Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge

The Belvedere Dining room and Lounge is elegant, luxurious and discreet; traversing between cosmopolitan chic and presidential power lunches. Often it's said that board meetings could be held here as quorum has so easily been met. Awards and reviews have placed The Belvedere as "The Best Restaurant Overall" in Calgary; routinely in the top ten in Canada and for the past ten years by the Wine Spectator Magazine as having one of the top wine lists worldwide. The Belvedere is as renowned for its exceptional service and deft handling of its accomplished clientele as it is for the wonderfully wrought food.
61 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(61 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
5 stars
(23)
4 stars
(21)
3 stars
(16)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(38)
  • romantic(29)
  • fit for foodies(23)
  • notable wine list(23)
  • great for lunch(15)
  • good for groups(12)
The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge Reviews List
Review 1 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/03/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 22/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was lunch with a friend. I chose to go with the Business lunch which was 3 courses. My friend had lambchops. The food was delicious but we both agreed there was just too much food for a lunch. We came from work so had limited time, which was a factor in enjoying our choices. The service was great and it's a charming restaurant. I think I will return for dinner when I can relax and take more time to enjoy the fare."
Dined on 08/05/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 09/08/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 21/04/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 02/05/2015
 2009
Dined on 02/05/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 02/05/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

No greateat value

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was good, service was rough around the edges for a restaurant that aspires to be high caliber. Been there twice, first time just my wife and I, we had an okay time, but weren't pleased with the service overall but gave them a second chance. Second time went with another couple. I have a simple food allergy, and the plate I wanted had a garnish I was allergic to, I asked the server if the kitchen could not add the garnish, his response: "ABSOLUTELY NO SUBSTITUTION!", my party was quite shocked first of the tone of the response, and second that such a simple request wouldn't be even considered. So I went to chose something else on the menu, and when the server came back to take orders take orders, he said, "Fine, the kitchen can skip the garnish" but the damage was done.
Overall the place has most of the elements of a high end restaurant, but it hasn't earned it. For the same money ther are better places in Calgary.
"
Dined on 14/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Spectacular food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This a great restaurant with a serene ambiance and delicious food."
Dined on 09/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Private dining

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was our first time at the Belvedere and a great experience. We had the whole place to our selves wich was a little strange but also amazing. The food was fantastic and the service was great."
Dined on 27/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Meh. Who cares. Food was okay not worth the price of admission."
Dined on 17/01/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The paella was really a pre-made risotto. Not good. with prawns rolled in something hard and crunchy. When the waiter said, "We only have one left," it should have been a clue. Paella is usually made to order with several types of fresh sea food, chicken, lamb, sausage. Not this!."
Dined on 13/03/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A bit disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have been going to The Belvedere for years and touted it as our favourite but lately it's hasn't met our expectations. We took some people that had never enjoyed a Chef's Tasting Menu before and I felt that the food was alright but not great. The tuna was overcooked, the salad had poor presentation, and the steak was grisly (although the potatoes were out of this world). The cheese plate and dessert were very good. I felt disappointed and have moved the The Belvedere from our top. The service was great, as always and I love the ambiance. Perhaps it was because we went during the Taste of Calgary and they were geared up to prepare their menu for that but for the cost I think we'll go somewhere else the next time we want to do a Chef's Tasting."
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Belvedere on Stephens Av

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Made reservations for a later evening week day, the service was great, the goose was outstanding, the seating area in the dining area was great, didn't have time to check out the lounge but the chairs there look really comfortable, will repeat"
Dined on 09/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for a date!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant is a great place to bring a date. The food is amazing. The service is the best in the city. I would recommend anyone to try this restautant."
Dined on 28/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The experience was worth every penny.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My boyfriend and I consider ourselves untrained foodies and spend a lot of money of restaurants claiming to be great that let us down. This restaurant was excellent and there was very little to criticize."
Dined on 26/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistently fantastic!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had the seven course chefs tasting menu and were blown away again! The wine pairing was top notch too!
We went through a variety of seafood and onto duck, lamb and beef!
The lobster bisque was amazing and the sauces were a drink for the senses!
Thank you again to Belvedere, the chef and Clayton and 16 years of greatness!
"
Dined on 21/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent for that special occasion

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Ambiance fantastic
Food fabulous
Service was attentive but not intrusive
Amazing experience, but reserved for those special occasions to treat that someone special.
Costly night though.
Will definitely come back in the future"
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Normally great place to dine except for valentines

