Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Vega Mexican Cuisine Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Vega Mexican Cuisine

Authentic Mexican at Hartsdale.
NY Times " Real Mexican,Right Down To Dessert"
ZAGAT Rated

Vega Mexican is a traditional Mexican restaurant offering its customers a large variety of fresh vegetables, meats, pleasing dining area with striking contemporary design and stylish bar which offers a wide range of cocktails.

Our restaurant features classical Mexican favorites such as Enchiladas, Quesadillas, Chille Rellenos, Carnitas, Shrimp Veracruz, Tacos, Fajitas, Burritos, Shrimp Ceviche, Guacamole, Tortilla chips which are all freshly prepared on premises.
16 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(16 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
(3)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
3.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(8)
  • good for groups(5)
  • fit for foodies(3)
  • kid-friendly(3)
  • great for lunch(2)
  • vibrant bar scene(2)
Vega Mexican Cuisine Reviews List
Review 1 for Vega Mexican Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/29/2014
 2013
Dined on 6/29/2014
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Been here twice, once for an anniversary, then with family. Be being Mexican culture, I can appreciate the food, but the plate was a bit small. The service was great, the ambience was great and as a sports lover, there were plasmas to watch the game. The only thing I didn't like about the place was that there was no parking lot. I had to constantly feed the meter.
Overall, it was a great experience and I highly recommend it."
Dined on 6/29/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vega Mexican Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vega Mexican Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/01/2013
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vega Mexican Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Where are our chips?

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Why should I have to ask for our chips? When you go to a Chinese restaurant, noodles are put on the table within seconds of arrival. We waited 5 minutes before asking.
My steak taco was a little dry. Ask them to serve yours moist."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vega Mexican Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great last minute NYE reservation!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My boyfriend and I didn't have plans for NYE and decided to check out what reservations were still available in the area. We made 8pm reservations and I am so glad we picked this place. It was our first time, and being that it was NYE, the service was slower than I expect it would be on a normal night. The food was delicious (avocado fritters were amazing) - it took a little while for our server to come over and ask what we wanted to drink, but it was busy and we were not in a rush.
We will definitely go back and just hope that the service is better. Would definitely recommend Vega as a date night spot or even for a group."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vega Mexican Cuisine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Vega takes its food seriously...

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"As a gluten free vegetarian I usually find not only limited selections, but ones that seem to matter a lot less to the chef! Not so at Vega. I had Vegetarian Enchiladas Suizas which were well-prepared and filled with actual, fresh veggies (not the usual zucchini and onions!)."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Vega Mexican Cuisine
Based on the average of (10) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
10 out of 10 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
3.4 / 3
Energetic