Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Players On Madison Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Players On Madison

For over 20 years Players On Madison has been known as the premier restaurant for pizza & pasta. Now, chef Anthony Romano has expanded the menu to include contemporary cuisine in the bistro-style eatery. His creativity is dynamic & reflected in the ever-changing menu.
135 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(135 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 135 reviews
5 stars
(61)
4 stars
(51)
3 stars
(15)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(89)
  • fit for foodies(80)
  • special occasion(54)
  • great for outdoor dining(39)
  • romantic(35)
  • good for groups(27)
Players On Madison Reviews List
Review 1 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2009
 2008
Dined on 12/05/2009
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2009
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/27/2015
 2006
Dined on 7/27/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/27/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful surprise!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Have heard about this restaurant for a long time...years ago went their for pizza and remembered it being mostly a pizza place. Well, they still serve pizza but their formal menu of appetizers, entrees, good wine & drink selections, and desserts were many, varied, and everything we had was absolutely delicious. We were celebrating our anniversary that evening but will definitely go back, next time with friends, so they can experience what we did. Terrific find!!!"
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Players is a consistently good restaurant.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Players is always a great place to dine. The variety on the menu and the multiple specials offered,
gives great choices. Food is consistently good, and staff is well trained. Wines are priced well.
This restaurant has been successful for many, many years. The consistency comes from having the
same chef who has always been very creative.
"
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect for Sunday dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Enroute home from Chicago we decided to stop here for a pizza... Were we happily surprised by their all day Sunday happy hour on the patio. We shared Mac and cheese, a pizzette and fried green tomatoes and enjoyed each immensely! Add a glass of wine each and we had the perfect dinner at the perfect price in a pretty, relaxing setting. We will be back."
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2008
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Players has always been one of my favorite restaurants. From their pizzas to main entrees they never disappoint. I wish I could remember our waiters name since he was excellent. Very attentive plus a sense of humor. Made a night out with friends even better."
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2012
 2012
Dined on 4/11/2012
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good food with romantic setting."
Dined on 4/11/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Bad Experience!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My mother and I had dinner at Players this past Monday. We were looking forward to another excellent dinner at this place, but imagine our surprise/dismay when we arrived on a Monday night to find the place packed and noisy. There was a fundraiser being held there that evening that I wasn't told about when I made the reservation. Seeing that it already was 7:30 PM, we decided to stay and make the best of it. However the noise level became almost unbearable just before our dinners arrived, and we had to literally shout at each other to be heard across the table! Furthermore, were weren't allowed to order off the regular menu, but had to choose from a much smaller menu with limited options for the fundraiser. The servers were literally running to try to keep up with the crowd and our service was decent, all things considered. However, the extreme noise ruined our dinner and we will NOT be back. Had we known in advance of this raucous fundraiser, we would have made reservations at another restaurant."
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband ordered a steak special, which was served cold. They did bring another dinner that was hot and provided us with a complimentary dessert. My meal was not what I expected. The pork tenderloin was dry and the sauce that was described on the menu was not what I received. It was like they took a bottle of ketchup and pored it on my plate , then added the dried pork, that was warm at best. They did swap the asparagus which I do not care for. The waitress was attentive and provided good service. We had not been to the restaurant in a few years and always had a good meal. Very disappointing and will not return."
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not as good as usual.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Started the evening for a happy hour cocktail and an app. Very good. Served some folks drinks that ordered after we did....."Their drink were easier" she offered to the other embarrassed patrons. She was paying more attention to her phone then servicing the bar. Dinner on the patio was delightful. They looked to be understaffed that night. . The shrimp campanili was OK. Not a big fan of popcorn shrimp. It would have been much better with 5-6 normal shrimp. The snapper special was OK. Nothing special there. Just not Players "Very Good" dining experience."
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We consistently have great food and service at Players! It's why we keep going back. Patio is awesome too!"
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

disappointing at a place we usually enjoy

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"anniversary celebration with friends that was less than our usual good experience. calamari appetizer arrived just warm and waitress questioned if it was really not hot enough. ahi tuna entrée was a disappointment. will try again but not soon."
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

always Fab

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"waiter was knowledgeable and made great recommendations The chef has a knack for making delicious taste combinations. We can't wait to go back."
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Shocked to be writing this as we loved them for

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

A great dissappointment

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was a great disappointment The evening was to be special for us, a celebration. We looked forward to dinner at Players, as we have heard great things about this restaurant.
Eventually our server apologized and blamed lack of staff for slow service. Something we weren't told about until we inquired about our dinners. Drinks & appetizers came, we waited and waited for our entrees. After over an hour we left the restaurant . We were charged for our drinks & appetizers which we paid. The mood of the evening changed.
This was a very poor experience for our first visit to The Players."
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

it's a pretty good neighborhood place

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, but very loud

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I got the special (almond-crusted grouper), and it was absolutely delicious! However, the restaurant was very loud requiring my husband and I to shout to hear eachother at times. Depending on where you sit, the lighting is a little dark too."
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great place, poor service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent dinner, however the service was verypoor. We waited 30 minutes for a drink and another 20 minutes for server to ask what we wanted for dinner. We have been here many times and this was the first time we had poor service."
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It's always good at Players, though I wish they would change the menu occasionally."
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very Special evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was outstanding...the outside ambiance was enticing and the service satisfactory...They have excellent wine incentives ad the pizza was fabulous!"
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Good food, disappointing experience

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"For the first time ever, we were disappointed with our dining experience at Players this evening. Food was good, but service was rather slow. More to the point, they were rather blunt and uncooperative with dietary needs. In the past, we have found them easy to work with, but not this evening. Our reservations mentioned there were dietary restrictions (and a birthday), and none of this seemed to have registered at all. It is a shame when a quality restaurant like this plays hardball. There are too many other fine choices to make us want to return soon."
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Overwhelming delight on a residential corner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I loved Players. I've been here twice now and had a consistently amazing experience both times. The service is gracious and the servers have great attention to detail, but are unobtrusive. The food was simply amazing. I eat out a lot and am used to creative dishes and the unique use of ingredients, but every one in awhile a chef can still leave me pleasantly surprised, and the sous chef cooking here the night of my visit did just that! My pork tenderloin was tender and lean. The sauces were not overpowering but aiding in making the meat even more flavourful and tender. Large portion sizes as well made for a great meal."
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This place never disappoints

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wanted to do something different for Easter so we went to Players 1st ever Easter Sunday dinner. As usual, the food was excellent, service was great and it was a perfect way to end the holiday weekend. The portion sizes never leave you hungry and the meal came with complimentary desserts. So glad to see that the quality of Players continues to remain high and they consistently provide an excellent overall experience."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great for lighter meals also

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to Players sunday night just to do pizza and salad. Winter Pizza, essentially vegetarian was great as were the two salads we had. Waiter, Matthew, was really one of the best servers we have had anywhere. This place always has about 6 specials and he knew them cold and was knowledgable about them. Felt badly knowing we had planned on pizza, but did want to hear salad and app specials. He was fine with going over them and for the rest of the meal was attentive at the right level.
Reasonable crowd there for early sunday night. We will do it again.
"
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great surprise.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food, nice atmosphere, try the scallops. I'm going back."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good but needs improvement

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"While I would recommend the restaurant, it would be with caution. There were only two waiters on staff the night we went and that caused a table of 4 to take over 2 hours from the beginning til the end of the meal--on a Monday at 6pm. Additionally the pork came out severely undercooked."
Dined on 3/09/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food was very good and there was a good variety.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was very good and there was a good variety. The waitress did a great job. Dessert was ok we had the chocolate tart. My only commment was is they had our resrvation as 6 and it was actually 7, the table for six was very crowded, but lucly they moved us to accomadte the seventh person and we had enough room."
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Another great dining experience at Players!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Brought out of town family for dinner on Saturday. Jeff was our server and took fantastic care with us. Food was outstanding. Duck was perfectly cooked, hangar steak was excellent. Had lobster nachos, the shrimp periogi, and calamari as appetizers and each was outstanding. Players is consistently great!"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Players On Madison
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of the best places in Cleveland to eat!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have been to Players a few times and every time, it is always very good and very special. The attention to detail from servers, to chefs, to anything in between is where they stand out."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>