original Thai cuisine in Thailand. Come, be our guests and enjoy the experience of contemporary Thai dining.

30 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(30 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • great for lunch(8)
  • neighborhood gem(8)
  • good for groups(5)
  • late-night find(2)
  • romantic(2)
Chedi Thai Bistro Reviews List
Review 1 for Chedi Thai Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2007
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chedi Thai Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/25/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chedi Thai Bistro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

What a Shame

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We looked forward to having Thai food on our visit to La Jolla, at a restaurant that used to be one of our favorites in the old days: Royal Thai, now Chedi Bistro. The restaurant could be attractive, but it is not kept up well and looks a bit shabby and lackluster. From beginning to end, it was a disaster. We had a reservation, but when we arrived they said there was no table, even though clearly there were some open. We didn't get any attention for the first ten minutes, until my husband asked the man at the desk for some water. We did not seem to have a designated server. One young woman came once and apologized for the wait. Except for that high point, we had to ask for everything, and no one checked with us to see how we were doing. Long after we were finished, we had to ask for the check. The food was OK, nothing memorable, but pleasant. The service was non-existent, and the servers were clueless. The kitchen seemed slow and disorganized, and not all the food came at the same time. They don't seem to care about their guests' welfare at all. This is a shame and unfortunately inspired me to write this review to protect others from a disappointing experience."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chedi Thai Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

It was okay

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Thai food scene in San Diego isn't too great, and this place was average compared to the rest. The menu was quite Americanized, which was a down for me since I wished that everything had more heat. The steamed mussels for appetizer were nothing special - just seems like they steamed some previously frozen mussels. The entree was good - I got green curry and it came with rice. The dessert wasn't too great. The friend bananas are not fried in a batter, but wrapped in wonton wrappers, They were lukewarm (not hot) and chewy (not crispy), so they seemed like they were sitting under the hot lamp for an hour before we were served. At the end of the night, the server casually dropped off the check for us without a single "thank you" or even a smile, which was disappointing.
It is on the more pricey side for Thai food that I could get elsewhere, so I'm just going to save money next time and go to the hole-in-the-wall, more authentic Thai restaurants that I am used to."
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chedi Thai Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Thai gem.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Was lucky to pick this place for lunch while visiting La Jolla. Some of the best Thai food I've had. Flavorful, appropriately spicy...so tired of toned-down bland Thai...great value. I'd highly recommend this place."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chedi Thai Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Mixed experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The ambiance is nice, the service friendly but disorganized. We waited too long for ordering and food and beverages. Some of the dishes were tasty while others left much to be desired. Too expensive for Thai food!"
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chedi Thai Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not a good one

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We (a family of three) are Thai food fans and have visited Thai restaurants all over the world. This allows me to say that this is probably the worse Thai food that we have ever tried. The soup that was supposed to be medium-hot was almost sweet; the pad thai was made with a different kind of pasta and a sweet sauce; the lamb had too much pepper. Desserts were not bad, though. I had stiky rice and my daughter had taro. I am sorry to give this negative review but I think it could help the chef to improve its cooking."
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Chedi Thai Bistro
Based on the average of (23) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
17 out of 20 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic