Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Admiral Steakhouse Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Admiral Steakhouse

A Rare Steakhouse Well Done! Serving dinner nightly in the heart of historic Bath. Offering the finest steaks in Mid-Coast Maine!
27 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(27 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
(16)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(23)
  • romantic(13)
  • neighborhood gem(12)
  • notable wine list(8)
  • fit for foodies(6)
  • good for groups(5)
Admiral Steakhouse Reviews List
Review 1 for Admiral Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sad news

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant was great as always. Sadly is it closing today."
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Admiral Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I would return again but I couldn't afford it all the time. The food he great flavor and the portion sizes were adequate but I felt it was a bit pricey. But for a special occasion I wouldn't think twice about going back"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Admiral Steakhouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent Steakhouse

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A great find in Midcoast Maine! If you like steak and do not want to drive to Boston for a terrific steak dinner, then I highly recommend the Admiral Steakhouse."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Admiral Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

excellent food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was our first visit. We saw it on restaurant.com and were housesitting locally. We hope to move to the area and will visit again."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Admiral Steakhouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Valentine's eve dinner.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have been to your restaurant before and had a perfect meal. We were give an gift certificate for my husband and I to use and thought this would be a good occasion. We were seated at the exact same table ;-)
Dinner was nice, the special Valentine's weekend strawberry salad was absolutely delicious! Very creative. I had skewered scallops, my husband had prime rib and we both had Steakhouse Rice. I remembered the rice, but this time it seemed less robust/spicy. I chose the butterscotch and schnapps pudding for dessert. I thought the schnapps would have been drizzled over it, possibly pudding was made with it. It was good consistancy, but it didn't have much of a butterscotch schnapps taste.
We had a nice time, all considered."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Admiral Steakhouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We love the feel of this place, quiet, but not silent, dim but not dark. The wait staff has been great each time we have gone, attentive, personable and accommodating. We have been going to the Admiral since it opened, 2-3 times a year, but had not been in a while as we had been a little disappointed the last time that we had gone. It seemed that that the meats were not as good and portions were smaller, it felt like they were cutting corners... BUT we decided to give it another whirl and were not disappointed in the least. Variety, portion sizes and meat cuts were back to the usual high standards and as amazing as ever. We will be back and continue to recommend it to friends. Glad we tried again!"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Admiral Steakhouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

comfort

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"WE DINED ON A COLD NIGHT,NEXT TO THE DRAPE COVERED WINDOWS,WHICH WERE SEVERLY INADAQUATE. WE FELT LIKE WEARING OUT COATS DURING THE MEAL. WE WILL NOT RETURN DURING THE WINTER MONTHS"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Admiral Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great steaks.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2009
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our waitress was very attentive. I'm sure this place can get crazy during tourist season but thats what reservations are for! a great gem for a night out on the town."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Admiral Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have been to this restaurant a number of times; and this time it was better than ever. From the food to the service to the ambience, it was a wonderful dining experience. Admiral Steakhouse remains on our list of favorite places!"
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Admiral Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Exceptional Consistancy

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I was pleased to enjoy consistantly great menu, food and service after a year had passed since my last visit!"
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Admiral Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This restaurant has a sizable menu, delicious food-not one sour note, and service that was prompt, relaxed, and friendly. A definite gem!"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Admiral Steakhouse
Based on the average of (16) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
15 out of 16 recommend this product
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic