Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Friday Saturday Sunday Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Friday Saturday Sunday

"Best tiny romantic restaurant" - Philadelphia Magazine “It’s a Rittenhouse Square classic. With its romantic dining room and cool upstairs tank bar, it’s one of the most vibrant spots with a finely rendered menu. Great wine list and only a $10 markup on each bottle.” –Craig LaBan, Philadelphia Inquirer
248 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(248 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 248 reviews
5 stars
(128)
4 stars
(84)
3 stars
(23)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(5)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(169)
  • romantic(136)
  • fit for foodies(124)
  • special occasion(86)
  • notable wine list(48)
  • hot spot(26)
Friday Saturday Sunday Reviews List
Review 1 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always great dining experience.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2009
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I love this restaurant. The food is delicious, the atmosphere and ambiance is lovely, and the Tilapia is to die for!"
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I will miss you!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I loved this place. So sad to see it close. I was there in the final weekend. Never will forget that mushroom soup."
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The End of an Era

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I based the no recommendation on the fact that the owners for many years have sold the restaurant and it is closing on Saturday, August 15. The new owners will be renovating for 4 months and opening after the renovations. It would be unfair to make any recommendations until the new owners open and a fair evaluation of their food, service, and noise level can be made."
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The end of an era

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"They close after a very long, always wonderful in all ways run on August 15. It will be a major loss. There is no other restaurant like it in Philadelphia. Others have come and gone; there is always the flavor of the week; but this is the real thing: a real institution."
Dined on 8/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Last Week

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Since this is the last week for Friday, Saturday, Sunday, we wanted to be there one more time. It has a nice atmosphere and most important is quiet unlike most Philadelphia restaurants. The service has been superb. Sorry to see it close."
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One more week until closing; the loss is great.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This week is their swan song. They will be really missed. Their closing is an end of an era. When they opened, Philadelphia offered little in the way of interesting dining. They were trail blazers. Over the years, the place has been consistently excellent thanks to the efforts of Weaver and his staff, many of whom have been long timers."
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved it!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It's been years since we've been here, shame on us. Came back to celebrate our anniversary again. Wine list was exceptional, pate was sublime & loved the meaty crab cakes. Service was friendly & knowledgeable. We made more good memories!"
Dined on 8/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A cornerstone of the Philadelphia restaurant scene

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The restaurant world has changed dramatically since the 70s but many of the new places have much to learn from Friday Saturday Sunday. There is a warmth and genuine feel that makes one feel at home and ready for a great meal. It will be missed."
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Friday Saturday Sunday

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It has been my delight and pleasure to have visited Friday Saturday Sunday since [about] 1974. In all the years of going there, I've always had a great dining experience, whether with family or friends. Weaver Lilley and his crew have done an admirable job with this special place. We wish him well and success in new endeavors, and hope that the new ownership will cherish and build upon a great legacy."
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Farewell to an era

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"For me, our visit was more about nostalgia and paying homage to one of the last restaurants from the Restaurant Renaissance still standing. Having graduated high school in the mid-70's I can remember reading with envy the reviews La Panetiere, Frog, Le Bec Fin, the Fish Market, Deux Cheminees, Le Champignon, The Garden, etc. It became exciting to me when I finally earned enough that I could afford to dine at the places I read about. Going to FSS on this night was just as I remembered reading about it in Philly Mag or maybe a review by Elaine Tait (the Bulletin?). I started with the mushroom soup while my wife enjoyed the seafood and farro salad and both were very good. For entrees, the crab cake was very good and the lamb tenderloins were a unique way to serve, unfortunately just slightly overcooked above the requested medium rare. The shared dessert of lemon blueberry pie was not memorable. The only negative experience was our server cleared my wife's half finished cocktail before we knew what happened and could stop him. Very much enjoyed the romantic setting of our upstairs table and the tank bar. Thanks for reminding me of my youth and best of luck to the owners."
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A must try

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Having never been before, we were a little nervous; however, it was short lived after we began eating the well prepared and eclectic choices of foods. Our meals were amazing from start to finish. The service was spot on and my only downer was the cocktail I ordered, but it wasn't enough to ruin the evening. We'd definitely go again."
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

I think they gave up...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I got email notifications that Friday Saturday Sunday would be closing (at least with the current ownership) at the end of this month, so I made it a point to make one last reservation. What a disappointment. We had an early reservation, so the restaurant was not yet busy. All three servers we dealt with seemed somewhere between indifferent and resentful that we were there. One wore shorts, the other a plain white t-shirt and sweats. They didn't even wish us a good night after paying the bill (with a respectable tip).
The food was actually excellent, although the portions were quite small. If you are a long-time fan of Fri. Sat. Sun., don't go out of your way to eat there one more time before they close; it won't live up to your memories."
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

They will be missed

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Since the announcement of the closing of FSS, I have been there a dozen times--and will squeeze in a few more visits before 8/15. Evidently, from talking to others at the bar, I am not alone in feeling that a significant chapter in the history of Philly eateries is closing.
From the start, the food and staff have been wonderful, service is friendly and crazy at times (in a good way). Prices are fare. The atmosphere is eclectic. Weaver and gang will be sorely missed.
If you have gone before, go again. If you haven't, what have you been waiting for?"
Dined on 7/28/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Faerwell to an old friend

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2010
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Four friends who had been coming to Friday, Saturday, Sunday since the 1970s decided to visit at least once more before the final curtain. The amazing mushroom soup is still a classic. The intimate ambiance was heartwarming and nostalgic. Delicious food, good wine great frinds and memories. This is a place that will be sorely missed. I'm not sure it can ever be fully replaced."
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Weep--they are closing!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have been several times in the last week, and will go again several times in the next week. This place has been remarkable from the get go in 1973, when I first started going. The food is imaginative and fairly priced. The staff are wonderfully crazy. The drinks are strong. The wine list is limited but inspired. The specials compete with the standards, so it is at times difficult to figure out what to order--but in neither case can a diner go wrong."
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

gd

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"fabulous but they say new owner is going to change everything--to a different style. That will end my enjoying a delightful food and dining evening."
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Original Restaurant Renaissance Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Friday, Saturday, Sunday was in the first round of "Philadelphia Restaurant Renaissance" restaurants and is one of the only ones left and for good reason. The food is wonderful. The service informal and friendly. I took my "millennial" son there for dinner; he's a very discerning foodie and he loved it too!"
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Going, going, gone..

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Sorry it took me 42 years to actually dine here, as they will be changing ownership in a less than a month. Fitting that my wife and I attended on our 42nd wedding anniversary. Nice folks and really excellent food. They clearly are working to keep up the quality in spite of their upcoming retirement. I recommend it highly, although all bets are off after the ownership change."
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great bar staff

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I personally enjoy being upstairs rather then downstairs. The food is great and they are willing to learn how to make any drink you want. Its not 2 often the bartender will take this kind of time"
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The Pope Would Eat Here if He Could

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"But, after being in the same spot, providing the same really great food, service, and atmosphere, FSS is closing in mid-August. This closure will mean a big loss, as I have been eating here almost since they opened with two husbands, countless boyfriends, and numerous friends and colleagues. I always knew I could count on FSS to deliver.
Weaver and company will be missed.
I actually ate here two nights in a row (718 and 7./19) with back to back birthday dinners. And I have at least two more schedule in the next 10 or so days."
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2012
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food is always excellent love their fish dishes"
Dined on 7/02/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

wondepP

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2012
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Open table messes up

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Open table did not tell restaurant about our reservation. They did seat us and told us this had happened before. Dinner was great,and we are sad the restaurant will close as of Aug 15. Go while you have the chance."
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

You will be missed

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It is sad to know that the end is near for a great Philadelphia restaurant stall worth. We had another wonderful meal at Friday Saturday Sunday. The service was friendly and attentive, the food prepared perfectly and we always love the ambiance. You will be missed."
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/13/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One last time?

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2007
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We've loved this restaurant for decades. I can only hope the new owners don't change too much."
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best neighborhood spot in center city

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Go before it closes. Select the specials and the good value wine."
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always great in every respect!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2010
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Unfortunately it has been sold (it had a great multi-decade run - time for the owner to retire)!"
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The food was Amazing The Staff was outgoing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had the Pork Medallions and my boyfriend had the Steak special. I have never had food where every bite was better then the last. We ended our meal with Creme Brulee which was equally surprising and delightful. The staff was very friendly and welcoming the atmosphere was very cozy perfect for a romantic dinner. This place is a GEM! I just hope the new owners don't mess it up when they take it over. It would be a shame to mess with perfection!"
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

WE WILL MISS YOU

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2006
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had dinner at FS&S with heavy hearts due to its impending closing. I have been going there since it opened and it has never disappointed. Food is very good, service is warm friendly & gracious. The deal ion the wine is fantastic. We will try the reincarnation but they have big shoes to fill. Thank you for many many wonderful meals and memories."
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Friday Saturday Sunday
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Deserts were specially good

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>