Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Nonna of Italy Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Nonna of Italy

Nonna is Italian for grandmother, but besides respect for tradition, this spacious Sunset Strip ingenue is molto moderno. The restrained elegance of gleaming wood floors, paneled walls, and minimalist furnishings is offset by the exuberant energy from the large display kitchen.

Dishes are carefully made from superior ingredients and presented simply in generous portions. The menu showcases excellent products in plates of tangy, imported buratta, or prosciutto and melon. A bowl of orecchiette topped with ground sausage and aged pecorino is nothing fancy but made with care. Lighter Californian fare like thin-crust pizza and seared ahi tuna can also be found.

A glassed-in wine cellar has a strong collection of reds from Tuscany and Piedmont.
36 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(36 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
(22)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(15)
  • good for groups(13)
  • neighborhood gem(13)
  • special occasion(10)
  • great for lunch(9)
  • notable wine list(9)
Nonna of Italy Reviews List
Review 1 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great pasta!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was good, however their special pasta of the day was to die for! I do not remember what it was called since it wasn't on the menu, but it was in a red sauce with pancetta. I'm think it was pasta All'Amatriciana. It truly tasted just like the pasta in Italy!! I wish I would have purchased a side of the sauce! The restaurant has gluten free pasta available, as well. Thank you !!"
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unexpected Treat!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food is delicious, & the noise level is just right & you can hear others at your table which is not always the case at so many of the restaurants I go to. The booths are comfortable & no one bothers you when you sit a wee bit too long. The salads are wonderful as well as their pizza's which are absolutely the "Best" in town as well as the pasta. Also loved their homemade garlic balls which they include with their fresh bread. Looking forward to another yummy lunch or dinner at this restaurant! Have also attended private parties here & they do a terrific job!"
Dined on 6/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our favorite neighborhood restaurant!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"From the manager to our server, Nonna of Italy is our favorite neighborhood restaurant. The guest we bring love Nonna's as much as we do -- which makes a fun evening with friends a lot of fun."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

eating and conversation

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"one of few places where can relax and converse while dining. a real find after theater at annenberg in beverly hills"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Terrific as usual

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2005
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had another ejoyable dinner at Nonna last night. The food was great and the servers were friendly and attentive. The atmosphere in the restaurant is always warm and inviting."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2005
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Review of Nonna

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2009
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"very few people so felt very empty and not terribly exciting. mostly old people and families. not much of a vibe and food was mediocre at best. atmosphere is also lacking. nice waiters."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our first time at Nonna was a pleasant surprise. We were warmly greeted. The tables and booths were well spaced allowing us to have our own conversation without listening to the conversation of others. An excellent wine list and great food. Our server was friendly and efficient without being overbearing. We will return."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best neighborhood restaurant in West Hollywood

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great menu, serving delicious food. Impeccable service. Warm, friendly staff. Nonna's is the best restaurant in the area."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The service was excellent - we were even offered some fresh truffles (off the menu). Our main course and desserts were excellent as well."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

What a Disaster

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I came in with a TZ voucher which included:
" - Two appetizers or salads, like the sashimi-grade ahi tuna tartar(up to $20 each)
- Two entrees (secondis or pastas) (up to $39 each)
- A shared dessert (up to $12)
- Two glasses of wine (up to $13 each)" for $49 (reg up to $156)
Everything was okay when my date and I walked in, then I informed the server of the TZ voucher. He seemed okay with it, but immediately informed me there was no veal being served that night. Okay, well veal was the only entree that was $39 and that's what they were known for... was it really that big of a coincidence. I decided to just pay extra for the steak entree and my date got the lobster spaghetti with arrabiata sauce. For appetizers, we got the cheese plate, and I paid a little extra for their nonna appeitizer which had prosciutto, bruschetta, mozzarella cheese and toasts with goat cheese.
The cheese plate was great, it was our favorite dish of the night, but it was something so simple, you could recreate it with even better cheeses from your local TJ. The prosciutto wasn't bad as well. The main courses were terrible... not just bad, but just plain terrible. When you're known for your Italian food and even use Nonna in your title, be sure you know how to make a basic arriabatta sauce. The arriabata sauce was bad here.. no spices and very light in flavor. My date took one bite and just toyed with her food after that.. My steak had no complaints, it was just a regular steak. A regular steak that retailed for $41. Who actually comes here and pays these ridiculous prices for mediocre Italian food?
To make things worse, our server kept disappearing for long periods of time. We waited 30minutes to get our check, when we got it and put the card in, he disappears only to come back 10minutes later. With the extra add-ons, TZ voucher, tax and tip, we ended up paying $110 total for a meal that tasted like $40 max.
The experience was just plain awful and I won't be back."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2011
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The perfect neighborhood gem!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Service is impeccable and the food is delicious and even great for vegetarians!"
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Oscar always does a great job managing the place. Our server was David and he was very attentive. The Osso Buco was absolutely delicious!!!!!"
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nonna of Italy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a wonderful meal at Nonna's. We did use a Travelzoo voucher to try their menu. The appetizers were delicious. The main dishes were really good, my husband's pork chop (special of the day) was moist, large portion and had a little smokey taste. He said best pork chop he has had. I tried the roasted chicken, it was very tasty with the herbs and very moist inside. The dessert was the apple tarte tatin, not as good as we expected. It is a piece of tart from a larger tart I assume, not an individual tart. Not very appealing on the plate plus it was not very delicious either. Crust over cooked on bottom like cardboard and apples were really mushy. Overall the food was delicious unfortunately ended on a low note. Our server Dave was very helpful in suggestions and was very nice. Place was very crowded as the night went on so he became less attentive but no fault of his own due to the number of tables he had."
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Nonna of Italy
Based on the average of (19) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
15 out of 17 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic