Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Far Niente Ristorante Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Far Niente Ristorante

Opened in 1987, Far Niente remains a Glendale landmark of fine Northern Italian dining. We established a tradition of authentic Italian cuisine served in a warm inviting environment creating a memorable dining experience. Far Niente's high ceilings and Italian atmosphere creates an inviting ambience for casual dining or special occasions. We enjoy working with large parties and designing a custom menu for you. Our Bar-lounge with its open beam ceiling, stonewall, wine barrels, and mahogany bar creates the perfect place to enjoy our all day happy hour featuring $4 well drinks and beer on tap.
55 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(55 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
5 stars
(23)
4 stars
(23)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(27)
  • fit for foodies(21)
  • special occasion(20)
  • romantic(15)
  • good for groups(14)
  • great for lunch(8)
Far Niente Ristorante Reviews List
Review 1 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/17/2012
 2007
Dined on 3/17/2012
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/17/2012
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Basic but good food
Friendly staff"
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good and service was wonderful. Just heard they will be having new management soon. Hope the service level and food continue with their high standards."
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If you haven't tried this place you're missing out. Great food and good service."
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Bottom line...avoid"
Dined on 8/29/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was very disappointed with the whole experience. The waiter was either rushing us or you couldn't find him. Our main course was brought out before the appetizers, and we we told that we didn't order any appetizers. The pasta was mushy, the meatballs were tasteless and probably not home made. We were here 2 years ago prior to new owners and it was wonderful. However I had a great Cosmopolitan from the bar."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Outstanding, delicious food.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had the bow-tie pasta filled with veal and chicken and covered with meat sauce and cheese. It was absolutely delicious- one of the best Italian meals I have had in ages. On the negative side, they ran out of bottles of Prosecco, so we had to keep ordering splits, at a higher price. The service was excellent until the theater crowd arrived. (Alex Theater is practically next door.) It seemed like they couldn't quite keep up with all the theater patrons, and we had to wait a long time for our dessert and check. I highly recommend this restaurant when there is no play or musical going on at the theater, unless you arrive about 2 hours early."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Highly Recommendable

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This is my regular dine home for whatever event or without ... from food to service and ambiance fills my needs (and friends) and that is worth spending for ...
My birthday dinner was totally awesome ... not only for the good food & fine wine. As always I love the calamari, salmon, steak, etc. Aria was so friendly & accomodating; and Tara ~our angel of the night took care of us unselfishly and such service is superb. I always & never regret recommending this. Trust me, beyond compare!"
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner and a Show

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were going to the ballet at the Alex Theatre just up the block , so we decided to try this Italian trattoria. The food was very good, the atmosphere was charming, the staff was friendly and the prices fair. From the warm flatbread with olive oil through the included house salad with Italian to the delicious entrees (veal scaloppine and spaghettini w/meatballs) to a desert I hadn't had in years: bombolllini ( Italian doughnuts filled with custard and topped with powdered sugar and whipped cream) everything was great! We'll be back Great fun atmosphere esp. In the bar."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great for lunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have been here a few times for lunch. The service is great and they get the food out quickly. The food is tasty and keeps me coming back. I haven't had anything yet I didn't like: salads, risotto, spaghetti.. everything is good."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

We have been sold, we don't care

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went to Far Niente Ristorante for dinner before the show at the Alex Theater, we arrived @ 6:30 and told that server that we needed to get to the show for an 8:00 curtain. We got our food @ 7:40.! One of our party ordered a steak rare and it was well done. No time to eat or redo the steak. We were not the only party to not get their food in time to eat it. We we spoke to the manager we were told they have been sold and we don't know if we are going to have a job so we don't care."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Still Great

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"After all these years! Standards for food and service remain high. Nice Manager greeted us when we arrived and made it clear she would be responsive to any concerns. A friend was real happy to know the Scampi dish was back on the menu."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A very special restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had lunch at Far Niente about 4 years ago and when I learned I was going to be traveling to that area of Los Angeles (Glendale) last week I was excited to try it again. I was not disappointed. We arrived a bit early but were seated immediately. Great choices on the menu and service was excellent. I will add this restaurant to my list of favorite places to eat when I am in the area."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistent quality

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We have eaten at this restaurant over a period of 20 years. It is 75 miles from our home but whenever the Occassion arises that we are nearby, we always return. The offerings are always fresh and seasonal. The service is very attentive and pleasant yet not intrusive. The food is very well prepared, providing a memorable dining experience."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Overall Experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food and service was excellent, and the environment was very comfortable."
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent as usual

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food and service were excellent. The wine has good choices and and range of prices. Not extensive, but still good. One complaint is that the "House Champagne" by the glass wasn't champagne and wasn't even very good. It least it had a lot of bubbles, but that's all I can say for it. It was just some junk, probably with a plastic cork. Far Niente should do better. Serving stuff like that creates a bad impression.
Our server, Stephanie was terrific. Friendly, attentive without hovering. When it turned out that they were out of the wine we wanted, she recommended a substitute that worked beautifully.
"
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Happy Birthday to ME! And Happy New Year too.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were down for the Rose Parade and game, celebrating my birthday. A local recommended Far Niente and it did not disappoint. Very attentive staff and yummy food. Perfect pasta!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great ambience, service and location

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was wonderful. I don't eat calamari, but the calamari casserole was ordered for the table and everyone raved about it. Also, it's nice that the location is just a bit away from the hustle and bustle from the Americana but is right next to the Alex Theatre."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A fine Italian restaurant in Glendale

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We ate dinner here on a Saturday night before going to the Alex Theater, and it was fine. The bread is outstanding, and the house salad that comes with each entrée is very good. I had lasagna and my wife the mussels, both very good. The prices are moderate and the food is fine, so we plan to return soon."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Ver sad! Used to love this place. The cool things they used to do are no longer there. No more block of Parmesan- now you get a few slivers on a plate. The new lighting is crazy. It's so bright. We had to move to another location. So did another couple It felt like a series of spotlights beaming on you as you eat. The food was ok. The service was awesome, so happy about that! I miss the old Far Niente!"
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food has been quite good for over 20 years. The waiter was NOT great. We had to flag him down several times after he handed us our menus, and the restaurant was not yet busy with lunch crowds. Service is generally quite good
It's still a "BE BACK!!"
"
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Marvelous for theatre goers especially.Eat,drink and enjoy and then a few steps to the Alex Theatre!!!"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dolce Far Niente

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food at Far Niente was surprisingly good and the ambience was so-so, but unfortunately the restaurant was too noisy. I would go back if I find myself in the area, but not for a romantic dinner or a dinner where I would need to hear what the other person is saying. This place is well-suited for larger groups."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

The worst sevice of any resturant in Glendale.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"As a local resident I have been a regular customer of Far Niente Resturant for a long time and now I found out they have changed owners? The new owners have missed the mark completely on service, ambience and of general greeting of customers . After 1 1/2 Hours after only receiving a salad. we left. We were put in the middle of a banquet room against the wall where no other customers were except one who arrived and were finished and left before we even received our salad. the waitress disappeared and The Manager had to come to our table to take our order without any explanation of the menu. It was total disaster from there on and we will surely tell others and never go again. The only thing that will help this restaurant is to close the door before they go broke as the customer count will go down. Pure confusion by the staff."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Far Niente Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Hit the spot for us when wanting authentic Italian

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were originally a few blocks away at an Italian restaurant in the Americana at Brand shopping center, but due to an hour long wait looked on Yelp for other options and found Far Niente. And boy were we glad! Half price wine (by glass or bottle) on Sundays was great, and the food was delicious and authentic!"
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Far Niente Ristorante
Based on the average of (30) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
25 out of 26 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic