Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Tolani Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Tolani

In South African slang, "Tolani" means "too good," and that is exactly what this UWS gem is – an unpretentious spot of which you simply can't get enough. Drawing from the very best flavors, techniques and ingredients from each corner of the world, Tolani Wine Restaurant's menu brings a culinary adventure to your backyard, marrying authenticity with ingenuity.
95 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(95 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
5 stars
(41)
4 stars
(39)
3 stars
(12)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for brunch(40)
  • neighborhood gem(40)
  • romantic(36)
  • fit for foodies(32)
  • good for groups(21)
  • notable wine list(20)
Tolani Reviews List
Review 1 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great, but downgrade for LONG wait

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Came for brunch. Great food! Biggest issue for me, was the extreme wait. We got there on time, and had to wait about 45 min until we were seated. They made room for us at the bar, but when you have a reservation you expect to me seated with less of a wait. If you can't seat a table at the correct time - don't bother to take a reservation!
That being said, the food itself was great and the servers were extremely nice and very attentive. A+ as far as the food goes!"
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2008
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great place for brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a carafe of mango bellinis for only $20. You could also have mimosas. Try the French toast stuffed with Nutella and topped with strawberries. Delicious. The hostess and servers are delightful."
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tolani
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Brunch was terrible. No wonder place was empty!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Tolani's brunch was atrocious. They were out of hollandaise, don't have jam or preserves for toast and muffins, and the food was marginal at best. There was one other table of people in the place (should have been the first hint) and our food took almost an hour. The mimosa's were made using last night's (not so) sparkling wine and orange juice concentrate. Such a cute place that it is a shame they can't get it together for a decent brunch!"
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Hot spot--literally

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I chose to dine at Tolani to celebrate a special birthday of mine. It was extremely hot and humid outside and I was looking forward to eating in the cool cave-like downstairs. Unfortunately there was a private event taking place downstairs. Ok, so we were seated upstairs, fine right? 90 degrees, 100% humidity no air conditioning! We stayed and ate and the food was great and the service was excellent but the experience was destroyed due to our sweating and discomfort. I really felt bad for the staff too. I recommend this restaurant but if this happened again I would leave if this wasn't dealt with quickly like this night."
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This place is a must!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"One word can easily describe this place - AMAZING!!"
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tolani
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tolani

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My server, Ana, was exceptional and very knowledgeable of what's best in the menu."
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

tolani is not on Open table!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"open table reservation are NOT valid. otherwise it's a lovely place."
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great mothers day brunch w/ kids

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"we had a great table downstairs by the garden. Food is great and well priced, the $20 mimosa pitcher is great value, we got 2 glasses each for 4 people out of it! Service was friendly but a bit patchy - we were told the coffee would take 20-30 minutes as that's how long the espresso / coffee machine takes to warm up from start up.....?!?!?!? Overall a very pleasant experience, definitely worth trying on your brunch rota in the UWS"
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tolani
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tolani ... again and again!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Took two friends for a celebratory dinner to Tolani ... it was amazing, as usual.... my friends left the ordering in my hands, and I went for the usual - both the meat balls and the vegetable meatballs (YUMM!), the guacamole, the flatbread and gnudi... plus tried a new dish - the artichoke (carefully prepared til both soft and crispy... covered with cheese)... it's a NEW FAVORITE!!!
I'll be back again and again - as long as the service is this good and the food remains top notch!"
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Brunch on Amsterdam

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great meeting spot, with breakfast and lunch choices available for brunch -- and pitcher of mimosas was a nice addition!"
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/25/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tolani - my neighbor, my FAV!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"After I've been in the neighborhood for 14 years, finally discovered a favorite restaurant! I think I've been here 6 times in the past 4 months! Love the food; LOVE the ambiance of the basement; love the servers and service! All great!
Wish I didn't love the meatballs so much (both veggie and meat)! But it means I'll be BACK OFTEN!!!!!
Keep doing what you're doing - it's working!"
Dined on 3/16/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Cocktails and wine only

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I really wanted to love Tolani, but the food was a deal breaker. My boyfriend and I ordered the oysters, which were decently large size (the server did not inform us where they were from) but each oyster had a shell-like crunch, which made them difficult to enjoy. The mussels were bland and did not have any flavor. The cheese plate was descent, we ordered the Brie and it came with a jam and pickled vegetable which was pretty tasty. Lastly, the meatball was pretty good. Although it was small, we were able to split it.
They have a good wine list and a variety of whiskies and ryes that impressed my boyfriend. Overall I suggest this place for drinks only, the ambience was romantic and comfortable which is why I still like this place.
"
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A nice date night spot!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Had a few plates to share which was perfect. Loved the butterfly shrimp, so delicious. The happy hour drink specials was an added bonus. The decor and service was great. Would definitely enjoy going to this place again."
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I loved the music and the restaurant was very nice. Staff was very helpful and friendly."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The place was warm & cozy with a nice ambience. Nestled in a corner with 3 of my fave people with delish food & a very attentive & funny waiter."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pretty Good

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good wine list and good food. Small portions, but some are inexpensive, so it wouldn't hurt your wallet to get two. Still wouldn't say go here if you're starving, but it made for a really nice night out. I'd surely go again."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Tolani
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice for drinks, bad for dinner

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The upstairs bar is quite nice. However, dinner downstairs is something one can miss. The food was mostly tasteless, the service was awful! There were items on the menu they were out of. I was told the bottle of wine we wanted wasn't available as their case was a bad batch. After promptly receiving our check and with wine glasses still in our hands, the hostess invited us to finish our drinks upstairs but asked that we leave the table as it was needed for another group. I will not be back for dinner! And while I liked the bar for drinks, with poor service and poor food, I can skip the bar too. I'd rather show my support to restaurants that show appreciation to good customers."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Tolani
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Poor experience

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The waitresses made us feel very rushed. There wasn't any beer available on the menu. At all. Really? The cheese plate portions were minuscule. Will not be returning."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Tolani
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Emergency help needed!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We first went to Tolani when it opened several years ago. It had some kinks that needed attention but basically was pretty good. We went again about 6 months ago and it was very, very good. Then a few days ago we paid our 3rd visit. What a disappointment. Our waitress told us that the old chef had left and the new menu was tapas. The food wasn't bad but it wasn't by any means inspirational either. We hope they get some culinary triage and soon! (They also didn't register our reservation but luckily we were able to get that fixed with OpenTable.)"
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

This place is adorable!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I've been here every season and they always change the menu accordingly. Sitting outside during those hot summer nights is fantastic. They also have an adorable downstairs seating with twinkly lights and a great ambiance. Recently, my friend and I came here for brunch. We had great service and the food was really yummy. We got a lot of different choices to split and ended up eating everything in sight! I definitely recommend this neighborhood gem."
Dined on 10/26/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great place for "Girls Brunch" - service was on point, food was delicious! Would definetly come back again and maybe buy some artwork next time :)"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great restaurant in the upper west side

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We came after visiting the American museum of natural history. Our table was ready. Service is good, so is the food. The ambient is really nice."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Tolani
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food is always good here

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Over the years I've had dinner & brunch here, and have always been happy with the food, service, & drinks/wine. This past time 2 of us ordered the fried eggs w/ tortilla chips - wouldn't order that again, as there are a ton of chips and not enough salsa or cheese to balance the dish out. The dinner menu, in particular, is interesting. And I've bought Living Social vouchers for this restaurant many times & will buy again the next time they become available."
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great experience I would go back and recommend ppl to go. Fun time and nice staff"
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great brunch great decor!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great food and great value... Looking forward to trying happy hour and dinner!!!"
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A true hidden gem

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This was my second time to Tolani's. We sat in the downstairs seating area this time, which I had no idea existed. It was charming and beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed our brunch and unlimited mimosas abs bellinis.
We'll definitely be back!"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, hot spot, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Tolani
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2010
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great little place. The Brunch Menu had great selections and the meal did not disappoint. Will be back again soon."
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Tolani
Based on the average of (53) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
42 out of 42 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic