Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Tokyo Blue Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Tokyo Blue

Tokyo Blue is proud and pleased to present you with one of the most intoxicating cuisines, inviting ambiances, and experienced staff for a night you will definitely remember. Chef Mai's dishes are a blend of Japanese and Thai, with a hint of Peru, creating an exotic blend of flavors and nuances that will please any discerning palate. Also dine personal with Chef Danny at his sushi counter to experience first hand his many artistic sushi creations. Tokyo Blue has an inviting character and charm that embodies a modern, casual and upbeat atmosphere. Combine our great food and ambience with our talented chef and experienced staff, your next dining experience or event will be one to remember. Come see why South Florida's newest and hottest restaurant an lounge is quickly becoming the name on everyone's lips.

55 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
(55 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
5 stars
(16)
4 stars
(14)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(9)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(16)
  • special occasion(15)
  • fit for foodies(13)
  • romantic(13)
  • great for outdoor dining(12)
  • vibrant bar scene(12)
Tokyo Blue Reviews List
Review 1 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I loved this place. Staff was polite. The food was amazing. I went back to months ago and they are no longer in business. I was very upset about this."
Dined on 9/29/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great sushi!"
Dined on 10/05/2013
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Tokyo Blue has a fantastic setting. It's right on the beach, tastefully decorated, and situated inside a modern hotel with comfortable waiting lounge and timely valet service. The food is above average but not a top 10 spot. They have a special on Weds nights for all-you-can-eat lobster which is typically when we visit although the lobster lacks any seasoning whatsoever and therefore lacks in flavor. We have tried a few other dishes and the seafood bisque is excellent."
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great Food, not the best service. Waited 1/2 hour for soda and a glass og wine."
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was our second visit and it didn't disappoint. The service is always excellent and the cocktails are always a full pour. We had the poppers as a starter and they are homemade and excellent. Our entrees were delicious and we will definitely return."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

delish

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was delicious. Sushi very good and steak excellent. Atmosphere is clean and lovely. Service is friendly. Wednesday night lobster the best."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pricey but good..

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"They advertize all yoy can eat King Crab Legs but do not tell you they are $209, yes $209!!
Four legs were $109, good bt not worth that price. And the Stone Crabs were tasty but five were $55 and not much meat in them.
To pricey for what you get!!!"
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Waited almost an hour with an open table Res

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"In all fairness the manager did buy us a drink because of this.. They had an unlimited lobster night every Wednesday night which is why we went
We also do the same at kitchen 305 occasionally in Miami Beach
we had a discount coupon from a restaurant.com it was for $25
The waitress would not take accept it
Kitchen 305 always takes and takes it from us even though it was at what they call a " special" It was annoying. However. The lobster was cracked and delicious. :)."
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Poor Cooking

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I went for the all you can eat lobster and every one of the lobsters I was served was overcooked and the shells were burnt. The meat was very tough and this place turned me off of lobsters for good. It's a good thing though because now I won't be tempted to go blow 60.00 bucks every couple of weeks on lobster. So they did me a favor! It took forever to get my first plate but after that they came quickly. View was beautiful and the blue theme was cool. The food was just bad. I would not recommend this place."
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our bartender Veronica was excellent.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Prior to placing orders we asked our bartender if our restaurant.com voucher would be honored and she stated it would. However, the host upon providing check did not honor coupon and also attempted to keep Veronica's tip which we had left at 25% of bill in cash and it wasn't until we asked him did he provide the cash back and we paid left our tip on the credit card.
The food variety and delivery time was exceptional."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great find in a hotel.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Never would have guessed such a nice place on the ocean would be in a hotel. Food was excellent service was great and helpful. Will definitely return and recommend to others."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Tokyo Blue

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"we had a wonderful meal there. The Sashimi was fresh and delicious, and the Basil chicken was the best I have tried."
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not all that ...

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We dined late on a Saturday night and were the only patrons. The restaurant itself was small, with nice touches but nothing spectacular. Somehow I had gotten the feeling this place was a hot spot but experienced quite the opposite when we sat there all alone. There was only 1 server and 1 greeter so they did not anticipate a crowd. The service was decent, food wasn't bad but overall it failed to leave an impression."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic food and atmosphere

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We actually ate at the restaurant two consecutive nights. Greg our engaging server the first night; Derek the second. Both very knowledgeable of the cuisine. The meals were outstanding ; food all of us enjoyed. We strongly recommend experiencing the service and selections of the Tokyo Blue"
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice art

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"the restaurant itself is gorgeous. nice pieces & areas to take pictures. the sushi & ceviche is really good. the other food was ok. the drinks are watered down. a little disappointed that my party was the only customers there. but hey overall I think the restaurant has potential
to be a hit spot
"
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

The waitress didn't know the specials. subpar food

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This place is a joke, dont waist your time or money."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Our time at Tokyo Blue

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Not bad but not great. More BLING than substance. The bar area is nice but the seating is cramped and smaller than expected. The service was decent but not outstanding. The food is good but overpriced for what is being served. There are much better sushi places in the Greater Fort Lauderdale area. this place in on the beach so that is a plus."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

There was only a limited Valentine's Day menu

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We ordered sushi for an appetizer; pretty good.
My husband had the crispy duck; very fatty and cooked too tough inside.
I had the caramel sea bass; delicious!
Our dessert was a heart-shaped chocolate cake with chocolate mousse filling; I recommend it.
Our server, Tammy was very pleasant and helpful.
Overall: it was ok...I've heard rave reviews of their all you can eat lobster or crab night, maybe I'll try that."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/11/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/11/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was terrible the Sushi was mediocre and the parking (valet) was horrible. The valet parking was really bad losing patrons keyes and our car was damaged in their care which we didn't notice until the next morning. My bad! There are too many nice restaurants to try, stay away from this one!"
Dined on 2/11/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great for a casual dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I booked this restaurant to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. Nice atmosphere but I was looking for something more hip such Hakkasan.
This place is inside a old resort, nothing fancy.
Food is okay, music is okay ( was not too loud )
Perhaps the location they have in Miami is nicer. But Tokio Blue in Ft Lauderdale I don't think I will comeback, it didn't impressed me at all.
"
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

worst service I can remember in quite some time.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Manager defended his servers' incompetence..
Our server screwed up our order 3 times. She did not even bring our food out at the same time.
horrible horrible little manager defended the behavior.
Food was also well over priced for the lack of its quality."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Tokyo View of the Oceanside

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The place is nestled between two tall buildings with an oceanview that's to die for. The food is good, the service is good, valet parking is good. In summary, a gooder place to go to."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unexpectedly delightful experience!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2013
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"the food was great....the waitress, Tammy, was FABULOUS ! Very friendly staff and a large menu with lots of very interesting items. We had 2 different appetizers ..both were great and we really enjoyed out main course...I had Seafood ramen noodle soup....it was delicous..the shrimp and mussels were large and cooked perfectly"
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Love it!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We tried the "all you can eat lobster" on Wednesdays. Very good. They have a wonderful Asian menu as well. Tammy, our waitress, is SUPER. If you go ask for her. Only drawback---very loud!"
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

awful experience

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"bad start to finish. No one at the front to seat - had to flag over a guy in a plaid shirt and jeans - turns out he is the manager - should have left then. 15 minutes to get a server to take the order for drinks and apps - drinks came fast soup took 15-20 minutes. They had only 2 servers and they were also the bus and table cleaners - yuk from wiping a table to serving food!!! Meals took another 15-20 minutes - One mean came after the others were done 20 minutes late! Wait staff was really overworked - poor staffing. They should have stopped seating tables as the mgr claimed all were walk up, but went ahead and filled the place up - lots of very unhappy customers. 12 OZ beer served in a 16 OZ glass - looks shorted - not a good presentation. Soup was different but good. Entrees were all poor - tempura was not at all light batter - more like a hush puppy! Seemed like sand in the veggies of another. The mgr comped one meal - the entire meal should have been. Place has potential but is far from our ever going again."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

The restaurant is "broken."

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The service was so poor that any redeeming qualities that the food had were missed. Once our drink order and food orders were taken we did not see the wait staff for almost an hour. With four diners, two entrees came at one time and the other two arrived ten minutes later. My first two enter choices were not available, duck and crab. Our experience was so poor that I will never return."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Known for their sushi

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was very good. I don't eat seafood so the menu was limited for me but my husband LOVED it!"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2002
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The lobster feast is interesting.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The lobster was fresh and endless. A lobster overload is definitely possible. The side dishes were adequate but not worth noting. The service was excellent and ambience interesting if a bit worn."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Tasteless food

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It was a very disappointing experience. The rice was definitely not jasmine rice, vegetables bland, tasteless. Shrimp salty, French fries tasted nothing but grease. Expensive awful birthday dinner. Gordon Ramsay would have told the chef that he completely lost his passion for food and he shouldn't be in the kitchen..."
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Everytime........always good

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"as usual every time we eat at Tokyo Blue the service is always fast and personal and the food is always good. We will be back!"
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Tokyo Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

poor leadership- Manager pathetic

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had to wait at least 35 minutes for our main course to arrive but the manager was very active delivering meals for his wife and young child promptly as they sat in our vicinity. The server was trying her best and was very courteous.
At no time did this manager visit his patrons to greet paying guests. He even had 1 of his servers attend to his visiting family. I guess they were served for free. Great perks!
"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Tokyo Blue
Based on the average of (24) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
13 out of 20 recommend this product
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic