Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Viand Bar and Kitchen Reviews List

Viand Bar and Kitchen

Situated in the electric Streeterville neighborhood, Viand Bar and Kitchen offers an oasis of serenity. Indulge in a time-honored meal infused with the multicultural heritage of Chicago. Wholesome, fresh ingredients are prepared and served by a passionate staff, and you may even find the Executive Chef herself making sure patrons are enjoying their meals. The bold flavorful dishes celebrate our love for the city and its culinary traditions. From outings with family and friends, a Saturday night date or even a company gathering, this hidden gem is a wonderful place for any occasion.
See more Viand Bar and Kitchen details
57 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
(57 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
(12)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(20)
2 stars
(12)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Service 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(11)
  • great for lunch(11)
  • romantic(8)
  • neighborhood gem(7)
  • fit for foodies(6)
  • special occasion(6)
Viand Bar and Kitchen Reviews List
Review 1 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/26/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I will start this review by saying that I have never written a review before. The experience at this restaurant however was so awful, I felt it was appropriate to complete my first. We were either given a brand new waiter, one with no experience, or he was just famously horrible at his job. There were 8 people in our party, none of whom are high maintenance in their ordering. Several of the meals were brought out incorrectly, our plates were not cleared in a timely manner, we were rarely checked on; which made it difficult to alert our server to the mistakes that were made. When we were finally finished, we were instructed that the ticket could only be split 3 ways. No problem, we were able to figure that out between ourselves. However, our waiter was NEVER able to grasp that concept. We told him how to split the ticket, and for the next 45 minutes, suffered through him bringing the wrong totals. We even went as far as writing down each individual order to place an each ticket....and he was STILL unable to do the correctly. Poor service, poor experience. Many missed opportunities: we would have probably spent another $100 on drinks had the service been better. This needs to be a hard pass for anyone looking."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Sunday Brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friend and I stopped in for a breakfast before going on a day trip. The food was great, service just okay, and price of midrange. Will go back for lunch or dinner."
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great for lunch, but service is slow! Allow enough time for waiting."
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Appetizer was very week; dry, burnt meatballs. They felt bad and took it off our check. Main dish was decent but overpriced."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Awful. Cold, not welcoming and strange.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There's a lot of great places to eat in Chicago, Viand would not be at the top of my list. Dinner rolls were hard as a brick, appetizer unappetizing, flatbread mediocre."
Dined on 11/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Poor service, good food.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was almost like we were not there. Terrible, inattentive service. I was entertaining a group in an attempt to earn their business and at times found myself chasing a server down to get fresh drinks at the table. It was a frustrating experience. That being said, the food was pretty good."
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/29/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service can be a little slow at lunch time, but the wait staff is very nice and accommodating."
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2005
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The service was a little slow.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Unfortunately, there was no indication on OpenTable that this is the Courtyard Marriott's restaurant. Had we known that, we would not have reserved a table. The restaurant was almost completely empty, yet our server took quite a while to take our drink orders. After serving them, she disappeared again for some time. In the end, the food was not bad, but the experience left a bad taste in my mouth."
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Chef Tyler is AMAZING!!"
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/25/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fine if you're in the area

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Everything is just "Fine" and "OK". Nothing stands out. Room is comfortable. A decent variety of meals (size and stylistically). Service is adequate and friendly but not necessarily en pointe. Our meals were good (ranging from soups, salads, ribs, risotto) and prices were decent for a hotel spot. I remembered it to be a slightly more adventurous spot so I was disappointed on this outing. It's not to be avoided or anything--just not worth going out of one's way."
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/19/2015
 2003
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nothing Special but they have potential

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was great (server was Boston, he was fantastic), and the place was nice, but the food was pricey for what it was. The menu is pretty small. There are tons of other options in the area, that have great food, larger portions, and more options."
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2004
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2004
Special Features: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Deserves More Attention

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Maybe there's a stigma because the restaurant is kind of "attached" to the Marriott Courtyard, but we were there on a Saturday night and it was only a quarter full. That's a shame, because the kitchen knows its business and more people should be taking advantage. Beet salad was very fresh, with an unusual semi- sweet dressing. Tomato basil soup was a close relative to gazpacho, which is a good thing. The ribs were fall-off-the-bone with a different tasting dry rub (maybe cumin influenced?) and paparadelle with pork belly was well executed. Service was efficient and friendly. This is a good place that deserves more attention than just the guests from the hotel."
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2004
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2004
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2004
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Could have been a contender

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Despite reservation, table not ready. Drinks and appetizer took a long time to arrive, despite paucity of customers. Ordered a glass of wine to go with my dinner. Finally a different waiter showed up with a glass of wine and wanted to know if anyone at our table had ordered it. The menu looked good, but execution was not. My pasta was a gummy stuck together mass of blandness. My grandkids and daughter shared food with me. Greatly disappointed."
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Total Miss

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2007
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2007
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were in Chicago for the Taylor Swift concert. Although my girls (ages 6 and 10) aren't necessarily foodies, my husband and I are. We thought it would be easy to eat at the hotel restaurant after a busy day of traveling and sightseeing before our big concert, so to make our lives easier we opted for an early reservation at Viand.
We really should have eaten elsewhere.
The restaurant was almost empty at 5pm for our early dinner. Our waiter was nice, and he repeated our simple order back to us. He got my wine order wrong (he gave me a glass of Pinot Grigio instead of the glass of Pinot Noir that I ordered), but he quickly rectified the situation.
After waiting about 35 minutes, our food finally arrived, but two things were wrong, and one of our items didn't arrive. My daughter almost spit her tomato soup out because it was greasy and orange and a little cold. We were told it was yellow tomato soup, but it tasted like carrot soup and the grease on top just turned us off. My husband's cheese fondue was adequate (it did come in a very cute serving pot, though), and my caprese salad was NOT good. The dressing was sweet and thick and odd. I never received my actual entree (after almost an hour, they just wrapped it up for me to take even though I didn't want it anymore).
None of us really ate anything much from our meal because all of us were a bit confused at the service (lack of service) and the quality (lack of quality) of our food.
My 10 year old said, "This is a really disappointing restaurant, a total miss."
I couldn't agree more."
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The Beet salad was amazing, I will be back!!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice night but not memorable food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Early Sunday evening, we were the only diners in this hotel-based restaurant. We were seated quickly (though the restaurant forgot to record that and opentable initially counted us as no shows). Our server was attentive throughout the meal.
We order drinks, a couple of appetizers, and then our entrees. I ordered a panzanella and a risoto to share with my husband . When the salad arrived, we were told the risotta would be out in a couple of minutes. I finished the panzanella and inquired about the risotto. The waiter than said he was holding it until we finished the salad. Unfortunately, it was not hot when it got to the table. I was actually full from the appetizers and salad so after a few bites, we asked for it to be bagged up to go. My concern is that if the server had merely asked when we wanted the risotto, I would have told him I wanted it with the salad. But, risotto should be served steaming, not just warmed. As we were the only diners in the entire place, the kitchen should be embarrassed by serving food at that temperature.
We enjoyed our dinner despite the glitch. The rest of the food was quite good. Not sure why others were not eating there given its location."
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Just ok

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had been here a few years ago and the food and service were far better at that visit than this time. The service was mediocre, the food was just ok (in some cases it was not good) and it was expensive for what we got. Won't go back for a while, until the reviews get better."
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2006
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Quiet Dinner Spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was very good. Homemade salsa was excellent. Service was slow. Only 2 other tables in the place and they forgot part of my order. Had to wait 15 minutes to find server to ask for check. Food service was slow as well."
Dined on 3/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

ProMat Convention - Dinner Out

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was good. Salmon main course portion was small. Desert was really small
Bartender who served me seemed offstandish, not conversational and a bit distant. Not friendly.
Bar was understaffed with only the bartender mixing drinks, taking dinner orders not only at the bar but also the surrounding tables as well.
The restaurant was advertised online, in the hotel dining listing, and on google maps as something special. I would disagree. Not compared to all the other nearby dining and bar establishments."
Dined on 3/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great experience. This restaurant is in a very dense area with numerous big name restaurants and I imagine it gets overlooked. It should not be. I went with a small group and we went down the appetizer list one by one and shared tapas style. Enjoyed them all, especially the beer cheese fondue. Topped off the apps with a filet which was outstanding. Talked with the Executive Chef who stopped by our table for a few moments which I was very impressed by. He later sent out a dish he recommended on the house. Considering the area, our bill could have been much higher. Food: phenomenal. Service: average ( this is not to be taken negatively ). Bill: Right price. Atmosphere: Fun and pleasurable. Viand Bar, thank you for creating a fine dining experience the 99% can enjoy. My wife and I will be back."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Viand

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Easy, straightforward food in this hotel dining room. Good breakfast options. Well spaced tables and booths allowing good conversation. Pleasant, attentive service."
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Great food, horrible service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was on point, pappardelle was amazing but could not overlook the horrible service, wait time, lack of sense of customer...too many good restaurants in Chicago to give bad service, skip this place!"
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Poor Food

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Ordered two flatbreads--cheese and the sausage one. Taste and toppings were very good. The bread was chewy and rubbery--difficult to chew and eat. Just was good. Ordered Beet Salad and it was way too sweet--must have put a lot of sugar in the sauce. Passed our comments and a manager came over and discussed our disappointments and gave a discount on our bill.
Was noisy but two holidays parties were being held. This is understandable.
Probably will never go back."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

so so

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"thanksgiving dinner was just so so. the turkey was too dry, the stuffing too salty. Overall, a bland experience"
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Viand Bar and Kitchen
Based on the average of (10) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
7 out of 9 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate