Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Mahe - Dana Point Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Mahe - Dana Point

Located across from the Dana Point Harbor, our atmosphere is cool, casual and comfortable. Our amazing kitchen and sushi chefs create a most unique dining experience. Come in and see what we’re all about - we promise you won't be disappointed.
28 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(28 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(6)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(14)
  • fit for foodies(13)
  • good for groups(11)
  • vibrant bar scene(7)
  • kid-friendly(6)
  • special occasion(6)
Mahe - Dana Point Reviews List
Review 1 for Mahe - Dana Point
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mahe - Dana Point
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Absolutely Amazing!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I took my wife here for her 40th birthday through a referral and boy I am so glad I did. From the appetizers and main course to the ambiance and service this is by far one of the best places I have ever eaten. Brad even went out of his way to give my wife the royal treatment and provide an amazing dessert. I will definitely be coming back!"
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mahe - Dana Point
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

disappointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I made a reservation online for 6:45.
When we arrived we were told that we couldn't eat inside, outside only (irritating). I did question it but they were not willing to accommodate me. If I would have known that we would have gone a different night. I am very sensitive to the outdoor heaters (it was cold and raining outside). I saw 2 inside open tables from my seat that only filled up right before we left.
The food was good and our waitress was very good and nice.
"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mahe - Dana Point
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not what we expected.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2002
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2002
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was disappointed that when I made the reservation for teppan, it was actually not for teppan. It was a birthday dinner for my 13 yr old son. We normally go to Benihana but this was much closer. We ended up getting sat right away but it was extremely busy and the food was just okay. Make sure to call and request teppan if that's what you desire. Would be nice if they had that option online."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mahe - Dana Point
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food Not that Great

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went as a family to this restaurant for the first time. We weren't very impressed with the ambiance nor the food. Everything was OK, but not outstanding. The service was the same. I'm not sure I would visit this place again nor recommend it. There are much better Sushi restaurants down the street in Laguna Beach that make the trip well worth it."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mahe - Dana Point
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New year dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had our New Years dinner at Mahe, the food and service was outstanding."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mahe - Dana Point
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Mediocre at best

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service was great but the food was just ok. I wouldn't go there again."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mahe - Dana Point
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Mahe Restaurant Dana Point

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went to Mahe to celebrate a birthday. The hostess sat us promptly inside but we quickly requested to move outside (it such a nice night to eat outdoors). There were heaters to keep the temp perfect. The waiter was prompt and not pushing us to hurry. As for the food we recommend the main dishes over sushi rolls. I had ahi tuna and my spouse had the fish special and both were excellent. My daughter had the sushi roll which was good but not as good as ours! The bar area inside looked fun and the happy hour prices are reasonable. We will definitely go back again!"
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mahe - Dana Point
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

WE LOVE MAHE

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We love Mahe! Always great food and wonderful service. Start with the pineapple martini and the seafood nachos. You will NOT be disappointed! The outside patio is warm even when it's cold! Sushi is fresh and delicious!"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mahe - Dana Point
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Everything we ordered was delicious...service was great...and with the Dana Point Boat Parade taking place...it was a fantastic evening! Loved it!!"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mahe - Dana Point
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

SUPER FIND IN DANA POINT

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was a pleasant and welcome surprise. We had a last minute chance to meet a friend from out of town who was staying at the Ritz. Ritz restaurants were way too costly for our tastes and this was a simple Yelp find. WOW!
Staff was great, food was excellent and we enjoyed everything served us immensely. Creative and fun dishes with wonderful twists. Bar was a bit noisy but Thursday nite football may have been the reason. Lots of indoor and outdoor seating. This is a "don't miss" and worth more than a single visit. We will definitely return and we live in San Diego!"
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2011
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mahe - Dana Point
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great place, great happy hour....................................................................."
Dined on 11/26/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mahe - Dana Point
Based on the average of (16) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
10 out of 12 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic