Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant Reviews List

Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant

Voted Best of PIZZA Readers Choice 2010

This is not your typical Pizzeria.....Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant has been serving North County for over 25 years. Find out what San Diegans have come to love with over 25 gourmet pizzas, innovated pastas and delicious salads, the selection is amazing. From house-made lasagna, to chicken tortellini with artichoke and sun dried tomatoes, to gluten free pizzas made your way, there is something for every taste. Try the BBQ Chicken Pizza or choose from one of their many delicious toppings to create pizza YOUR way. A delicious basket of homemade garlic bread comes with every meal.

They even have their own pastry chef, Nikki Schaeffer, whose daily creations include chocolate peanut butter mousse, to Jack Daniels Pecan Tarts. She can personalize any order through custom cakes and baking.

See more Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant details
22 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(22 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(5)
  • kid-friendly(5)
  • neighborhood gem(5)
  • great for lunch(1)
Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fine Neighborhood Restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My wife and I dined here recently with our two sons while visiting them in La Jolla. We dined here once before on another visit. Both times the food was good, the service and ambience okay. The prices are quite reasonable by La Jolla standards."
Dined on 4/11/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Didn't match up to reviews. Not impressed"
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2005
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/24/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food but so-so service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've eaten at Leucadia on a number of occasions. However, recently the quality of service seems to be getting worse and worse. The last two times we have gone there, we were promptly seated. However, that is the point where the waiting began. In both instances, no one followed up to get our drink orders for at least ten minutes. After flagging down our waitress, I made some comment to the fact that we were starved and thirsty, because we had been sitting there for some time with no attention, and she made a joke about it instead of apologizing for the delay. Then we got our menus, and put in a drink order. Our drinks (including water and bread for everyone) took forever, and we had to ask about them twice before finally getting them (after an unusually long time). I wondered if perhaps they were crushing the grapes in order to make wine to satisfy our drink request. The food took even longer, and the restaurant was not very crowded at the time, so we struggled for why everything was so delayed. Our waitress Kayla seemed nice, but she was terrible about checking back on us in a regular fashion, and any additional request (like another drink or more water) took an exceptionally long amount of time. I've always loved Leucadia's food, but I'm afraid that the bad service may lead us to only do take-out from the restaurant. This decline in service seems to be happening recently, so wondering if the restaurant is trying to get by with fewer servers, or if they have changed managers, or if there is some other reason why the service is going downhill. If you decide to eat here, I'd suggest not being in a hurry or particularly hungry when you go there, as you are liable to have a long wait. :-("
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good yet unique experience

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The three friends and I went here to celebrate two of the girls' birthdays.
We lived in the neighborhood for a while, and all of us have heard about this place numerous times, but it was all of our first time trying the restaurant.
The walls are filled with paintings and the color scheme create a warm feel. We were seated at one of the booths, and the seats were comfortable.
We ordered Spinach Salad and Thai Pizza. The Salad was good as expected. Thai Pizza was definitely unique. It wasn't bad, but none of us were convinced that "Asian ingredients" on pizza dough was fitting or appealing to our taste buds.
The waitress didn't come by often, but was nice when there were interactions. One thing I was a bit disappointed about was that, despite the additional note I made on my reservation log along with the call I gave them as a reminder regarding the birthdays, I had to remind / ask the waitress regarding the birthday notes. When this was brought up, she simply said, "Oh there was no notes about it". For I have contacted them twice for this matter, yet there was no update on it, I was definitely disappointed.
Other than that, overall it was a good experience. I would say this would be a chill neighborhood place to spend time with family or friends."
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not Open Table-worthy...

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I have become spoiled by Open Table. I make about 98% of my restaurant choices using it and have never ever been disappointed. This time was different. I took some out-of-towners to La Jolla this weekend and wanted some place close to our hotel to dine at because we had been driving around all day. It was a bit run down, the ambiance was nil, and the food was just barely so-so. Our waiter we great but he really couldn't compensate for the lack of everything else. It was a neighborhood place to be sure but nevertheless, there are standards I expect for Open Table and those standards were definitely not evident here."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Leucadia Pizzeria & Italian Restaurant
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic