Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Café La Fontana Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Café La Fontana

Located in downtown Hatboro, Cafe La Fontana is renowned for its culinary excellence and internationally inspired dishes. We invite you to discover the Cafe La Fontana experience, menu and wine list.
54 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(54 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
5 stars
(15)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(14)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(21)
  • neighborhood gem(21)
  • great for lunch(13)
  • special occasion(13)
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • romantic(7)
Café La Fontana Reviews List
Review 1 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2013
 2011
Dined on 11/20/2013
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/20/2013
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Best mussles in town. Excellent service."
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Slow service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our meal was very good, especially the warm Brie salad with figs and apples. The service was lousy. Despite having a reservation, we sat for over 15 minutes without acknowledgement or even a glass of water. There seemed to be confusion over which server had our table. Our eventual server was pleasant but again service was slow. We waited another 15 minutes waiting to pay while she chatted with a gentleman at another table. Makes us wonder if we will return despite the good meal."
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Everything was great. Friendly staff.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A raving fan

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I was truly impressed by my experience . This was my first visit to Cafe LaFontana and I expect to return frequently in the future. I had Lasagne and the gravy reminded me of growing up at my grandmother's table. The service was excellent and the atmosphere perfect for lunch. I plan to return for dinner with friends."
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed!!!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was our second time at La Fontana. We were celebrating my birthday (which we told them about when we made the reservation), and we picked it because our first experience was very positive. This time, not so much. There was only ONE server in the whole place. Not even a host/hostess! Only two other tables were occupied. Our server was harried, of course. But she looked liked she came in right off the street. She had on her raincoat the entire time. Very unprofessional. I'm not even sure she was an actual server. The food was only mediocre. The bread was unheated, dry and bland. My pasta (fettichini with salmon in a pink vodka sauce) was SWIMMING in the sauce. My husband and I each ordered a a glass of wine. Not only did the server not know what was a available, she ended up hand carrying each glass (in the wrong kind of goblet for red wine), rather than on a serving tray. We did not order dessert. We could not wait to get out of there."
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great restaurant with updated look."
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Decent in a pinch

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The garlic knots before the meal were great! We ordered a cuber salad and Brie salad before and it was fine. The brie and apple were Classic pairings. Would've liked arugula for the contrast in flavor but whatever. The chicken piccata was decent but nothing special. Instead of cooking down the sauce to thicken it they added flour which cuts down on the flavor. The dessert, light side of th moon cake, was good but the cream cheese frosting in the middle was frozen.
It was fine because we were starving but it wasn't a place I would crave to go back to."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Surprising new menu

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We live in hatboro but haven't eaten at la fantana for awhile- the menu was fairly boring and it is a bit dark -soft lighting and candles would be nice- especially on Valentine's!
Food was great and we'll be back if they keep some of the new items
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2003
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2003
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"nothing special, bu nothing bad. Be sure to ask the price of the daily specials. Way over-priced."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Everything ala carte

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We have been going to this restaurant for years. However this time we were very disappointed with the new menu. It is smaller and everything including vegetables are extra. I ordered a chicken dish and had to pay $2.50 for an order of green beans.
O r else my dinner would have been 2 pieces of chicken on a plate.
Salad no longer comes with the meal either.
The food was very good but even a platter should have. A vegetable with it.
We will not be going back there anytime soon
"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Mussell in red sauce were disappointing - small mussells with a glop of red sauce on top"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Still Great

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I've been to Cafe LaFontana in the past, but have not been there recently. My wedding shower was there and everything was wonderful, but I haven't been there since. I had a group of friends coming over and decided that Cafe LaFontana would be a good spot for dinner. Not having been there in a while, I was a little concerned that things had changed and it would not be as good. I should not have worried. The service was excellent, as well as the food. Everyone in my party raved about their dinner. I would definitely go back, and hope to be back more often in the future. We had a great time."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Can't go wrong

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had a really wonderful time. Even though it was Christmas Eve, the service was very good, the food was good and portions were amazing. It was packed and so a little slow but the quality was kept up perfectly."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dinner out with the girls.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The restaurant was empty and they still wanted to seat as at the drink station. We ordered salads which were very good. I had lasagna. It was so mushy and over cooked I could not eat it. Even when sending an almost full plate back, the waiter nor the host (who also cleared the table) question it or asked if I wanted it to be boxed. Still hungry I decided to order dessert. A simple cannoli was terrible. The shell was stale and it was $7 dollars! We moved to the bar area and took our glasses with us. The bartender disappeared for a very long time so when we finished our drinks there was no one to make new ones.
The bar area and seating area in that room is very pretty and seems like a great place to meet up for drinks and not be caught in the 20 something crowds and music. I would be tempted to try drinks there again, but I would not ever go back hungry. I am not a food snob, and only ordered a simple Italian dish so I was really disappointed to spend $40 on a salad and drink.
"
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2012
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Café La Fontana
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Our waiter was very attentive, the food was good

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our waiter was attentive, the food was good and we had a nice night"
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Café La Fontana
Based on the average of (28) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
20 out of 24 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic