Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul Reviews List

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
See more Buca di Beppo - St. Paul details
565 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(565 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 565 reviews
5 stars
(240)
4 stars
(200)
3 stars
(75)
2 stars
(32)
1 star
(18)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(409)
  • special occasion(291)
  • kid-friendly(234)
  • neighborhood gem(142)
  • fit for foodies(110)
  • great for lunch(87)
Buca di Beppo - St. Paul Reviews List
Review 1 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everything was great but even as a guy it was quite cold... more so then other times I've been there and needed to wear my coat. I'll go back but if it's that cold again I'd think twice."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/07/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 2/06/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun place for date night

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"It was a hopping night at Buca's. We were on a double date and went to Buca's prior to going to the Winter Carnival. We were glad to have a reservation as there were many people waiting to go in. The waiter was high energy and a lot of fun. We ordered 2 sides and 2 small main coarses to share between the 4 of us. There was plenty of food plus a doggy bag. Everything was super delicious except for the green beans. We were intimidated by the $10 slice of cheese cake, but it was enough to share 4 ways. Fun night and a great restaurant!"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Birthday in the Kitchen

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"What a great place to celebrate a birthday! The kitchen table is a great place to have some fun with the servers and kitchen staff while enjoying great Italian food with friends and family!"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The share plates are a great way to serve a group

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The share plates are a great way to serve a group and let everyone try different things. Salads are great and the garlic mashed potatoes are also a must try."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Pasta was overcooked. Salad was missing Gorgonzola but we had an enjoyable evening."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 1/28/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We go every Christmas Eve & share Quattro al Forno

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Enjoyable and dependable

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This is one of our favorite stand-by/too-late-to-cook/not-feeling-trendy places. The food is not wildly inventive (no kale in sight) but it's well made, tasty and we always manage to order more than we can eat. Service is cheerful and fast. To get food to the table quickly the servers do something of a relay so multiple people will bring parts of your order. This occasionally leads to a miss on an item or (once) two of the item. Not really a problem but if you wonder what happened to your beer, you might want to ask. This is one of those rare chains that actually delivers what they promise."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Joe's Basement Dining Review 01/09/2016

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The restaurant was utilized as a centrally located family dining celebration option. Host staff was very prompt and thorough. Table server was very courteous and was as available as much as possible.
Either the wait person was inexperienced or the restaurant was a bit understaffed (?), but consistency of table visits was sporadic. We requested dessert and it was at a time when the restaurant was getting quite busy (i.e. 5:00 p.m.). The desserts were very slow in arriving and when the server noticed this he hurried off to the kitchen and returned with the requested items at exactly the same time they arrived with someone else. The server made sure that he covered the situation by giving us the items he had just brought out. My experience with tiramisu and cannoli's is that they are best served at room temperature. The items we were served had just come out of refrigeration and as such the tiramisu was thick like pudding and the cannoli's and their fillings were rock hard. When the server inquired about the quality of the desserts, I responded that they were not memorable compared to other samples I have had.
The server countered with the defense that most customers really liked the pastries. Thusly, I was left with the impression that my taste in pastries was less than mainstream.
The root cause of my discontent was not with the quality of the pastries, it was with the facts surrounding their delivery. I realize that the restaurant became quite busy in a brief period of time, but overall the staff appeared to respond a bit weakly with a more chaotic bent than a more well-trained staff might have responded. This is, of course, only my opinion based on a this microcosmic experience. The situation will not adversely impact my return visits to this restaurant, I will simply lower my expectations next time.
Thank you for your inquiry request!
Warmest regards,
Michael P. Finnerty
"
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Waiter was excellent!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/03/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/02/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Have been to several of the Buca locations since moving to MSP in 2000 and this was by far our worst experience.
Had a reservation for 6:00, showed up at 5:45 and didn't get seated until 6:20 pm....an offer for a complimentary drink would have been appropriate.
Was told by the waitress that the kitchen was behind....very accurate comment....we didn't get served until 7:35 and was hoping to catch an 8:00 pm show at the Ordway....we had to have dinner placed in to go boxes.
Apple salad and garlic bread were very good as usual....service was pleasant, but slow. Had to wait for plates and silverware too.
Not a good night for Buca."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

A very big disappoint

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I had looked forward to an evening with family to celebrate one daughter's birthday and another's graduation from college. The restaurant was busy but we were seated relatively quickly. The problem started when ice water was brought to our table by our server. (I don't remember her name but we were in the room with the picture of nuns in the bumper cars. It was 6PM) An entire glass of ice water was spilled on me, the table, and my daughter's birthday present. It was mopped up fairly quickly but not offer or restitution was proposed. I was wet and cold for the entire meal.
We ordered appetizers which were ok. We ordered three entrees - a pizza, and two pasta dishes. My son was planning to only have pizza for dinner. The pizza was delivered and then it was 30 minutes before any other food arrived. He was ready to go before anyone else had eaten.
The whole meal was timed poorly and the quality of the food was not worth the price.
This was my worst experience ever at Buca and I was a little cool on it before this.
I do not plan to return and would not recommend it to others.
The last problem was when a gift card that my husband had just opened did not work at the register. Maybe not Buca's fault but a further disappoint.
Stay away and take your business to another Italian restaurant!
"
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Date night

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We had wonderful, friendly service. The drinks and food were wonderful. We came on Christmas day so it was fairly busy. And orders were taking over an hour. But we enjoyed our drinks and the time flew by."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Good food, and staff. But it was slow service. Was almost three hours from sitting to leaving. 30 hour was picking food though. Portions are huge, for 2 could feed more..."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/29/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Large family style portions are perfect when you have a big group! Also very good for small kids!"
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Xmas Eve Family Floop

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"It was great to have the whole family at one table. Our reservation started at 7 pm, yet the adults did not get their food until 8:45. The teens were served and done eating by 8 pm. Thus, came out the cell phones. Waiter informed us that our wait was because they had to fill the 'pick-up' orders first, before serving us. Why did I book the reservation a month a head of time? In addition, limited gluten free options."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Family fun

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"They were short staff in the kitchen because of the holiday and the waitress said it would take a hour and it only took 30 minutes or so. The food was great and my daughters had a good time."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Holiday night and understaffed,

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"It was Christmas day, We came 15 minutes early but have over an hour wait time. they seemed to be under staffed but were polite and tried to keep positive about it. The food toke a long time to come after ordering.
Servers and staff were constantly running around with prepared food asking customers if they ordered a specific food because they did not know what table it went to.
"
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

slow service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I had made reservations for 6:00, realizing that the restaurant might be somewhat crowded. We did not get seated until nearly 6:30. Our waiter informed us that the kitchen was backed up so we placed our order quickly. The salads, which were quite good, came within 15 minutes. The hot dishes did not come until nearly 8:00."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Christmas Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We have for several years gone to Buca for Xmas dinner. Every year has been wonderful, until this year. We were promptly seated, but it took 1.75 hours for our food to arrive. In fact the last of our order arrived at the two hour mark. The server told us after 1.25 hours that the kitchen was backed up due to catering orders and that it would be another 30 minutes. We looked around the dining room and nobody was eating hot entrees. I guess they figured it was more important to satisfy the catering patrons versus those of us seated in the restaurant. The food was good except for the garlic mashed potatoes, which contained no garlic and had an unusual flavor. None of us ate them, but it was taken off of our bill. When the server came over to tell us it would be another 30 minutes, I expressed my disappointment and indicated that I would expect that something be done on our bill for our inconvenience. In the end, we were given a slice of cake for our inconvenience. I hope Buca learns from this experience, and we will continue to patronize Buca, but not on Christmas Day again."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>