Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sam Sneads American Grill Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Sam Sneads American Grill

Back in 2001, a group of local businessmen got together with an idea to open a restaurant in the historic Southside Village which would focus on three things: Great Food, Great Service, and most of all, Great Times.
Through the years Sam Snead's American Grill has become a favorite local gathering spot. We exhibit Sam Snead memorabilia supplied by the Snead family.
We pride ourselves in offering only the best and freshest ingredients available. We prepare all fresh made soups and sauces, and serve hand cut Certified Angus Beef, which only a select few establishments are able to offer. We receive daily deliveries of fresh local produce, seafood and poultry and our prices and quality add up to value.

We enjoy offering friendly and professional service, paired with the talents of our passionate management and kitchen crew for an outstanding Sarasota dining experience!
35 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
(35 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(14)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(11)
Food 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Service 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Noise Level
3.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(17)
  • great for lunch(12)
  • good for groups(9)
  • vibrant bar scene(7)
  • fit for foodies(5)
  • great for outdoor dining(4)
Sam Sneads American Grill Reviews List
Review 1 for Sam Sneads American Grill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Sam Sneads Sarasota

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were extremely disappointed in Open Table when we arrived at Sam Sneads.....it is OUT OF BUSINESS ! Open Table should NOT have taken the reservation!"
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sam Sneads American Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice for out of town guests

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Good menu for all tastes, nice ambience and the wait staff was excellent!"
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sam Sneads American Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great New Year's Eve Dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Always a good meal and good time at Sam Snead's! My lovely lady had the ribs, I had the chicken dish, both were outstanding! I will be back at Sam Snead's again very soon!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sam Sneads American Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pleasantly surprised

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Enjoyed Sam's over the years, but it slipped badly before closing. Very pleased with the new restaurant and ownership. It's back on our favored list."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sam Sneads American Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent choice for any occasion

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was not our first dinner at Sam Snead's and, as usual, we were not disappointed.
My companion has filet mignon and I had trout almondine. They were both outstanding.
Service could have been a little better but we were not in a hurry so it didn't matter. A
great dining experience.
"
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sam Sneads American Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Christmas Eve Dining Experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Sam Snead's recently re-opened after having been closed for a while. I had been to this restaurant one time previously after it reopened and while my experience then was good, it was not great. This time, it was much better in every aspect, and we will definitely return again. We were promptly seated upon arrival and my request (thru OpenTable) for close-by seating was honored - much appreciated. While the restaurant was quite busy, service was prompt, efficient, and friendly. One person in our party of 3 had the ribs and thoroughly enjoyed them; my prime rib was considerably better than last time - quite good, with far less waste, and cooked just right. The scallops/pasta dish was decent but a bit different than what the person who ordered it expected. The menu itself is quite extensive, with lots of choices in all categories. Prices are moderate. Valet parking is available in the rear of the restaurant, necessitating a bit of a walk to the main entrance - this could be an issue for anyone who is mobility challenged. The walkway is not completely covered by awnings, so if it's raining (as it was when we left) one can get a tad wet! Overall, a very nice dining experience, and we will definitely return."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sam Sneads American Grill
Based on the average of (29) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
2.9 / 5
(Good) 2.9 / 5
17 out of 28 recommend this product
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic