Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

THIS LOCATION IS NOW CLOSED. PLEASE CHECK BACK WITH SHULA'S FOR OTHER LOCATIONS AND UPDATES.

Casual upscale steakhouse on beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach, exclusively serving SHULA CUT® Steaks, center cuts of Premium Black Angus Beef® aged to Perfection, and fresh seafood.

Our prime location, highly selective steaks and exceptional service, promises a Winning Dining Experience. We offer both indoor and outdoor seating, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean. Your undefeated dining experience can be complemented with our extensive wine offering of over 250 varietals. Two private dining rooms are available for groups of 12 to 50 people.
70 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(70 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
5 stars
(33)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(8)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(30)
  • scenic view(28)
  • great for outdoor dining(24)
  • good for groups(19)
  • romantic(18)
  • notable wine list(14)
Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale Reviews List
Review 1 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/16/2014
 2010
Dined on 11/16/2014
 2010
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/16/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/31/2014
 2011
Dined on 5/31/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/31/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/18/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We love the dining and atmosphere, however we didn't have a great experience with the server, seems like he was more interested in serving the tablets that had potential to spend more money. maybe the next time we visit south Florida we will have a better overall experience in this wonderful dinning spot"
Dined on 5/28/2013
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/12/2013
 2012
Dined on 1/12/2013
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/12/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/19/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2013
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Stay Away

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was apualed by the lack of service from the hostist to our waiter. I have dined at the Naples,FL location and by far it's night and day. I could have gone to Outback pr Longhorn and have gotten better treatment. Stay away"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The service, food and atmosphere was excellent.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I would definitely recommend this restaurant and return. This is number one on my list."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Came to Shula's on the Beach for Valentine's Day it was a great experience, such a beautiful environment with great food and service was super friendly. My only problem was that I had a reservation but still had to wait 20-25 minutes before they sat us."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Unimpressed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service wasn't great. Waited almost 30 minutes for the drinks to arrive. The tomato and mozzarella salad was great! Unfortunately, the prime rib came out a bit more well done than we had requested and was barely warm. This was the second valentines day in a row we had gone there but it will be a while before we go back. We had the kind of experience one would come to expect from an Outback Steakhouse, not a Shula's on the Beach."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

We did not enjoy our lunch experience

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The bartender was so busy that it came off as her being rude. We were asked to wait outside for the staff to prepare our table, and the greeter forgot to come and get us. We ended up waiting for 25 minutes. The waiter refused to acknowledge my husband and I, another person had to step in and get us another waiter. The overall experience left us feeling very uncomfortable, like we were not welcomed there. It was our anniversary celebration and we left there feeling very disappointed."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The food is Outstanding!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food presentation was so professional. The taste was a surprise of amazing favors. The waitress was so great, made us feel so special. Nutritious and very high quality food. A must try restaurant!"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

What happened to the old Shula's on the Beach?

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This Shula's had been our favorite beach restaurant since we moved here 17 years ago and we have memories of excellent food and service. We had not been there for a while since they stopped serving lunch (with a beautiful daytime oceanview in a prime tourist walk-in location, that decision seemed strange to us). We were then glad to see it was open for lunch once again. However ... the menu was sorely lacking compared with the former one, and the food was even more disappointing. The delicious lobster bisque is all that remains (along with the upscale prices). The salmon plate lunch was ... terrible. Miniscule portions, overcooked, baked potato skin burnt. The chicken sandwich - plain, dry, diner quality at best. The french fries were cold. Even the coffee was served tepid. We did like our waitress and feel that she did her best, but unfortunately, it will be hard to go back again."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Ho hum

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very dissapointing. Arrived on time and our hostess asked if we wanted to sit outside (it was a cool 49 degrees). When we told her that we wanted to sit inside, we were told it would be 5-10 minutes. Normally I would not point out such a modest wait but we were then seated in an open table 10 minutes later that has been available when we arrived. Our server was very pleasant and attentive. The French Onion soup was nothing more than average and the Caesar was bland to the taste. Not being offered fresh pepper was surprising. i I only wish the chef and purchasing manager had been as engaged as the server as my Cowboy Ribeye was very fatty and chewy and my wife's filet was not cooked as ordered and had to be returned to the kitchen. The asparagus were served on a hot plate but were barely room tempaturature! Aside note, charging $40+ for a steak is considered normal pricing for a good steakhouse, nickel and diming for another $2 for Bearnaise sauce should be included. Considering that the meal was over $120, a mediocre experience was the result. I would note that although the app indicates valet parking is included, it is not free. A $7 charge is applied. An overall mediocre experience and not likely to return"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Truly excellent food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Pistachio encrusted grouper was excellent, along with steaks. Salads are large enough to share, nice view of sea and beach, from the patio."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Shula's on the Beach

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Shula's on the Beach is one of our favorite Ft. Lauderdale spots. They take good care of me with my severe food allergies. I always have the six ounce filet but this visit the six ounces seemed more like four ounces. The restaurant was busy and the staff was running around setting up tables in open areas which kind of quashed any ambiance."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Expected Better.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Porterhouse Steak was excellent as were the shrimp cocktails and sourdough bread. Our server was very engaging. However the scallops were not, they were tasteless and the steak Oscar was a disappointment -the quality and taste of the meat-.
We have dined here more than a dozen times in the past and I guess invariably you cannot always have an A+ meal and unfortunately for this evening that we dined that was the case. Perhaps next time things will be back on track.
"
Dined on 1/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love the ambiance, especially at night!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2009
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My sweetie and I are loyal guests; we always celebrate special occasions every year at Shula's On the Beach"
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not a great experience this visit

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"There for my 50 th Birthday. Service struggled but Manager glady handled situation. Would surely go again. Been there many times with no issues!"
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The atmosphere and service were great. The food was good. However, there was absolutely nothing spectacular about the food that warrants the prices charges. I have had salmon, asparagus, and salad that was just as good, and maybe even better at quality restaurants with cheaper prices. It is worth at least one trip experience it for yourself."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent dining atmosphere

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had our fantasy football celebration dinner and received excellent service."
Dined on 1/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

What Happened!! - Shula's used to be awesome!!!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We highly recommended Shula's to our friends, so the 4 of us were really looking forward to dinner on Tuesday Dec 30 and were VERY disappointed in the experience!! It took FOREVER to get our drink order placed and when the cocktails were brought out one of the drinks had a lime wedge instead of lemon as requested, so the server just grabbed the lime off the glass and never brought the lemon wedge. Another of the cocktails was a Cosmo and was the worst I've ever tasted. Bread was brought to the table and no bread plates, even after we requested the plates they never came. It took our server 30 minutes to return to the table to take our dinner order. Once our dinner came out the server forgot to bring wine that was ordered and also told us we would have to wait a few minutes for the additional condiments and salt/pepper we requested. REALLY?? We quickly took salt/pepper from a close by empty table and he never brought the additional condiments. On top of all this one of the four steaks ordered was overcooked. We were never offered dessert or after dinner drinks and it took close to 20 min to get our check settled. All total we were at the table for 3 hours due to the extremely slow and poor service. For the price, there should be a main server and an assistant and not just food runners. No managers were present and none of the servers were helping each other out. Get it together Shulas!!! We won't return."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

dining experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My wife, daughter and myself had a wonderful Christmas Eve Dinner. Our waiter, David, was fantastic and did a great job taking care of us and not swarming. He was outgoing and accommodating--kudos!
parking was easy and we will be sure to go again.
Jim Lanigan"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The lighting is awful and makes all the food look gastly (supposedly this is to protect turtles during egg laying season, March to October, but it's December???).
All tyhe food was served warm, not hot (the place was 3/4 empty). The mushroom side dish, served chopped instead of whole, was salted to death.
Server and service was excellent.
Portions were very large and easily served 3. Very vexpensive for a mediocre experience."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"With great service and beautiful views of the beach and ocean, sitting outside is always a treat or you can sit inside in the beautiful dining room and still have views of the ocean. Great for breakfast or at night for a fantastic steak dinner."
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding dining experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great steak house which also offers excellent seafood selections. Be forewarned though, the sides are huge!"
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Shula's On The Beach - Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
Based on the average of (41) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
29 out of 32 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic