Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro

The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro is a restaurant revolution. Our living wine list, fine food and affordable pricing all add up to the perfect dining and wine shopping experience. Need a bottle of wine for dinner? Our wine shop offers a great selection from the world over. With over 800 wines to choose from, The 3rd Corner offers a wide selection of wines for every budget. From hard to find collectibles to everyday quaffers, our staff is here to take the mystery out of your purchase. Our ½ case and full case mix and match discounts offer great value and unbeatable pricing. Looking for great food? Whether it's a bite to eat or that perfect anniversary dinner, our menu offers a wide variety of delectable choices for the most discerning palate. Our full menu is available from 11:30 am to the wee hours of 1am.
160 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(160 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 160 reviews
5 stars
(66)
4 stars
(67)
3 stars
(19)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • notable wine list(114)
  • neighborhood gem(74)
  • fit for foodies(67)
  • great for outdoor dining(51)
  • good for groups(46)
  • special occasion(35)
The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro Reviews List
Review 1 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/17/2014
 2006
Dined on 7/17/2014
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Fun place
Great for Foodies
And...of course, you can choose your wine from their wine shop to have served @ your table!
"
Dined on 7/17/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent value. Service was a little slow.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Loved the food and drinks excellent value on wine. Understaffed and somewhat slow service that
night
"
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2007
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Can't believe this restaurant is closing. So glad that we were able to eat here."
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We will miss your restaurant and wish you were not closing"
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not good enough

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We used to be regulars at third corner. The food was consistently good and occasionally great. Then I heard the chef had left so I delayed returning. We had a couple of bar meals in the mean time, which were OK. This was our first return to the restaurant in a while and it was so disappointing. The Baked Brie to start was good but served with green beans which seemed a strange choice. The main courses were very disappointing. I ordered the Short Rib pasta, which had a watery tasteless sauce, huge quantities of tasteless pasta and a few pieces of short rib. My wife ordered the fish special, she declined the mashed potato and ordered a side of fries (usually a safe bet and delicious) and extra vegetables. The fries arrived cold, contrasting my pasta which seemed to have been nuked in the microwave. The veg served was a mixture of overcooked broccoli, asparagus and turnip which had clearly been sitting in a pan somewhere because it was falling apart when it arrived. We sent the veg back and got another side of vegetables, not overcooked but covered in oil.
As usual , the wine selection and price was outstanding but the quality of the food has definitely taken a turn for the worse. Sad to say that this is our last visit to the restaurant."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and wonderful service!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Six of us had dinner here for the first time and it was a fantastic experience. The food was delicious! The wine selection is amazing! Our waitress was the best! Can't wait to go back!"
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always a Pleasure

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a special place with a huge wine selection. You select your own wine and they serve it at the table. You can find great wines at good prices. The bar is fun and lively and there's a separate
part of the restaurant which has quiet tables. The food is never a disappointment and has some
unique choices. Their flatbreads are wonderful and reasonably priced. It's a little difficult to find the first time one visits...near Panera. It's a wonderful experience and I would recommend this restaurant.
"
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Another great experience!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We came to 3rd Corner most recently for the Sunday prix fixe dinner special and, as always, weren't disappointed. Fun to "shop" for a wine to accompany our meal (adding only a $5 corkage fee), a warm welcome, outstanding food and beautiful presentation, and attentive service. You can't go wrong here!"
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great wine choice.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Ambience fun and upbeat. Great flatbreads and mussels with fries excellent.
Been here with groups of 3-6 and all love it and will come back. Unique.
Appetizers delicious as is every dish we have tried in the many times there.
"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been to this restaurant on 3 different occasions. All three times we have had great service and great food. The staff is very attentive and the food is creative. Being able to walk through all of the various aisles of wine and pick and choose what you would like to drink is an added bonus. They have a nice bar area, a main dining room and also have quite a bit of outdoor seating. This has become one of our favorites in the desert."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

"DELICIOUS FOOD ON THE DESERT"

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We absolutely liked this great restaurant! Wonderful & delicious food. The Executive Chef has fantastic seasoning & blending of ingredients. Salads are fresh & super tasty. Pasta dishes amazing. Of course choosing your own wine from the store & paying only corkage, it's a winner. Service is fabulous. The outdoor patio super cozy & delightful. One of the best restaurants in the desert."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

always a great meal

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"we've been here several times and always have a great meal. we enjoy shopping for our wine in the 'market' area and they have a very good selection of wines that aren't generally available in the store."
Dined on 3/25/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wine Pricing the best

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We always visit 3rd corner when in town if only to encourage them to continue their wine pricing of retail + $5. Large wine shop selection at and below retail. Great food choices for many types of wines."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun Place

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our second trip in two weeks, this time with friends. The food is consistently good here and coupled with the opportunity to select one's own bottle of wine from their retail shop and bring it to one's table, it makes for a nice experience. The one drawback is that both times we have had servers who seem new. The service wasn't bad mind you, just not up to the rest of the evening. I'll go back certainly and recommend you do as well. Just don't expect seasoned, experienced and highly capable service."
Dined on 3/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Thursday Night

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Nathalie, our server, is extraordinary and makes every visit a treat.
We introduced a new couple to the restaurant. They were very pleased with their meals and plan to return. The flatbreads were fresh and delicious. Our guest really enjoyed his duck confit entree. We all had beet salads, especially good."
Dined on 3/24/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food and wine were outstanding. Our booth was comfortable and waitress most helpful in menu selection."
Dined on 3/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everything on the menu looked so good it was hard to pick one thing to eat for dinner! The soup was broccoli and cauliflower with a pepper oil that brought some heat to the dish. My husband had the short ribs which fell apart and melted in your mouth. I had the chicken breastfeeding stuffed with dates, almonds and blue cheese wrappedIn bacon. The combination of the sweet, salty, and blue cheese made it hit all my taste buds. Definitely will be coming back to try more!"
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Another great experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is our third year of going to the 3rd Corner Wine Shop and Bistro. As the name implies, the wine selection is outstanding. This year we were able to secure an outside table which made the whole experience that much better. Would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are in the Palm Desert area."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not what I recall

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I went back to 3rd Corner for dinner. The food was good and not great. The service was un-attentive. It's fun picking out your own wine and they do have a very nice selection. And although our food was good, the lack of attention by our server just could not be overlooked. We'll likely go back but it just was not what it has been in the past."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Consistently good

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was our second visit and came through again. Both times here, we have had a wine by the glass recommendation we liked so much we purchased bottles for home. The menu selection is quite varied, something for everyone. The food is consistently good and service consistently friendly. There is a main floor and slightly elevated level. Main level is preferable as the slightly elevated gets noises from service"
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

excellent evening

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My boyfriend and I went to 3rd Table for a nice evening out of the house. We were so pleasantly surprised by the amazing wine selection and - best of all - the very reasonable prices! The food selection was also fabulous. We had a really hard time deciding on what to eat. I choose the truffle risotto, which arrived piping hot and was absolutely delicious. My date had the pork chop which was also awesome. We are looking forward to going back to try some other dishes!"
Dined on 3/19/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always delicious.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Consistently good food. Amazing wine store. Love the experience of eating here plus the food is just great."
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Place for a Great Meal

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"could not fault this restaurant, service was great, food great, it was hot and extremely flavorful a very different menu to choose from. Highly recommended. The online reservation process worked fine"
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Interesting and tasty menu. However, we ate on the patio (which was very nice) but our server, who had several inside tables, neglected us. We felt like second class citizens."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

our new favorite place in the desert

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"food is great and you can dine light on delicious flatbreads or have a whole dinner. being able to buy wine at cost to have with your dinner is a real treat"
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/24/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nice to be able to choose a wine from the hundreds in the wine store and have it with your meal. Good was good as was the service."
Dined on 2/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Every time I eat here the food is outstanding! The wine selections in the retail store are excellent. Having such a large selection is a plus for dining. You buy the wine in the retail section at retail prices and pay a $5 corkage fee. Can't beat that."
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and wine!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is a favorite of mine. Kinda off the beaten track but worth finding. They are known for their extensive wine list and great prices. There are cases of wine stacked up all over the restaurant. The menu has lots of great items in every catagory. I've never been disappointed with anything there. Beautiful decor with high ceilings, carpeted floors and large banquettes as well as regular tables."
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unique experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is a different place. As others have stated, you pick your wine in the retail store. Wines are all prices .you then have your meal with the wine. $5 corkage charge. The night we were there it was a bit loud in our part of the restaurant.
We would return.
"
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Definitely a repeat

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our group was seated quickly and the unique concept was promptly explained. Wines were reasonable in price and there was a great selection. Food was well presented and we all enjoyed our dinner."
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great Wine Selection

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The concept of going into the wine store section and choosing a wine, bringing to your table is a fun idea that keeps me coming back. Three times I have enjoyed myself at 3rd Corner, but each time I left less than impressed. Each time there has been uneven service. At times the waiter seems to be hovering, but then when we actually want something, not to be found. This last visit the waiter forgot that one of us had a dessert as a part of the prix fixe menu. The individually ordered desserts came and were gone by the time the 3rd dessert appeared The waiter also forgot the "doggy bag" and we actually had to get up and find her, when we waited 15 minutes to ask for the check. I really hope the get control of the service, because I really like the wines."
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Novel concept, very good food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had no idea what to expect. Enjoyed schmoozing the wine selection (reasonably priced) and then taking our bottle to the table. The wait staff extremely attentive and pleasant and the food was yummy. All round good evening out"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very enjoyable meal for each person in our party.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our server Natalie made the meal a lot of fun. She was very clear and thorough describing every dish. The food was timely, the correct temperature, and very tasty. The meals were exactly as the menu described, and as the waitress described. Prices were reasonable. Wine selection is large and extremely reasonably priced."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good food in nice ambiance. Great service.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had dined at 3rd Corner a few years ago when it first opened and hadn't returned until the other evening. It was a pleasant surprise. The food was excellent and the service superb. It is combined with a wine shop where you can choose wine to be served with your dinner."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not redeeming on any level

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"this will be my first and last trip to this restaurant. It misses on all levels. We sat for close to 10 minutes before our waiter appeared and he seemed to be very new on the job as he had to read the specials (only two!) to us from his notebook. We had to flag down a passing wait person to refill water glasses. This is the most basic of the restaurant services you should expect. The food itself was just "tired". The chicken schnitzel was too thick and overcooked and both that dish and the yellowfin were highly oversalted. Our waiter neighbor NEVER came by to ask how the dinners were and we only saw him again when he brought dessert menus. As a final misstep, the food bill was miscalculated. There are lots of improvements that need to be made here, but I will not be stopping by to see if it happens."
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2011
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing lately

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've been coming to this Bistro all year with friends, but the last two times have been a disaster. We ordered the mussels and sent them back twice -- bad, smelly. What can I say? My friend tried the London Iced Tea and the bartender messed that up (tasted awful; sent that back, too) -- how does one mess up LIT? That night our server was great in spite of the food mishaps. But the next weekend we tried again and sat in the bar. Well, that server had a real attitude. We stayed for a quick lunch and left. What's going on at the Bistro? We used to love this place??????"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

No

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"When we called to get a specific direction, the lady answering the phone told us she was unable to help us. Our server was not very friendly, and it took an extended period of time to get plates removed (the waitress would not take them and told us to wait for the busboy). The food was pretty good, but wouldn't return due to the poor customer service."
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

This time, a little disappointing.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We often dine here since the food is pleasant, sometimes even wonderful. Not so much the evening after Valentine's Day. Two orders were the Flatbread selections and the bread was tough as if it had been stale and warmed over. The duck confit that I've enjoyed before tasted dried out as well. Maybe just an off night."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Vast retail wine selection

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/11/2015
 2005
Dined on 2/11/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Any bottle of wine from the retail side of the business can be served to diners for a mere $5 corkage fee."
Dined on 2/11/2015
 2005
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Oh dear!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We hadn't been to this restaurant for a few years, however, the mussels, my favorite came to me not at all hot. Of course, I couldn't tell my waiter as he barely ever appeared. A spoon for my mussels....sure, appeared when I was finished. Very disappointing!"
Dined on 2/11/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pleasantly Surprised

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This place is a fantastic restaurant, especially if you like wine! They had so many excellent choices, including one of my favorite cabs, 2010 Wynn Coonawarra Estate. The service was excellent and the noise level was low. My new favorite night spot in La Quinta!"
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not great

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"WENT for Sunday prix fixe and didnt have entre as advertised in email. Food very ordinary. Good value wine with their $5 corkage"
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great for wine lovers

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Ocean Beach location has been a favorite when I am down in San Diego. We have been meaning to try the dessert localization and finally had the opportunity this weekend. Food was 5 star and had the pleasure of meeting the owner too. Wines are very reasonably priced and browsing the "store" for a bottle of your choice makes the experience even better."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We enjoyed our dining experience overall but did have some disappointment with one of the specials, bison ribs, which came out very charred and over cooked. The individual with us that had ordered that special did raise a concern to the waiter but the waiter brushed it off. However, the manager did come by later and asked about our meals and responded appropriately to the one complaint by having it replaced with another meal. One of the other specials ordered was described to us by the waiter as seabass but the manager later explained that it was snapper. That said, the individuals who ordered it were very pleased with the meal quality and definitely enjoyed it.
Two or three of the individuals in our dining party noted that the waiter was not quite as attentive to our table as he should be but overall he was very courteous and pleasant.
"
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nice setting with good food and service. A little loud for quiet conversations but not so loud that we didn't enjoy ourselves. Really appreciated the variety of wines from which to choose. We would recommend 3rd Corner to friends and will definitely return."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great wine list, but...

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have dined here in the past, and we have always had great meals. I hope the food we had Thursday night was the exception and not the new rule. Four different pasta dishes, all just below par. You pay a lot for a few pieces of chicken, beef, or shrimp in the pasta dishes. We have not given up on 3rd Corner; we will try it again in the near future. We will, however, ask for a table and not a booth for four. The immoveable marble-top tables are way too close to the booth seats, and we were all uncomfortable while trying to eat (no, none of us is overweight). What saved this night out was the wine, of course...."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for The 3rd Corner Wine Shop & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Ok, not great

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Server was nice & bubbly, wine good, but kitchen was extremely slow. Our reservation was at 6:15, we were served our food at 8:00.........pasta, pork chop & sliders. Food was average.
We may go back, but probably not again this year, or maybe never. I would put it in the "nothing special" category
"
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>