Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Eleve Restaurant Reviews List

Eleve Restaurant

Élevé is a modern Vietnamese restaurant located in downtown Walnut Creek, one block from Lesher Center for the Arts. We offer a casual dining experience that delivers exceptional cocktails, wines, personable service and high quality food. Our menu is an update on classic Vietnamese cuisine.
See more Eleve Restaurant details
54 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(54 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(35)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(32)
  • neighborhood gem(14)
  • vibrant bar scene(12)
  • good for groups(9)
  • special occasion(9)
  • great for lunch(7)
Eleve Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Service ruins the experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"There is one fabulous server and the other women are ineffective, aloof, and have no obvious interest in providing a good dining experience.
Its a shame -- the food is quite good. But it would be better if it came hot and the waitress did not disappear."
Dined on 10/14/2014
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Great Food, but...

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2005
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was great, service was ok. But here's the thing - Four of us orderd one entree each and we shared two appetizers and there was literally not enough room on the tiny table for the giant plates they use. Not that the giant plates were covered with food, no they just put a little bit of food on these ridulously large plates. I literally had to sit with a plate in my lap until we could clear off enough food from other plates and combine items and then flag a waiter down to take a plate away so we could actually eat a peaceful meal. We were so looking forward to an evening out with friends and without the kids and the bill was $150 and this was a major disappointment. Probably would have been a very nice place for two people. Bummer for us though."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Melt in your mouth eggplant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We really enjoyed our most recent visit to Eleve. I recommend the prawns and eggplant dish - takes decadent!"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Pisco Sour was wonderful! Food (pork tagine) was really good. The service was lacking, I felt as though our server was in the weeds and no one was able to bail him out."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Waitperson makes the difference

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was ok, service was excellent. Made it nice to hang out and relax. Katy made it all happen with her personality."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food here was fantastic! We enjoyed the beef carpaccio, which was very refreshing, the Wok Tossed Steak, which was fairly peppery and spicy with great green beans, Pork Firepot, which I had to save the broth to take home - a bit salty, but that's because we didn't eat it over rice, and the braised eggplant, which luckily wasn't spicy at all since it said it came with spicy plum sauce. I would recommend this place for the food and drinks (Moscow Mule)."
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Outstanding Flavor and freshness

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Their twist on Brussels Sprouts is outstanding! The Mango and Arugula salad is a must every time!!"
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2000
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

simply outstanding

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"all the 4 courses we ate were just delicious. Kale salad and tiger prawns amazing.
the bartender was very flexible with cocktails......made them sugar free since 2 of us are diabetic.
presentation is excellent. would definitely go back!
"
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Met friends for dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Always a great experience. Fantastic food, great cocktails, excellent service, we had a most enjoyable time and will go back and highly recommend this place to anyone and everyone!"
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2008
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food is very good but a tad on the pricey side for what you get. Small portions and a la carte starches. Went there with a party of 5 for my bday. Bill was over $400 and didn't even get a free dessert, or anything for that matter, for my bday. A little disappointing."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food but service is lacking

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I tried Eleve with 2 other couples based on a Travelzoo email offer. The food and service had both been touted as award winning and the menu seemed interesting. Had I not been looking for this place, I probably would have missed it as it's close to the Civic Center and the Walnut Creek on Ice seasonal rink and not anywhere near the main street dining options. We arrived and there was no one at the hostess desk. We were seated promptly and presented with menus. The pre-paid voucher from TravelZoo noted that it needed to be presented to the waitstaff while ordering and I followed that direction. I'm not sure if this is what attributed to our poor service (waitress assumed we were there for the special rates only) or whether the place is just short staffed. Regardless, we hardly saw our waitress throughout the rest of the evening. The appetizers we ordered seemed to take forever and while we waited and enjoyed our cocktails (very good I might add), the waitress returned to pressure us to order our entrees. How can I order my meal if I haven't even received my appetizers yet? I was planning on a relaxed evening with friends but felt very rushed by the need to order. I certainly didn't want the appetizers and entrees arriving at the same time.
As for the food itself, I would say it is good. We ordered the vegetable and standard potstickers, meatballs, and reisling shrimp. The portions are small so each of the 6 of us barely got a bite to taste. Considering how long it took to get the order, we were not satisfied with the appetizers portions at all. For entrees, we ordered steak and green bean stir fry, garlic noodles, chicken curry, and the eggplant vegetable. Everything was good, although the chicken curry and eggplant dish probably were the best. The meat in the steak dish was plentiful but my husband felt that the chicken in the curry was sorely lacking and he was fishing around for the few morsels. Not many dessert options so we ended up at La Scala instead."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great experience at Eleve

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Greeted and seated immediately
Very attentive waiter
Ecleric, interesting cocktail menus, well executed and very good
Creative menu
Very good flavors
This restaurant met every expection. Since its in Walnut Creek, parking can be a challenge but we found 2 hour metered parking spot nearby."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Service could be better

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I really like the food and cocktails here. I think the service could have been better but we were there at 10 PM on New Year's Eve and they seemed short on staff. Understandable so I will try it again."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2005
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food was great. Had party of four, crab noodle dish, shrimp with eggplant, salmon curry, and pork hot pot. All were delicious. Service was polite but very slow. Is possible that our waitress was overloaded with NYE crowd. Will certainly be back!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great cocktails and food. We have been here for lunch , happy hour and dinner and have never been disappointed. The is fresh and tasty. The service is friendly and helpful. We have recommended this place to several friends."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bad service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2006
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We have been here many times and always had excellent service. However there was a new server and she was rude and terrible. Additionally there are only 3 desserts on the menu. After we ordered one if the desserts she came back and told us it was unavailable. 1 of 3, really?? Will not go back. Shame as this used to be a favorite place."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My husband and I have been to Eleve several times. Each time we dine there we are more impressed than the previous time. The food is simply 'over the top'. Eat your heart out Slanted Door!!!"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Restaurant for a Girl Friend Gathering

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"3 old friends met at Eleve. Our server was friendly and helpful. We were not in a hurry, so the service was slow. Not sure if that is typical, or if our server was just giving us space. If you are on a time frame, I would recommend informing your server up front. We ordered the following items, and I would recommend every single one of them: Shrimp Spring Roll, Edemame, Cubed Filet Mignon, garlic noodle, braised eggplant and brussel sprouts. Cocktails were generous and well made. It is noisy in this restaurant, but we enjoyed the lively atmosphere. I recommend Eleve. Allow AMPLE time to find a place to park in Walnut Creek!!"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Eleve Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great food, good service. Enjoyable dining experience. Good cocktail list. Will keep coming back."
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2006
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Eleve Restaurant
Based on the average of (34) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
29 out of 31 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic