Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Hat City Kitchen Reviews List

Hat City Kitchen

At the corner of Valley and Forest streets, (459 Valley) in the shadow of Our Lady of the Valley Church, HAT CITY KITCHEN is a new restaurant in an old building with a new vibe.

"Our emphasis is on quality and integrity. We offer American Comfort foods with an influence from the south and New Orleans or, as we say Creosoul. By focusing on a simple menu, we have the ability to perfect an artisanal process, creating the best food imaginable. We have created an experience that has broad appeal to families,traditional food lovers and critical Epicureans at an affordable price."

All profits from Hat City Kitchen go to support revitalization of the Valley neighborhood; true to Orange's history as a small city where culture and commerce meet in the street. Hat City Kitchen is a happy collaboration of art, urban planning, food and music, playing for the neighbors late into the night.
See more Hat City Kitchen details
50 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(50 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(22)
3 stars
(15)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(19)
  • late-night find(17)
  • vibrant bar scene(14)
  • good for groups(13)
  • hot spot(10)
  • fit for foodies(8)
Hat City Kitchen Reviews List
Review 1 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dined on 1/22/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was terrific! The appetizer, on special, which was the shrimp with grit cake, was really good. The Cajun burger, the crab burger, and the sides of collared greens and Mac and cheese were terrific, and a lot of food for the money! The one downside was the cheesy grits, which were very runny. The drinks were great, as was the service. Lastly, the blues band playing tonight were well worth the $10 pp cover. We will definitely return!!!"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Hot Stuff

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We found the food tasty, but, the temperature of if was so hot it was hard to enjoy it.
Good luck finding parking. No parking lot, street parking only in an area where the residents used the street for their parking. Had to walk a couple of blocks from our car to the restaurant."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun place. good food.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We sat at the bar and listened to a blues band that was good. Really good food -- ribs are awesome and salmon was really good too."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/12/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2004
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2004
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2005
Special Features: hot spot, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 11/20/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just ok!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Mainly went for the jam session which was good. The food was just ok. I paid $9.00 for fried zucchini. It was equivalent to about 1/4 of a zucchini if that cut up. I ordered a cajun burger which was burnt. I feel that if an establishment can't make a burger. I'm pretty hesitant to go again to try anything else. Our waitress was very pleasant. I didn't express any dissatisfaction of food with her because it was just a burger. Like I said I mainly went for the jam session which was entertaining. So next time I will eat before I go and just order drinks. Although, not the sangria. That was also not that great."
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2014
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Limited menu

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I look forward to trying it again on a normal night. The night I went , there was a limited menu and there was a special event so we left . There was a $10 cover charge ."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Loved the Jambalaya!!!"
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Hat City Kitchen

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"When we got there at 8:15 on a Friday night, the place was relatively empty, so we were seated quickly and didn't need a reservation. The waitress was lovely, but as the evening wore on she became more difficult to locate. The food was good and it came out to the table at a good pace. The only real issue was with the music. I enjoyed the live music, but it was much too loud and interfered with our conversations. We sat in the far dining area specifically so we could enjoy the music and chat, but it was impossible to hear anything."
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food and beer selections are great! Service was good. Live music has been very good every time I've gone! Love going here with friends for a full evening but bar can get a little crowded."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved the food & the fabulous music of Big Mamou!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

melette. Truly a more breakfast buffet.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Yummy Food, Service Lacking

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have previously dined at hat city kitchen on several occasions. The food continues to be consistent however service was seriously lacking this time around. We had to remind our waiter to bring our second round of drinks after waiting a good 15 minutes. We were a party of five and three dishes came out and the next two came out a good 10 minutes later. We ordered desserts and when they were brought out our dinner dishes were still on the table we had to ask the waiter to take them away...really ?? There were only three other tables seated for dinner so I am not sure why the service was so bad. Hopefully we will not have this experience again or we will have to scratch this off our local list."
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great venue for listening to live music

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Hat City Kitchen specializes in Southern cooking, but the results are uneven. The various salads are fresh and delicious, but the entrees range from well prepared and appetizing looking (shrimp and grits) to gluey and unappealing (jambalaya). Desserts are uniformly good.
HCK has live music most nights , which is a big draw and and makes up for the uneven food. The bar scene is fun and lively, no surprise there.
"
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/08/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great live music and cocktails.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My food was great, date's not so great but staff handled it nicely. The staff doesn't kill you with kindness but the vibe is great. Will definitely go back."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Live music and southern cooking

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Live music and new orleans style pub food. Great beer selection."
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great mix

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Few places have such a good mix of food and quality music. There is music for every taste on any given night, love this place."
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

New Menu Required

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Friends & I sometimes meet here for drinks & sometimes dinner before a local event...We used to also visit on thursday evenings for JT Project (a local jazz group)...but lately, we've passed because the menu is always the same and never consistent...One night the food may be sensational and on another NOT so much.... and some items seem to have been replaced with frozen selections, i.e., the fried zucchini sticks were once fresh, gigantic and nicely presented...Now they've been reduced to a frozen appetizer...smaller, stamped out at the same size and taste NOT so good...Most restaurants have a rotating menu...not this place...the items are always the same...and its not like they have a GIGANTIC selection...they don't..."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun scene, good food, very reasonable

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was good and a lot of choices. Cajun themed but not too big a kick. A band downstairs sounded quite good, although it did make it a little noisy for conversation. The service was leisurely but understandable since the water seemed a little overstretched and it worked for our group anyway!"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Action in the suburbs

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It's so nice to find a place in the area with live music! More restaurants should do it. The setting is dive bar-cool and the servers are polite and friendly. The music was great and even with the noise, you could still talk in the bar area. The food is barely mediocre, but that's not the main reason to go there."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

benno

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Semi-out of the way restaurant that warranted a look. Entry through the bar area, which wasn't too crowded was adequate. We were seated almost immediately, having a reservation (recommended as the place is is relatively small. The menu looked good so we started with the crab puppy appetizer. Excellent. If only the rest had been as good. I ordered the red snapper and was advised that it was not up to expectations and had been returned by several previous diners. I opted for the rasta pasta with added chicken. My girlfriend ordered the catfish with a side of collard greens (included) and a side of black eyed peas (extra charge for 2nd side). No side is included with the pasta dish. Thw pasta dish was a nice size portion of pasta in a fairly non-decribable sauce. Chicken was a bit on the skimpy side, The catfish was fried, not deep fried like we were expecting. The coating was soft although the fish itself wasn't bad. The collard greens were nothing to brag about as were the slaty black eyed peas. For desert we opted for the chocolate chips cookies. Soft and warm but fairly mediocre. There was no decaf coffee available. How do you run out of decafe at 7pm. The service was very good though. Overall, not a great meal as we were led to believe by previous reviews."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Hat City Kitchen is one of our best finds!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We were passing through town and looked around for something a bit different from the great Italian restaurant, etc. Hat City Kitchen fit the bill - offering good soul and comfort food with music, to boot! Set in the middle of a neighborhood, it was still pretty easy to find and parking really wasn't a problem. The food was great, beer cold and music easy to listen to! Highly recommend the fried chicken, mac & cheese, and chocolate chip cookies right out of the oven!
Eating in the dining room was comfortable. When the band began to play, we could enjoy the music and still carry on a conversation. If you go there strictly for the music, you might prefer to sit in the lounge area."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Hat City Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Second visit

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My second time there and the food was delicious. I had the red snapper and towards the end if my meal I noticed there were a few bones left at the tail. Upon arriving, we were seated in the bar area near the stage as the hostess assumed we were ther for the jazz. We asked to be moved to the dining area instead. The table we were seated was by a door that seemed to be used quite frequently either by the workers or whomever lived upstairs. The table there should be moved away from the door as when people would open the door coming down they would hit the chair that was closest; that could become annoying to the patrons who are seated there. Overall, I would definitley go back again."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hat City Kitchen
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
5 out of 6 recommend this product
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic