Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Forno Vecchio Restaurant Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Forno Vecchio Restaurant

Forno Vecchio Restaurant, in the heart of historic downtown Pleasanton, is the destination for fresh, local cuisine served with the warmth of a genuine Italian family dinner. The menu features long-time favorites, including house-made pastas with a twist on traditional sauces. But don’t be surprised to find unique savory fare like truffle fries, filo-wrapped salmon, and seasonal specials. The wine list, carefully chosen to complement the menu, includes local California wines as well as Italian classics at very affordable prices. Do save room for dessert!

Forno Vecchio presents a distinctive dining experience created by new owners and long-time Pleasanton residents, sharing three generations of Italian food and wine expertise and family hospitality. Each menu item is prepared and served with individual care and attention. Sentite l'amo
122 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(122 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 122 reviews
5 stars
(59)
4 stars
(42)
3 stars
(15)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(67)
  • fit for foodies(53)
  • special occasion(43)
  • romantic(35)
  • good for groups(34)
  • great for lunch(34)
Forno Vecchio Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and service.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/27/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

4 foodies 4 thumbs up

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Pear soup with Gorgonzola and bacon?!!!Jason the chef crushed every entree! Halibut on risotto with pomegranate reduction sauce! You will come away with new ideas to try in your own kitchen and keep coming back to the cathedral for more tasty inspiration."
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love this place

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Family friendly!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The staff makes your party feel like you are at home. All the pasta and sauces are made in the restaurant, and, are terrific. Try the Chicken Parmesan....excellent. The crisp brussell sprouts salad are the greatest. Good reasonably priced wine list."
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Saturday Evening Was Surprisingly Disappointing!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Since Forno Vecchio opened, I have always enjoyed every dining experience with family and friends. Given any opportunity, I highly recommended Forno Vecchio.
Saturday Evening Was Surprisingly Disappointing. I can't recommend Forno Vecchio this time.
While we were warmly greeted, the service was mostly MIA (Missing In Action) throughout the evening. We spent more time waiting for our drinks and food than actually consuming our drinks and food. Appeared the larger tables were receiving the greatest attention.
My dining partner and I intended to share the Calamari as one of our appetizers. We were both shocked when it was delivered. We laughed because we thought it was a joke. This Calamari now holds the "World Record" for the smallest plate of Calamari ever served, not even enough for a hungry child. The unexpected hot spice also overwhelmed the 9 lonely Calamari.
My dining partner ordered the Skirt Steak which she liked. My Salmon was over-cooked and extremely dry. Pleasant memories of past dining experiences here kept me from returning it.
When asked about this dining experience, I did comment to the Owner.
To culminate the evening, the server dropped my used fork on me, staining my suit.
The Wonderful Ambiance of Forno Vecchio was overshadowed by poor service and less than satisfying food."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointment

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went out for dinner and this used to be a good place. The service was slow and the food was not what we were used to. Then we heard it was under new management/ownership. That sort of explained the experience. They seemed short staffed and the food was served cold. Will be quite awhile before we try this place again."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The service was slow and the food was not good

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had eggplant parm served with mushy pasta. While the eggplant was hot, the cheese for the parm was cold and not melted. My wife's salmon salad was non description and tasteless."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were house hunting in the area and found this via Open Table. The staff was ver nice, the owner greeted us soon after we sat down, she told us how they are know for their home made pasta, bread and desserts. Wine was priced very reasonably. We started with the crispy Brussel sprouts...wow! Excellent. My wife had the lasagna and I had the Bolognese, both were excellent. The owner came back and found out we were looking to relocate, she called her husband to ask him about the commute to San Jose from Pleasanton for us and gave us so much information. Overall we were both impressed with the food and the attentiveness of the staff. Excellent on all accounts!"
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The roasted rack of lamb with risotto and french green beans I ordered for dinner was prepared perfectly and tasted great. Nothing was left on my plate. The apple tart with gelato dessert was tremendous. Our server, Saya, was very friendly and attentive. Forno Vecchio is highly recommended."
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Saturday Night Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent outdoor location lead to a very romantic dinner & evening. Food was fabulous.
Even had jazz music from across street as entertainment.
Highly recommend.
"
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Neighborhood Gem in Forno Vecchio

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Wonderful food, excellent atmosphere and friendly staff. Perfect spot for a nice evening in Pleasanton. Highly recommend."
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our very favorite restaurant in Pleasanton!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food friendly service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were a party of six that turned up an hour early for our booking but the staff took it in their stride moved tables on the outside deck to accommodate us and we had a great evening."
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A very sweet first date.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Despite veing short staffed, we were seated at our reserved table on time and greeted by the owner. Our salads were yummy but my steak was overdone. The desserts were also yummy. We shared two of them and liked them both."
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2008
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not the same experience as last time

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We visited Forno Vecchio last September to celebrate a birthday and had an amazing time. Made the decision to come back for our wedding anniversary and it was just not the same. We even asked if ownership was the same. They did accommodate our wanting to split two entrees, which was nice, but the second one - steak - arrived cold. We asked for bread a couple times and they said, "its in the oven" shouldnt you know when the bread is running short? Ours arrived at the end of the meal instead of with our salads. With no follow up we couldn't comment on the cold steak till after the meal was gone. They comped a dessert, unsure if that's as to say I'm sorry for cold dinners...or because we were celebrating a special occasion. We will watch the reviews and if consistently good we will return. Maybe it was an off night? Owner was not there. Travis, our previous server was not there. We will ask More questions before making another reservation."
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Yummy & Great Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was my first time at this restaurant. My friend and I both had the salmon salad. Very tasty. Salmon was cooked just right. Dressing was light and perfect. The strawberries and cucumbers were very good complements. Really enjoyed the foccacia bread with herbed olive oil dip.
Server was very attentive and personable. Great overall experience. I would definitely return - and have the same dish again. Highly recommend."
Dined on 6/17/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great restaurant in Downtown Pleasanton

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nice menu variety. The service was excellent (and a Friday night at that). The Pear and Goat Cheese Crostini was to die for. The Tomato Bruschetta was very good as well. The Grilled Halibut with Sweet Corn Risotto was so outstanding that I wanted to lick the plate. Here is my only complaint. The piece of Halibut that I was served was quite small. At $25 for the entree I would expect a full serving. Other than that our experience was very nice. I would definitely recommend Forno Vecchico."
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Enjoyed the food at Forno Vecchio

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have frequented Forno Vecchio, especially at lunch time. It is not too crowded at lunch, so easy to get a table and it is on the quiet side, so very nice to have a conversation. Food is always consistent and very good."
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2009
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2006
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and service!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love This Neighborhood Restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It had been a few months since our last visit, but Forno Vecchio is still a neighborhood gem and even has a new expanded menu. The same long-time entrees remain, but there are many new choices for entrees, appetizers, and sides. It's also good to see that specialness of this place is catching on, because it is definitely busier these days. Our group of 4 shared the new brussels sprouts appetizer, even the 1 of us that traditionally does not like them; I had the Grilled BLT salad, which included grilled romaine lettuce, pancetta bits, grape tomatoes, and gorgonzola dressing, creatively presented on a wood board. Our entrees were the lasagna (same long-time recipe with bechamel sauce), filo wrapped salmon, grilled halibut with risotto, and fettuccine bolognese. All were great, but the group agreed the lasagna ruled once again. Still love this place."
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Itailian Restaurant in Downtown Pleasanton

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This charming Italian restaurant has the best eggplant Parmesan I have every tasted, food is made fresh, it is a delightful atmosphere, large portions, and a wonderful wine list. The service is also outstanding, and the atmosphere reminds me of being in a family restaurant in Italy."
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"SLOW , SLOW service. Waitress might have been new. Sub par gnocchi, bruschetta. FILO salmon dry. Squid ink risotto good. Waited and waited for coffee. Desserts (Brulee;lava cake)were good but not memorable. Large party next to us interfered with our service and increased the noise level significantly. Overall: not a good experience. Will not return."
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A good find in Pleasanton

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A very good dining experience. Perhaps not the most enticing/intimate facility/decor, but this restaurant makes up for it with the quality of both food and service. Menu somewhat limited, but the focus ins reflected in the preparation and taste. Salads quite good. Will dine here again."
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2005
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

An evening dining in downtown Pleasanton

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a very pleasant experience at Forno Vecchio. The service was excellent and the food was very good. I ordered the halibut and it was done perfectly. My husband raved about the fettuccine alfredo. We especially enjoyed visiting with the hostess (owner) and plan to return when we are in town."
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Forno Vecchio Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>