Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

East India Co. Grill & Bar Reviews List

East India Co. Grill & Bar

East India Co Grill & Bar offers a delectable journey and redefines the perception of Indian food. The romantic interior combines seductive Indian richness and sparkle, with dramatic lighting, and 1800"s sepia photographs.

Subtle complex marinades using time honored Indian grilling methods created by seasoned master chefs reflect the food trends in today's India. The menu remains true to classic Indian recipes but is served with verve and style. All of this along with our hospitality and innovative signature cocktails makes for a unique dining experience.

The restaurant is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Portland on 11th avenue between Yamhill and Taylor. We are open for lunch, happy hour, and dinner Monday through Sunday. We invite you to join us for the East India experience.

See more East India Co. Grill & Bar details
163 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(163 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 163 reviews
5 stars
(64)
4 stars
(60)
3 stars
(23)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(8)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(66)
  • romantic(52)
  • special occasion(50)
  • good for groups(43)
  • great for lunch(30)
  • neighborhood gem(26)
East India Co. Grill & Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2008
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food is good but service was poor. Seems like the owners have handed over the running of the place to a bunch of young; inexperienced wait staff. Took forever to get the drinks we had ordered."
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/24/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/13/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We are big Indian food lovers1

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/09/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Excellent food with surprisingly great presentation. Service was also excellent."
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The food was good. I would go back to try other things on the menu however I would definitely hesitate due to the very very poor service. We sat there for a while before anyone came to acknowledge us. Several service staff walked by us and didn't even acknowledge us. When we got the check, we knew why the service was so bad...a 20% gratuity was automatically charged to the bill."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/28/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Very spicy, cooked to order. Delicious!"
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Ups and downs

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Ambiance is great, place looks good. Server got both of our orders slightly wrong (my order was for lamb and was given chicken. Hers was supposed to be "Spicy", but was not at all. We started to wonder where our food was (I can understand a fair amount of time for talking and such, but it wasn't really crowded), but when I started thinking that, our server had asked if we had ordered something that we had not, walked away, leaving us confused. It happens, I used to wait tables. It looked like there was one server but others to bus and refill glasses, which may be the reason? I'm not sure. It may have been an off night. I'd say to try it once if you're a fan of Indian food at least, if you're trying out new places or are nearby.
Ignore the stars, I just went on it based on what the stars stood for. It wasn't horrible, just may not go there again."
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not so good this time.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This is a popular choice for our family for special occasions. Normally I give it 3-4 stars. This time around the service was poor. Granted it was over the holidays, but one round of drinks was totally forgotten about by the staff, the bill and to-go boxes took ages to come."
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The Food/Service

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The service was a bit disappointing. Although the restaurant was not busy, service took quite some time. Upon arrival, we waited at least 5 minutes for someone to greet us. We ended up having to walk to the bar so we could check in our reservation. We waited at least 15 minutes for drinks and another 10 minutes to order our entrees.
I was a bit disappointed that quinoa was available for a dish on the menu; however, they would not substitute for rice. I am uncertain why this was.
I ordered my dish spicy and I experienced the hottest indian food I have ever had. It was amazing. Be careful, the cooks are not messing around."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Christmas Dinner at East India Co. a Real Treat

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Service was excellent. And the food was delicious and beautifully presented. We all loved the pakoras and samosas. The papadams were great as always. The members of our party who had chicken tikka masala said it was the best they'd ever had. I loved the shrimp; I ordered mild - and it was. My husband ordered scallops medium but found them too spicy for his taste. However, he said he'd love to come back and order the same dish, only mild. The mango lassi with vodka really hit the spot. What a great way to celebrate!"
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2004
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tasty Indian Cuisine

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The dishes are flavorful and spicy. The environment is calm and noise free. The service is excellent. A great choice for Indian food in downtown Portland"
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Prejudice treatment

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Arrived 2min early and was told to wait they had to set something up. We were seated at the back with a table directly in the walkway to the kitchen with two chairs positioned to look into the kitchen and one to the back wall. We noticed several empty tables including a small booth. My family of 3 was really looking forward to a lovely dinner on Christmas Eve. We're were told the restaurant was 75% booked for the evening. We remarked that having had a reservation for two weeks prior we were a planned party and should receive priority seating. We were told no this was our table or we could come back another time. We observed that other diners of ethnicity were seated in nice tables and those of light complexion were in less desirable tables. Our serves rushed us through our appetizers and were already being served our entree when out cocktails finally arrived. Servers were not want to describe or recommend dishes or wine pairing. The food was a bland could not detect authentic spices and the naan was burnt. A Christmas disaster and the lovely booths remained unused the entire meal and no patrons were waiting to be seated.
This is the only the third time I have used Open Table to make dinner reservations and now two out of three instances we have been seated at the poorest tables in the restaurants. Is there some kind of prejudice against Open table reservations?
"
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I took my parents here for a Christmas Eve dinner and we had a great experience. It was very quiet around our 5:30 reservation, but picked up after an hour. There was a very busy large staff, our food was delicious and beautifully presented, and my mojito was perfect. It is a dim, cozy atmosphere. Highly recommend it!"
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Don't order hot food!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The drinks were too expensive -- $12 for sangria? -- and the food was surprisingly hot. I ordered medium and could barely eat it. A friend ordered hot -- she's never had to turn food away -- and couldn't eat it.
That said, the sauces were nice. Just order mild and make sure you know the prices. The Christmas menu didn't have any so we had sticker shock when we got the bill."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/24/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food -service spotty

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Our wait staff didn't stop by the table to let us know about our food -we were heading to a performance -and it made us a bit anxious. It would have been great to have someone just check in -"
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Successful business dinner for 10

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Made arrangements to come here after company holiday party down the street. Made reservations for 10 and commented that I might have a few more (cuz you never know who else will want to come along last minute). However, someone from the restaurant called me the week before to say they wouldn't have room to accommodate more as they had several parties. Ok. So even though we had 14 people who wanted to come, we felt bad we had to cut it off at 10. However, when we arrived the restaurant was not full nor very busy so they absolutely could have accommodated more people so that is the one negative in our experience.
With that said, everything else was great. The person/server who helped me pick out appetizers and then entrees and several bottles of wine, for the table to share was great. Perfect selection for everyone. Two people who never had indian really liked it, and those of us who like indian also really enjoyed the flavors. So I would recommend this place for both "beginners" and Indian food fans. We paid about $400 for 10 people and there was a bag of leftovers someone took home to their teen."
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

service was lacking this time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We frequent this restaurant as the food and ambiance are consistently great. On this occasion the service was lacking at it took a long time to place orders and receive food.
The food was very good as usual. I really like the lamb saag at this location."
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistently great!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have always enjoyed East India but this last visit was particularly delicious. It was the first time my husband said "I think the chef may have changed" but as a positive compliment. Indeed upon asking it seems they're under new ownership since our last visit and we're very pleased. The butter chicken is fantastic, the drinks are delicious and inventive and the wings are divine! Can't wait to go back and check out their happy hour."
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/04/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/28/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Best Indian food in the downtown core

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"East India Co. is our first choice for Indian food. It's not the cheapest, but the quality is consistently high. Excellent masala chai, about perfect naan, and samosas that make you wish you could have them every day. My husband adores the paneer tikka masala, while I tend to like the fish and lamb dishes. Come hungry, come with friends and share family-style. I've tried many things on the menu and never been disappointed. Oh, and it's one of the FEW QUIET RESTAURANTS around!"
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/29/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for East India Co. Grill & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>