Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler

One of Taos' most highly acclaimed culinary destinations, The De La Tierra Restaurant offers an atmosphere that is both elegant and relaxed. Executive Chef Henry Chaperont's innovative style — focuses on seasonal ingredients, farm raised meats, fresh fish and the abundance of available local produce with European and southwest influences. Breakfast and lunch are served daily in the Gardens Dining Room, and dinner served nightly in the De la Tierra Dining Room. Sunday Brunch served 11am to 3pm.
24 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(24 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.6 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(12)
  • romantic(8)
  • fit for foodies(4)
  • good for groups(4)
  • great for brunch(3)
  • great for lunch(3)
De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler Reviews List
Review 1 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

El Monte Segrado

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Lovely setting. Great lunch."
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

no very good for the moneh

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"we went of Wednesday night when we arrived in Taos. There was only one waitress for the room so service was very uneven. The steak was not very good. The shrimp were good and the Elk chop was flavorful. Our fellow dinners were also disappointed."
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Terrible experience !!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"1st thing in the door, we have to wait 10 minutes for a hostess in an empty so-called 5 Star restaurant. Then it takes another 20 minutes to be asked for our drink order. Our waiter spoke in broken English as we attempted to place said order. After looking over the $50 a steak dinner, we're asked if we'd like 3 pieces of bread for $8. The bread they brought out was 4 days old. After waiting another 20 minutes, another waiter comes over & asks for our drink order again. After waiting another 20 minutes for water to arrive, we are not even given the specials but have to ask.
After finally placing an order, another waiter comes & asks us if we'd like some bread, at $8 a crack, to which I got up, put $20 on the table & walked out !! Thanks for wasting what seemed like an eternity on our anniversary !! It was a nightmare to say the least !! If you're hungry and want to eat at a decent hour, DO NOT GO HERE !!
"
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/27/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/29/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/29/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

El Monte Sagrado

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Very good food. Service was good. The resort looked very nice and all the staff was friendly. But the music selection for an upscale romantic type restaurant was different. It was a nice romantic setting but they were playing techno music, very weird. Also the chairs were very comfortable but did not fit under the table. We were a party of two and were seated in a nice little cove walled in on three sides. But that did not leave enough room for the table and chairs. We had to sit at an odd angle to the table. It wasn't very romantic. as you had to contort yourself to look into your dates eyes. All in all I would return for another meal as the food was very good albeit a little expensive."
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Menu Offerings

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The menu does not allow for special diets. I am gluten-free and there was almost nothing that I could choose. My wife and I have eaten at De la Tierra on three separate occasions. El Monte Sagrado is a wonderful resort. We brought friends with us on the latest visit, Sunday, May 17. We were surprised that the menu offerings were so limited. We hope the next time we pass through Taos on our way to Santa Fe that those in charge of food selection will have some gluten-free items. (A loaf of gluten-free bread does not cost much and it can be kept frozen until requested.)"
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great armisphere, food & service!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant is quite a find! Wonderful, attentive service. It's a beautiful place and the food was delicious. Highly recommended!"
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent service, food was nothing special. I had the chia seed encrusted tuna which had no flavor and my husband had the filet, which was overcooked."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Slow to react

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2010
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Took some time to get a drink order in. The bartender was only 20 ft away with only 2 customers at the bar and did not leave her post. Restaurant was empty. The Food and beverage manager was nice."
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good but not Great

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Decent food, some interesting entrées but a ways from 5 star. It was better on our first visit."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Cozy upscale spot in Taos

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great service from Moana.
Gazpacho leek and bread purée - hearty and refreshing
New Mexico red chile - authentic and delicious, great cuts of beef
Fried chicken and waffles - pairs great with Red Hot Mama red wine from Vivac Winery"
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for De La Tierra at El Monte Sagrado Resort - Kessler
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
3 out of 4 recommend this product
Food 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic