Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Wishbone - West Loop Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Wishbone - West Loop

Located one block from Oprah Winfrey's Harpo Studios and perfectly centered between City Hall and the United Center, Wishbone West Loop was an early participant in the emergence of the neighborhood from a commercial area to one of the city's culinary hot spots. We've been there through it all, quietly serving our own unique brand of Southern Cooking.
40 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(40 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
(18)
4 stars
(14)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(20)
  • neighborhood gem(15)
  • fit for foodies(14)
  • great for brunch(14)
  • great for lunch(14)
  • kid-friendly(11)
Wishbone - West Loop Reviews List
Review 1 for Wishbone - West Loop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food and service were great. Wishbone is always great. We will definitely be back again!"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wishbone - West Loop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good for a bite to eat

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I was under the impression that Wishbones would be a vibrant, modern, hip, spot. It may be to the locals, as I am from out of town. We came an hour prior to closing time so I'm sure that affected the ambiance. I was really bummed that the bar was closed. I didnt necessarily want to order a drink but It would have contributed to the lack luster ambiance. The service was prompt and friendly and I was relieved when my food came out hot. I'm not a huge fish consumer but the catfish was a little mushy for me but the side items were some of the best that I've ever had. I ordered the mashed sweet potatoes and cheesy grits; we were brought corn muffins which were perfect. There was a wondering man who came in and could have been upset by a waitresses callous demeanor but he quickly was put out. For the reason that I was able to easy my leftovers two days later and it was still delicious, I'd come back or recommend wishbone to someone in the area."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wishbone - West Loop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/31/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/31/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wishbone - West Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A West Loop Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nice rib-eye, mashed sweet potatoes are a must, and the corn bread with whipped butter are to die for. A generous glass of wine was a very nice touch."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wishbone - West Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Just Great Food!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It's nice to know there are places like this for a large group! Great beer selections, as well as wine and mixed drinks. The food is hearty and very, very tasty! The barbecue is great as well as the seafood. It was very fresh! And our server was outstanding!"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wishbone - West Loop
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had a wonderful experience back in 2008 when the chef had put out a wonderful tasting menu for us during lunch, so I was excited to come back for dinner with a date!
I made reservations for 7pm on a Saturday night which were not even needed as we walked in and there were many open tables. The waiter was fairly quick to take our drink order and bring us the drinks. We ordered the hurricane, which was delicious! Then we got to the appetizers. There wasn't much to choose from and the waiter was not helpful in our decision. We ordered 1 crab cake and shared it. The crab cake was good, but we really wanted something more. For dinner I ordered the backend trout with spinach and cheese grits. The trout was super salty. It was cooked well but the salt definitely over powered the rest of the spices. The spinach was half raw and the amount of lemon used made mouth pucker. The cheese grits were ok, but there were kind of bland. My date ordered the brisket. It was cooked well, but a tad tough. She too had the spinach and grits with the same issues. For dessert we had the bread pudding. The bread pudding was more of a piece of bread cake with a tasty bourbon sauce. It was good, but not very traditional. I don't know if I'd go back for dinner. I hear lunch is good, we shall see.
"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wishbone - West Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always Good

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I really like this restaurant. The food is good, prices are reasonable, people are friendly, you can sit and talk with friends."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wishbone - West Loop
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The Fat Tuesday buffet was excellent. Mixed drinks were good and, when my whiskey sour wasn't sour enough, the waiter made sure to have it made to meet my expectations. The live music was great too."
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wishbone - West Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Another worthwhile visit.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Dined on Valentine's Day before a concert. As always truly enjoyed the meal. Great comfort food at reasonable prices."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wishbone - West Loop
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My first time patronizing this restaurant was on Valentines Day and I was extremely disappointed. It was not extremely crowded but maybe that was crowded for them but since I never been there I don't really know what their normal crowd is. The server took forever to take our order and even came to get the specialty menu from us to let another party see it, therefore once our food came we had to rush and most of my food was in a to go box because we had another scheduled event to attend. My husband did finish his and said the burger was great, which is the only good thing I have to say!! I also wanted to order the banana pudding with my food and the server told me to wait until later because otherwise he would forget which didn't make much sense to me because that was the purpose of me telling him then, so I never got it! I ordered the shrimp and grits which was gross and okra which tastes like it was fried or baked in old grease! By the way I made reservations and still had to stand in line like everyone else, so it was pointless!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wishbone - West Loop
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and excellent selection

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great place for down home/New Orleans style cooking with a large selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wishbone - West Loop
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not What I Had In Mind

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I haven't gone to Wishbone in years so I thought it would be a good time to head back and get some good ol comfort food...well let's just say I haven't missed much. The shrimp and grits along with the margarita I had was not the best. I should have known the food was not the greatest because I was able to change my reservation the same day. Nonetheless, I won't be back for another visit. I wish them the best of luck for the future."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Wishbone - West Loop
Based on the average of (28) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
24 out of 26 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic