Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Gazala's Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Gazala's

Don't miss a chance to try delicious druze meal prepared by Gazala's mother! She will be cooking her spun recepies August,1 to August,18! Get a taste you will never forget! A hidden gem amidst so much on the Upper West Side. Gazala's serves some of the best appetizers around to start off your dining experience. Chef/owner Gazala is Druze Israeli, but the menu will be familiar to anyone who has tried Middle Eastern food. The babaganoush (roast eggplant dip) is smoky and velvety. The inside of the kibbe's crispy crust is moist ground lamb seasoned perfectly with aromatic spices. The felafel (deep-fried ground chickpeas) feature an unusually crunchy crust. The ambiance is more contemporary than our Midtown location offering large areas for private parties and large groups. Don't be surprised to see Gazala come out of her busy kitchen and chat with the diners.
53 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(53 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
(13)
4 stars
(23)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(23)
  • great for lunch(14)
  • fit for foodies(13)
  • good for groups(12)
  • great for brunch(7)
  • romantic(5)
Gazala's Reviews List
Review 1 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

delicious and easy-going

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very welcoming staff, delicious food, many choices-something for everyone. We've eaten there with a vegan cousin, a gluten-free diner, and someone who keeps kosher and everyone was happy. The atmosphere is very low key and there is enough room between tables that you don't feel jammed in. They have decent wines available by the glass as well."
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice neighborhood spot

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good Middle Eastern fare in comfortable cafe setting"
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2005
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent waitress and spectacular borekas"
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was a very confusing meal. My wife and I ordered the same Branzino special but they were not the same. One came out with the head attached and the fish filleted on one side. The other no head and not filleted at all. My wife's rice was on her plate with the fish, mine was in a bowl on the side. My wife's meal was severed when our friend's meal was, mine came out 5 minutes after everyone else's.
Our friend's special lamb did not contain two of the element's that the waiter said were in the special.
I must say the food wasn't BAD, it's just that the meals were inconsistent and if it wasn't the servers first week on the job, then he needs to go back to waiter school."
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always good

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Their Druze, middle eastern food is always delicious. the Bourekas are the best in the city. Their lamb dishes, grilled fish and salads are also excellent. And the service is very nice. Its also well-located near the American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Riverside Park."
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2007
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

LisaNYC

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"They ran out of chicken before 8pm. Everything was fried. It was a big disappointment"
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always solid and fresh

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We always come to Gazala's for dinner or order delivery from them. This is he first time we came for brunch and so happy we did. It was not crazy packed and the food was great as usual. Everything tastes fresh; we had a large group for Mother's Day so we ordered a sampling of appetizers which were fantastic and would buy a bucket of their babagannosh. We also ordered the whole fish dish for the table and it was great. They have good brunch dishes that comes with tea or sangria so would go back for that as well. We did a mix of dishes and we were able to relax with your being rushed. The service was fantastic - wish I had our waiter's name so we could give him a shout out."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a neighborhood gem. Great food, especially the hummus trio. My kids like it too!"
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

delicious and flavour full

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food at Gazala's is consistently very good. On this visit, for the first time in our experience, the service was poor. I would not blame the restaurant based on one visit, and we will definitely go back to one of our favorite neighborhood spots."
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

nice place

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"it is my second time here and I can confirm that it is just fine: solid food, not pretentious, attentive personnel (still not intrusive), very moderate prices giving the location and the food quality. Other people prefer other places? It is their problem....... Thanks Gazala, good to have you here"
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

bland food, otherwise good place

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Appetizers were delish, but the main courses were disappointing. They were very accommodating of our group and the ambiance is nice, so I want to highly recommend this place, but the food is not great."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Gazala's is the real deal...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friend and I go to Gazala's as a Christmas tradition. The food is authentic and delicious and I've never had better hummus in New York! Anytime I've ordered the lamb, it has always been tasty, too. Basically, you can't go wrong at this place. It's got a nice atmosphere and it's right across from The Museum of Natural History and very close to Central Park. I will keep coming back!"
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Had lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"They offer a lunch special which was reasonable in price, good value.
Everything was fresh and tasty. They have this very thin pita bread, when stuffed, delicious.
Service was ok. Not much of an atmosphere but good basic food.
"
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2003
Special Features: great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Please Re-invent Yourselves

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've been eating at this neighbourhood stalwart since it opened and...nothing has changed since then. The menu is the same as it always has been (though they're so used and faded they're difficult to read), nothing (so far as we could tell) has been added, deleted, augmented, changed, etc. It's all as it has always been only no longer new, exciting, or novel. I hope the owners take a good hard look at their offerings, keep some of the standards, and invent some new ones. The restaurant could also use a facelift-it's getting to look old, heavily used, and shopworn.
We'll resume dining when new offerings are in place."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Drive Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Drive food is middle eastern with some distinctive seasonings. It's delicious. The boureca are my favorite. But the fish and salads and love are also excellent. The service is very good and it's not noisy. Gazalas is locked across the street from the American Museum of Natural History and a block from Central Park."
Dined on 1/12/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

yum!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"yum! desserts were a little overpriced for the amount of food that you get. but they were delicious."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

overpriced and bland

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was overpriced. It was bland. Little diversity in the menu. Overall disappointing. the only good thing is that it had available reservations, however they obviously were using every inch of space in the establishment."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A true neighborhood gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great food, wonderful solicitous service and a true neighborhood gem. The owner, Gazala, is warm and very personable and welcoming. Almost feel as if I'm eating in her home."
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I live Gazalas

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"As usual the food was delicious. A friend and I split the boureca lunch and the vegetable lunch and they were both delicious..The service was excellent..it's a very comfortable restaurant with a a decent noise level. Also a great location across from the American Museum of Natural History and not far from Central Park."
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Gazala's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Skip It

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Underwhelming meal. Chicken Kabob was seasoned with something like Adobo or MSG. Not very good. Entrees are served with bland tasting "quick" rice. Not much to recommend here - perhaps ambiance - it's in a nice old building with interesting windows."
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Gazala's
Based on the average of (22) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
16 out of 19 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic