Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Buca di Beppo - Shrewsbury Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Buca di Beppo - Shrewsbury

Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
15 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(15 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(4)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
3.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(12)
  • kid-friendly(9)
  • scenic view(7)
  • special occasion(7)
  • fit for foodies(6)
  • great for lunch(5)
Buca di Beppo - Shrewsbury Reviews List
Review 1 for Buca di Beppo - Shrewsbury
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Great location on the water, terrible food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/11/2014
 2012
Dined on 5/11/2014
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It's a chain so I shouldn't be surprised, but the food was terrible. Excellent views of Lake Quinsigamontd! There is a beautiful deck and even inside you can watch a regatta from your table. Service was fine, ambiance was bizarre. It's unfortunate there is not a better restaurant in this stellar location."
Dined on 5/11/2014
 2012
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Buca di Beppo - Shrewsbury
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great service, good food, high prices for the size

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was great but many items were highly overpriced! $15 for a couple of small meatballs?"
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Buca di Beppo - Shrewsbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I frequent Buca diBeppo Shrewsbury when I'm in the area. It's best experienced with a group, or if you're a couple who likes to take home leftovers. The food is always tasty and filling, the pasta is always aldente. Be sure to order and share an antipasto, my favorite starter."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Buca di Beppo - Shrewsbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Eclectic would be the polite way to say it

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The interior is tacky and WAY over-decorated. Creepy, even. I couldn't stop staring. Hubby said it was "traditional".
They only serve veal, chicken, sausage, pasta, and copious amounts of cheese and tomato sauce. I was happy, but hubby wanted a steak and was disappointed.
Upsides: massive portions, great waitstaff, good wine prices, comfy seats, and a booth decorated with pictures of cats. Awesome service, especially considering it was christmas eve!"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Buca di Beppo - Shrewsbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for holiday meals

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went to Buca di Beppo for Thanksgiving dinner because we only had a party of three this year and couldn't justify doing a lot of cooking for 3 people. The atmosphere was great and the service was a bit slow but the food (Thanksgiving Day feast) was great... and we didn't have to worry about doing everything ourselves. While eating, my sister said we should come back for Christmas, and low and behold, that's what we did! Service was much quicker (we think we had a new server at TG), very pleasant and enjoyable. We actually ended up ordering off the menu this time instead of getting the Christmas holiday feast (it was similar to the TG feast), so we got Italian food. It was VERY good. We were all really happy and each of us came home with leftovers. Thank you, Buca di Beppo, for allowing my family to enjoy the holidays together!"
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Buca di Beppo - Shrewsbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

good stuff

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Enjoyed this place to the fullest. Warm inviting atmosphere with tacky Italian charm, perfect for down to earth family and friends. Mussels in galic and wine ,cheesy bread, chop salad, pizza and chicken stuffed with Italian ham and light pesto cream sauce was delish."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Buca di Beppo - Shrewsbury
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
7 out of 8 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
3.8 / 3
Energetic