Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Brasserie Du Vin Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Brasserie Du Vin

Inspired by the unpretentious restaurants and bars found in France that serve hearty food and drink. Featuring French-inspired soups, salads, appetizers, entrees and dessert, with fresh, local products.
41 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(41 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
(18)
4 stars
(12)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(20)
  • neighborhood gem(19)
  • great for outdoor dining(18)
  • notable wine list(16)
  • romantic(15)
  • special occasion(15)
Brasserie Du Vin Reviews List
Review 1 for Brasserie Du Vin
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/04/2014
 2008
Dined on 10/04/2014
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This place never should have closed."
Dined on 10/04/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Brasserie Du Vin
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Brasserie Du Vin
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Unattentive server

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went at 5:30pm and let them know we hade 7:30 theater tickets across street. Didn't get our food for 1.5 hours. Server rarely came by to refill wine or water/ When he did, he kept saying the food is "just about up". He was not friendly: no smiling to review of the menu with us."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2012
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Brasserie Du Vin
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Took 20 minutes from the time we got in until the server came to take our drink order. From then it took another 20 minutes until we got our drinks. Our food came out before we even had our first drink in our hand. So it took a total of 40 minutes until we got our first drink. And this was at 7pm with only a few tables full. We also got seated before other tables and because it was so busy the server didn't know who got seated first and our orders were taken and received after the tables that were seated 5-10 minutes after us. The sever apologized and explained that he did not have support so I let it go a little. Extremely disappointed. I've been coming here for years and this is the worst I've seen it. I hope it improves."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Brasserie Du Vin
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Relaxing and pretty setting

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Very good food, service and ambience. I haven't been here in a long time but will return in the near future. Updated menu. Love the outside setting. Keep up the good work."
Dined on 1/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Brasserie Du Vin
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Did not seem to need our business!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and i went with a reservation and were seated a small table for two with one chair (mine) next to the door to the kitchen such that about every third time the door was opened it hit my chair in the back. This was clearly noted by the waiters and waitresse but no one did anything about it or even apologized. We waited about 20 minutes before I had to ask someone to bring us a wine list. "The waitress said they had one of everything. we ordered a (house) Chardonnay. Ultimately we were charged $13 a glass. Finally a different waiter came to help us. He was slightly better and we ordered food. It took a fairly long time and was Ok but nothing special. My wife's duck was average at best and my fish was fair. We did not have desert and coffee. the place was crowded when we came in but had thinned out a lot by the time we left. We would not recommend this place to anyone. Possibly it might be a place to go late at night when you were assured of a better seat and the undivided attention of a waiter."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Brasserie Du Vin
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Is the art of service dead Brasserie Du Vin?

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The service at this place was horrendous! It took the wait staff 10 minutes to bring us water and bread. 10 minutes later our waitress showed up. She informed us that we needed to order quickly if we wanted to make the show (play occurring across the street) on time. We informed the waitress we were not going to the show. She then repeated herself again by saying “you need to hurry up and order in order to make the show on time.” Before the first plate came out, the waitress came to our table and asked us if we’d like anything for dessert. We informed her that we hadn’t yet received our food. She then said, “Oh, I didn’t see plates on your table so I assumed you all had finished your meals.” As she was finishing her sentence, the first plate was brought out. For 5 entrees, it took them 3 separate trips to bring out the food. My fiancée and I both ordered the fish special. This was to come with a piece of fish, fresh gnocchi, and spring vegetables. Half the plate was empty space. AND there were NO vegetables on either plate. For $30 I would expect to have all the menu listed ingredients on my plate. The waitress never came by to check on the table. She did however go to the table across from us 5 times during out meal. My fiancée’s dad and brother both ordered dishes (steak and lamb chops) that required a steak knife. Sadly our waitress never brought one to the table. The waitress finally came over to clear our plates. I finally got to tell her there were no vegetables on my plate. I told her it was “embarrassing” that the plate was not complete. She talked to the manager, and he came by to apologize. The manager noticed 4 of us at the table had wine glasses. He offered to help cover the cost of the wine. The waitress then came by again to ask if we wanted dessert, again we said no. She then handed me the receipt and noted that the restaurant had so graciously comped the escargot appetizer (they forgot the little forks... amateurs)."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Brasserie Du Vin
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a wonderful experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Attentive service, delicious food and great wines. I highly recommend this neighborhood gem and love that I can make my reservation on Open Table! So easy to do! Try the burger for lunch and the duck for dinner. The baked Brie is wonderful too. You will not be disappointed."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Brasserie Du Vin
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

I love Du Vin! Great Bistro

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Whenever I want to meet friends downtown, Brasserie Du Vin is one of my "go to" spots. Love the food, I have never been disappointed with anything on the menu. The staff is great, recently we had a large party and they were wonderful, making sure everyone's needs were met. The decor is so perfect, you feel like you walked into a french bistro that has been around forever. Love this place."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Brasserie Du Vin
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

loved this place as always

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"my wife and I have been going there for at least four years and have never been disappointed. On this trip we had a cozy corner for two, the waiter was helpful, relaxed, prompt, not too pushy - perfect. She had the coq au vin and I had the fish special. both were yummy. Our dessert, which we split, was out of this world - we had the creme brulee, which is served on a thin bed of cake - the best I've ever had, and that is saying a lot, cause I've had this dish all over the world. the only downside is though the half bottle of wine we had was very good, I think there wine list is overpriced; $30 for a half bottle of beaujolais was their least expensive option other than by the glass, which started at $11 per glass."
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Brasserie Du Vin
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect luncheon with friends.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Nice brunch menu. The scotch egg loco moco was delicious. French fries are always perfectly done! Great mimosas!"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Brasserie Du Vin
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Going downhill!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I have been to Du Vin many times before, both for dinner and Happy Hours. We have always been pleased with the food and the service in the past. Our dinner this past weekend was not the case. We ordered the mussels as an appetizer and it arrived cold and unappetizing. We told the waiter and he said he would bring them back and return w/ a hot dish of mussels. They returned, but it was clear they had been re-heated in a microwave, as the old french fries were still there (now soggy from sitting in the broth) and the remaining mussels were, in fact, warm now, but dried out and tasteless. We were thinking that the waiter would bring out a freshly cooked batch, but no such luck. This will probably be our last diner at Du Vin."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2006
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Brasserie Du Vin
Based on the average of (29) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
23 out of 25 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic