Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro Reviews List

Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro

Focusing on local cuisine, wine and spirits. Thirst is the perfect place to relax and unwind on the Willamette and soak in views of the River Place Marina. All of our rooms feature floor to ceiling windows. And during summer months our patio seats 125. We serve full entrees and smaller plates / appetizers for pairing and sharing. Our menu is made from scratch and usues local ingredients. 90% of our menu is Gluten-free! We change our menu based on the season. We even harvest our own garden on Sauvee Island during the summer. We scour the Pacific NW for new and interesting wines and change our wine menu frequently. We are very selective about what we serve at Thirst and only serve wines that best represent the wonderful wines of the Pacific NW. We have over 30 wines by the glass and 100+ we serve by the bottle. Our private dining rooms are free and can host all kinds of events. Business Meetings, Receptions, Parties, Finners, Wedding-related and family celebrations! Book yours today
See more Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro details
77 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(77 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
5 stars
(30)
4 stars
(24)
3 stars
(12)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.6 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(51)
  • notable wine list(39)
  • great for outdoor dining(35)
  • fit for foodies(30)
  • romantic(30)
  • neighborhood gem(26)
Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro Reviews List
Review 1 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Worst place ever!!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"This place was way overpriced especially for happy hour and the portion sizes were a joke. The service was beyond slow. It was terrible. I don't see how they stay in business. I'll never be going back."
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2016
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2012
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I tried Thirst for Portland Monthly Dining and loved it! It was unexpectedly warm and sunny and everyone wanted to be on the riverfront, so it got crowded and Thirst was not prepared for that many people. Slowed down the service some, but the food was fantastic, the wine was well thought out, and the service was friendly and informed. I'd definitely go back!"
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice view, mediocre food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I had the Bistro Steak (from the March Dining Month menu). It was ok, but a bit tough and not especially good. In addition it had a pepper sauce which was not described in the menu. I have a low tolerance for pepper so that definitely diminished the pleasure.
The view of the marina was quite nice. The service was good."
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2010
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

We were over all disappointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2013
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

not impressed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Went for the Portland Dining Month menu hoping to have the smashed potatoes and the bread pudding dessert. Neither were available. The shrimp bisque had way too much salt as did seemingly everything else, even the cheesecake. I had the steak, pretty tough, partner had the salmon, over cooked. We both had roasted, er... blackened, brussel sprouts. The desserts, I had cheesecake, my partner had creme brûlée, supposedly with Grand Marnier, were quite average. Service was slow, even on a mid-weekday. Overall, we were disappointed."
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

would not recommend it

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"They were "out" of multiple menu items, server stating he "forgot to buy them at the store"; food was average at best; worst creme brulee I've ever had - it was lumpy and 'mealy'; wine pours were very skimpy and very expensive - paid $20 for a small glass of cab, checked online and average bottle price at retail was only $28. Hard to believe this spot has lasted for 10 years. I would not recommend it. Sure the view on the riverfront is nice, but ..."
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Never disappointed at Thirst

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Invite husband's new boss to join us in a social setting. Started with baked Brie, (a must at Thirst) and a great Cabernet. We had the ahi with a side of shrimp bisque and "world famous" Brussel sprout salad. They had the duck with risotto. We ended the night with the Krum brûlée. All were fantastic. Service was paced nicely without being slow. Can't wait to go back and we will soon. YUM!"
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Portland dining month entry....

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I look forward to each March to check out new places & found this in the list of participating restaurants. Lovely location, good service. Food was bad (tough steak/dry duck confit/salty soup/weird textured crime brûlée). This is a supposed "wine bar" which surprised me: the wines we chose were actually nice, but over-priced, and there breadth of selection was small....
Won't go back or recommend.... There are too many good options in Portland!"
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2011
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Good food; lots of wine, not such great ambiance

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Nice small restaurant / bar / event space. There are not many tables and only two by the window. There was an event going on when we were there and lots of people coming and going to the bar, which is in the same small room as the restaurant. There was only one table that did not have people walking directly past it regularly. We chose the Portland Dining Month special menu. The food was good. For starters we had a nice salad and a lovely shrimp bisque. For an entree I had duck--rich and tasty meat; skin that was very fatty, not crispy as I would have preferred. My husband had seared Ahi--it was excellent. The desserts were not particularly memorable and no decaf coffee is available. If there were no event going on and cozy tables available for dinner in that same space, the ambiance would be considerably better. The service was very good, but overshadowed by the unappealing ambiance that we experienced. This was our first visit to this restaurant and we will choose another of the many great Portland restaurants next time we go out for dinner."
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/08/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/08/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/08/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2010
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I'll start with the positive. Our server was fantastic. He tried so hard with what he was given. We had reservations at 730 on the third night of dining month. Upon arrival, he informs us they are out of the pork as one the entree choices on the pre fixe menu. We place orders for 4 steaks and one risotto. He comes back to inform us that they ran out of steaks and only had 2 left. In trying to please everyone who wanted steak, the server came up with idea to serve family style so we could all have some. We then ordered 2 risotto and the pork (they had pork but had run out of truffle polenta so it was served with potatoes) we waited almost and hour for our dinner. There was only one other table eating in the entire restaurant. When it finally came out it was cold. Everything The steak was supposed to medium rare and was medium to well. Obviously couldn't send back as there were no more steaks. They weren't even enough Brussels sprouts for us to have 2 each. The pork was heavily drenched in barbecue sauce. The risotto was like mush with hardly any mushrooms. Just a disappointing experience overall. Definitely would not return to this restaurant."
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Violet2

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Great setting, food, service, with nice staff. Have been to Thirst a number of times & will be back."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2013
Special Features: scenic view, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Rude waitress with bad service left us sour

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The bistro was empty, yet the service was horrible. The waitress stumbled through the specials, would stand over us after we asked for a few minutes to review the menu, took away the menus after we asked to keep a few on the table and just made the whole experience very unpleasant. While they have a good wine selection, their food is mediocre, and sadly, we expected a lot more out of this place. To top off this unpleasant experience, the waitress had the audacity to argue with one of our friends about another restaurant that our friend worked at, stating false claims and continuing to argue and try and make our friend look bad. When our friend tried to defend her employer, the waitress stated that she was wrong and kept rolling her eyes at our friend.
We will not be returning nor advising friends to visit this establishment."
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Simply Wonderful!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was quite simply the best dining experience I've had in quite some time. The level of service was outstanding, the food excellent, the servers knowledgeable about both the food being served and the bar. This is a place I will most certainly seek out when I am again in town."
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Wonderful place on the river. Great wine selection, wonderful food, and amazing service. Thank you so much for helping to make our first day in Portland wonderful."
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2014
 2014
Dined on 4/18/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nice view of the river while eating. Excellent food and service. First ate here during Portland dining month and enjoyed it, was rewarded with an even more pleasant dining experience going during normal service, enjoying the entire menu."
Dined on 4/18/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, Great service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"What a gem! Wonderful food, friendly and efficient service and to cap it all a truly beautiful river view. Guaranteed we will revisit next time we are in Portland."
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great view of the docks when sitting at the outside tables. Perfect for a glass of wine and small plates"
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great food and view; good service lacking tonight

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had dinner at Thirst Fri. evening & since the weather was so nice, we had made a reservation asking for an outdoor table. One was reserved for us & we were quickly seated by friendly staff. We ordered several items including the shredded chicken sandwich which we were later told "was still being prepped" and not ready, so we switched to the pulled pork sandwich with carmelized onions added which was a great substitute. A very short time later (?15 minutes later), we heard our server tell the people at the next table that they had run out of the shredded chicken sandwiches- that didn't quite click at truthful as it would be hard to imagine that they had a run on the chicken that would cause them to run out so quickly with the number of people there! We shared a salad which the server said he would divide for us (he didn't-but that's neither here nor there) & the dip trio with thin sliced Grand Central bread. The artichoke dip & the crab dip were phenomenal! Our server brought extra bread when he noticed we were almost out & still had some of the delicious (!) dipping items left, but he never came back to refill our waters although it was a warm evening & I was only having water. We waited for 10-15 minutes, then called him over when he gave the couple next to us their bill. The food, the view of the river, & the people-watching here were outstanding! The service was only fair. Our server did tell us that he was doing several jobs that evening including bartending, & "liked to have a couple of tables for the extra money that tips brought him". We laughed after he left as so far the service hadn't been that great to expect a great tip! He was definitely a personable server & visited with us when he DID come around to check in on us. We also saw other Thirst staff (possibly from the wine area) sitting at a nearby table, & saw some of them help put up tables, but they didn't help with serving at the bistro. A little weird when our guy said he was so busy!"
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, great wine, loud noise lever

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The wine was great and the food was very good but my fathers salmon was over cooked and we both had the green beans that were totally undercooked.
The dinning area is small but well decorated but sound travels. There was a huge bachelorette party that was extremely loud."
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed this time

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've really enjoyed Thirst in the past. What could be better than good wine, a flight of cheese and tasty ahi by the river? Well, this time I was disappointed. We waited a long time by the host station before anyone bothered to talk to us, then we were pointed to our table without being provided menus or a wine list. Service remained scattershot throughout the evening. And as much as I love their ahi, this time the last piece was so tough as to be inedible: a poor last impression of the meal."
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of the best views in the city

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We frequently choose Thirst on sunny days because of the view over the river, the people watching, and the great wine list. We happened to get there during happy hour which was great because of the price. We always say (tongue in cheek) if our liquor bill exceeds our food bill it was a good meal! I had a caesar salad which was crispy-fresh and the dressing was wonderful. My husband enjoyed his baked brie, apples, and bread. We shared a hummus plate. The hummus was so tasty that we ate ALL of it. I ordered my favorite Idilico, a white wine I drink only in summer. My husband enjoyed a Syrah. We were there, sitting outside for a couple of hours. It was a wonderful evening!"
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

food with a view

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Dined outside, terrific food and marvelous view. Great service."
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>