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our latest dining experience at the belvedere was sadly not nearly as great as our previous ones. My wife and I went on Feb 13th and was surprised to see a set valentines menu already in place. We came to this place because of the items on the regular menu, including the lamb and Bison dishes which were amazing the last time we were there. Sadly neither were included on the set menu that was provided to us.
The rather limited selection on the valentines menu in did not highlight any of the delicious dishes we came to know the Belvedere for. We were left disappointed with the beef wellington and the salmon dish as the only two options available. We felt the food presented to us tasted like it was mass produced. The first few dishes were delivered to our table only moments after finishing the previous course, which lead us to believe it was all prepared well in advance on an assembly line. This was definitely not the normal dinning experience here. The highlight of the evening was the wine pairings, each wine complemented the corresponding dish quite nicely.
I would hesitate to reccomend the belvedere as a place to go for valentines as long as they keep their rather limited set menu in place. Any other day of the year it's a great place to hang out in the lounge, enjoy a few cocktails followed by a delicious dinner in the dinning room!"
Dined on 13/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Late lunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 04/02/2015
 2009
Dined on 04/02/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was very tasty, too much salt on their fries and I also found my selection too rich. The restaurant is very nice inside and it has a good atmosphere. We also had very good service for a late lunch."
Dined on 04/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a booking of 4 and had ordered the 7 course meal, what an experience, excellent food, excellent service, waitress Jade did a fantastic job, knows the meal courses and win list."
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fantastic service, ok food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went to Belvedere for a girls dinner on a Friday night in early January and the place was pretty much empty (I assume New Years resolutions in effect). We were immediately greeted and seated at our choice of table, the decor and ambiance was very modern and soothing. Our waiter was very friendly, prompt, accommodating, and was absolutely fantastic at describing the dishes. When we asked for changes to the menu, his reply was "I'll make it happen". Fantastic!
The food was good, definitely a cut above your standard restaurant, but unfortunately it did not live up to our high expectations based on the rest of the restaurant and the price point. I had the beef wellington and, while the flavor was nice, the cut was a bit tough and the foie gras had a strange chunky texture. One of the ladies had the lamb and said it was good, but not great (she had the lamb cooked longer than chef's recommendation which may be a factor). The pasta dish, however, got a great review, so there is hope!
I will be back to Belvedere again due to the great service, and I hope that the food will live up to expectations this time.
"
Dined on 09/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/12/2014
 2010
Dined on 24/12/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Overtime we go to this place the service and food are outstanding."
Dined on 24/12/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Christmas Eve

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/12/2014
 2011
Dined on 24/12/2014
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was ok but certainly was not wow. If this restaurant wants to be a premium price restaurant it needs to take it up a notch."
Dined on 24/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A great place to impress a woman

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"You pay for the experience and get every penny's worth! "̮"
Dined on 24/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great for business dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Entertaining friends and colleagues from out of town and the Belvedere provided a great venue with a quiet spot with excellent appetizers, good service and amazing entrees. The Charcuterie Board offered a nice selection of tasty choices to share. The entrees were a highlight with the Beef Wellington, Venison, and Rack of Lamb getting huge thumbs up. The dessert was a let down after the main course. The minuscule portions and a cheesecake that was more like a mousse were unfortunate. We will return for the mains but skip dessert."
Dined on 16/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A great place for a romantic dinner!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Amazing service and food. I've been coming here for years and would recommend this place to anyone."
Dined on 20/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very good overall.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went at noon for a group lunch. The service was a bit slow but they did have 2 other large groups as well as ours. Staff was friendly and accomodating."
Dined on 17/12/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant is small with a very high noise level when busy. The ambience is a strange mix of elegance and the appearance of a renovation that isn't complete. Service started off very slow with staff bustling by us as if we were invisible. However, once our assigned waiter appeared, this improved and from that point the service was relaxed but not slow. The food was excellent. All in all, what started off as disappointing, turned into a pleasant lunch experience."
Dined on 17/12/2014
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Food but no tasting menu available

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We booked the Belvedere to try out the 7 course tasting menu but unfortunately we were told after we arrived that it wouldn't be available because a large party was coming later. We were very disapointed because we had booked almost a month in advance and were not told until after we ordered drinks.
The food we did get was excellent, and the service staff was very good.
"
Dined on 13/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Top quality all the way!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A little gem that has outstanding top quality food, service and atmosphere."
Dined on 11/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Very quiet restaurant...so good place to go if you want to speak. Food was good and wine list was very good. Attentive service."
Dined on 26/11/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Belvedere Restaurant & Lounge
Based on the average of (28) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
20 out of 26 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic