Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla Reviews List

Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla

Mustangs & Burros is a classic rancho-style restaurant with a cozy and intimate dining room, featuring a spacious patio reminiscent of a Spanish hacienda. Both areas feature wonderful and inviting fireplaces. Enjoy small plates with big Southwest flavors and extraordinary house-crafted cocktails, including innovative margaritas & our very own M&B sangria, or join us for a dinner of regional cuisine inspired by the season. The Mustangs & Burros culinary team prides themselves on utilizing locally grown and sustainable ingredients in a fresh, unique and imaginative way.
See more Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla details
97 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(97 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
5 stars
(40)
4 stars
(30)
3 stars
(12)
2 stars
(13)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(48)
  • romantic(29)
  • good for groups(20)
  • fit for foodies(19)
  • special occasion(16)
  • neighborhood gem(14)
Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla Reviews List
Review 1 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Save your time and money

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Let me first say the wait staff were very nice and helpful. They had to work hard to make customers happy due to other issues within the establishment. We had a reservation for two we arrived a few minutes early, they sat us at some tiny tables at the bar. After I realized what was going on I went to the hostess and asked for a real table. She tried to push me off telling me that they had reservations all night long, to which I replied I had a reservation too, and it was not for the bar. We waited and she got us to the next open table. We ordered a bunch of things soup, duck enchiladas and pork chops. It took 20 minutes to get soup and chips and salsa, it only got worse from there. It was all rather unspectacular given the hype, price etc. the best thing we had all night was the salsa, everything else was average at best, not bad just average. I had difficulty getting a soup spoon , they wanted me to use the teaspoon because the banquet was using all the soup spoons..... Halfway through my soup the waitress showed up with a soup spoon. I could go on but you get the point. Let me say again the waiters and waitresses were very nice and tried to help but the system is stacked against them"
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Lackluster

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Came for Restaurant Week. Mixed reviews on Yelp, but given the venue, decided to give it a try anyway. Appetizers failed to come out approximately 30-40 minutes after ordered. Our server asked us if they had come out. We said no. He told us there had been a mix-up in the kitchen. 10 more minutes and they finally came out. All in all the food was ok, but not stellar. It was passable."
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Great live music, but terrible food.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Come here for the music. Make sure to eat and drink before arriving. Take Uber or walk there. This place isn't worth the price. The menu is written to entice but the food is not cooked with love. This is apparent when you take one bite and immediately notice the lack of flavor. Furthermore, why would a chef want to hide scallops underneath a bed of arugala drenched in sauce? Although the service was top notch, we had to sit at a table that was the same height as our knees and next to an open door when it was windy and cold outside. I made reservations to sit inside and this is where they seat me. The only thing that made this place worthwhile was the awesome live music. Too bad the musician had to play outside in the freezing cold with a parka on."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Overpriced

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The people are nice the location and ambience is awesome. The food wasn't bad. The overall value is what ruined it. The wine list was good enough. The presentation wasn't even that great for the price. It was food you could get at any restaurant for 50% less. I would go again for pre dinner drinks and then eat some other place."
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great service from Steph.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We made a reservation & the place was packed. The hostess was very gracious when we had to wait at the bar. However, our bartender was Stephanie and we gave u p our table to stay at the bar! She was great, quick witted, and very attentive. The fish tacos were wonderful. Unfortunately, the guacamole has a lot of room for improvement. The drinks were very well prepared and quite tasty."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2006
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/24/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2002
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2002
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/11/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

No room at the Inn

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/01/2015
 2005
Dined on 12/01/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"While my reservation was cheerfully accepted by Estancia, they notified me 1 hour prior to the dinner that the restaurant was closed due to a private party. Hence, seating outside at a high-top or a couch were the only alternatives. We started at the couch -- cold and damp! Then moved to a high table near a heat lamp. A little better. Service was very good; wine nicely priced; pork chop excellent.
Still, the bait and switch is worrisome.
"
Dined on 12/01/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Perfect place to dine pre or post event at La Jolla Playhouse. Food was excellent, especially mac and cheese. We had a cozy table by the fire place, candle on the table, so beautiful. Service was excellent. This is our second visit post theatre and shall be back. Wonderful neighborhood gem."
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 11/29/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Scallops were a true delight!"
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect pre-theatre location

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to restaurant prior to attending play at U.C.S.D. Perfect location, easy in and out valet service. Loved dining outside, service was excellent. Enjoyed Happy Hour tacos and sangria!! So nice to have place nearby to dine before play. We shall be back!!"
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great food and beer is cold. I would sit outside to get a nice evening out. Crowd is older but if u go with a bunch of friends it will be a good time."
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great service and food."
Dined on 9/22/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2006
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I always love this place and have recommended it to many friends. However this time I'm hugely disappointed by the valet service. I arrived with a full tank and two hours later found 1/4 tank of gas gone and all my car settings (steering wheel, rear mirror, side mirrors, and seat very warm) changed. I informed the management that someone drove my car out. I was met with suspicion. They would not trust my words and implying I was lying. I'm never going back there ever again. Meanwhile, I want to warn all future diners: check your mileage odometer and gas meter."
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2013
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/16/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The ambiance outside sitting by the fireplace while listening to the Latin guitarist was pure perfection! So cozy and romantic!"
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious food and lovely setting

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We ate a late dinner here when my husband and I stayed at the Estancia in La Jolla for a nearby wedding. They had live with music with a gentleman playing a guitar and you could sit outside near an outdoor fireplace or inside in the charming small restaurant. We loved the ambiance. The waitress was attentive without hovering. We started with the guacamole and some margaritas which were both excellent. I don't know what the seasoning was on their house-made tortilla chips, but it was addicting. My husband got the mac and cheese and it was so good. I got a lobster chopped salad that was delicious with a very generous portion of very fresh lobster and the perfect amount of dressing and well-prepared veggies. I sometimes hesitate to eat at hotel restaurants, but I would recommend this one even if you weren't staying at the hotel."
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Estancia Dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had reservations for a party of 8.
The restaurant had previously seated a separate party of 2 at the end of our table, we had to ask the restaurant to reseat them.
One of our group had to send back the nachos for being too cold and another guest had to send his burger and fries back twice for being ice cold.
"
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food but slow service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"If you are in a hurry this is not the place. Took 1/2 hour for our appetizers and almost another 1/2 hours for our entrees."
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing costumer service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dining at Mustangs and Burros

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our waitress was the perfect combination of friendly and efficient - recommending good wine choices and happy to please with our split-plate orders. The food was delicious and the portions were perfect. We enjoyed every bite! Wish we lived closer - we would dine here all the time!"
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great Nachos!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Often meet up with friends at Estancia Mustangs & Burros for the convenience factor. I hate to be negative, but we have never had a cocktail made right! Even the Margaritas are so overly soured, it is undrinkable. Stick with beer or wine. Chicken Nachos were very tasty. Hamburgers were all overcooked and sweet potato fries were cold when delivered. Our server did bring us a plate of hot fries and they were also very good. The halibut fish tacos were fine but nothing memorable and the Pulled Pork mac n cheese was very dry. We would have preferred to eat outdoors since it was very warm out but the tables are too small for entree size plates. Hint to manager, get larger tables for outside patio dining!"
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/20/2015
 2007
Dined on 7/20/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/20/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

lovely setting, great food & service!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"3/17-birthday
Brought people here from Palm Desert-none of us had been before-we were ALL very happy with our choice of food and service-will return!
"
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Mustangs & Burros at Estancia La Jolla
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not your typical Southern Calif. restaurant

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was tasty but not exceptional. The outside service area on a pretty night was terrific and almost reason enough by itself to like Mustangs. I would definitely return. The servers were very pleasant though not particularly attentive."
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>