Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Ernesto's Italian Restaurant Reviews List

Ernesto's Italian Restaurant

Ernesto's Italian Restaurant is your home away from home. Authentic Italian food at affordable prices. Don't miss our baked clam appetizer while enjoying our warm garlic olive oil bread. Everyone has their favorites and everyone walks away full and happy. Come hungry, leave happy knowing you'll be back.
See more Ernesto's Italian Restaurant details
30 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(30 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(13)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.4 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(21)
  • good for groups(9)
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • special occasion(6)
  • kid-friendly(2)
  • notable wine list(2)
Ernesto's Italian Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2006
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent Italian Restaurant in Sunset

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Great service. Excellent Italian food. Highly recommend."
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Busy restaurant and slow service as a result

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Waiter was very patient and friendly but I think he was the only one serving the whole (small) restaurant on Christmas Eve so we had to wait for a long time before we could even ordered. Food was good overall."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dinner 27-Dec-2015

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Ernesto's is a great neighborhood gem! We have been dining there for well over 20 years, but over the course of time we're noticing that the quality of both food and service are slipping and the prices rising to once was a restaurant you could enjoy as a casual meal out to now becoming more of for special occasions only. My favorite dish is Chicken Ernesto's and their pizza is fabulous!"
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have been dining at Ernesto's for 23 years and have never been disappointed. We moved to San Diego, but still eat here every time we visit. Always excellent!! Thanks Ernesto!"
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The veal picatta and sauce was cooked perfectly.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A great dining experience - food was superb, wait staff friendly, even charming, at a incredibly reasonable cost. My entire dinner party, four ranging from 15 - 24 were absolutely delighted. It's really hard to delight those guys. Go here for a wonderful dining experience."
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent tasting food and outstanding service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Worth a Return Trip (or more)

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Ernesto's is truly a little gem of a restaurant! The host/waiter Doug immediately puts you at ease and feeling welcome. The prawn and artichoke pasta special was out of this world, fresh and delicious, with tender prawns and lovely artichokes, mushrooms and tomatoes. He brought a birthday dessert for my friend one the house, an excellent tiramisu! I definitely recommend Ernesto's to anyone who loves good food in a delightful setting!"
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Richmond District Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was my second visit to Ernesto's Italian Restaurant and I wish I had found it years ago. It was easily one of the best meals I've had in a very long time. This corner neighborhood place served me one of the best pieces of Scottish Salmon ever! The fish had a beautiful grilled crust, and was served on a bed of perfectly cooked fresh spinach, accompanied by a good size wedge of polenta covered with a mild, but tasty tomato sauce. While I started the meal with a cup of very authentic minestrone, and several slices of tender garlic bread, I didn't think I'd finish my whole entree. But it was too delicious not to eat it all! My friend and I each had a glass of very good house wine, and at only $7 per glass, we felt we got a bargain. The service was spot on, no rushing, but attentive at all times.. I will definitely make many return visits to Ernesto's!"
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Just Perfect

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We celebrated a birthday last Sunday at Ernesto's. There were six at our table. We started with the fried calamari. It was how it should be, crisply fried, not rubbery and served with lemons and plenty of cocktail sauce. Four at the table had the Salmon and they raved about it. Two of us had the pork chops served with a sweet and tangy relish. We were very pleased with the pork chops. Doug, the head waiter was attentive and warm and good humored. The service was top notch. We had an enjoyable experience."
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/02/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Father's Day/belated Mother's Day/dad's birthday

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Parking was quick and it wasn't crowded at 5pm. Our waiter was very welcoming, friendly and attentive. The free garlic bread was a nice surprise. The good was delicious...caesar salad, calamari, fettuccini Alfredo, linguini and clams red sauce, and our favorite chicken rigatoni. The fresh blueberry bread pudding and spumoni ice cream cake was yummy! Definitely will be back. ;)"
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I'll Return Again

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a wonderful unpretentious eat resturant, friendly hosts behind that Say Hello to the Chef Jimmy. The rest of the evening,Enjoy. Double thick Pork Lion if your Lucky. Cheers"
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sweet!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The poached salmon was incredible. The atmosphere, sweet! You can have a conversation. Fresh flowers. Maurice was our waiter and we loved him."
Dined on 4/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Non-Asian on Clement!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Came here from the south bay, based on a referral from a friend who's a long-time SF resident. Food was very good - the six of us each had something different - and the wait staff was funny and attentive. Great atmosphere, too. We'll be back!"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not really worth it

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This place has a tired SF feel; food Lacks quality and presentation. The waiter thinks he is a bit of a comedian which he is not. Nice guy but too many superlatives of food that is not superlative. The special was east coast salmon. It was poached poorly. And was dry, which I think you have to try to do! The sauce did not make it any better. Salad was ok but when we asked if we could have the Caesar salad without anchovies, he lectured us in them always being in the dressing no matter what anyone says...please!"
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Ernesto's Italian Restaurant
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
5 out of 5 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic